Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasury of tips from 45 years psychotherapy experience
'Gift'comprises a treasury of 85 tips gathered from Yalom's forty five years of psychotherapy experience. They're organised into four sections: the therapist-patient relationship; therapy content; issues arising from therapy; dreams; and the hazards and privileges of being a therapist.
But don't be mistaken this book of tips is in a different league from...
Published on 27 May 2002

versus
26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as enamoured as everyone else seems to be
I'm beginning to wonder if I've been reading the same book as everyone else. I found it all 'too nice' and ultimately quite boring. As for suggesting that a therapist should give a patient a hug, hold their hand or whatever if that's what the client wants - tell that to the judge! Actually, you can't can you because it's not against the law is it? - so really this just...
Published on 27 Dec 2007 by Teresa Green


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical Primer, 24 July 2010
By 
My first Yalom book, and it's clear that he writes with great insight from many years of experience. The advice in here - a series of letters and notes to Clients and therapists alike - are rooted in a profound understanding of the relationship between two people in a room, one of whom is seeking 'answers', the other seeking to help. Practical and engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 24 Aug 2008
By 
R. MCILROY - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this book. Every bite-sized section rewards the reader with insight, humour and honesty. It is marvellous to witness a therapist of such stature opening up with candour and humility about his work, and ultimately validating the work of therapy. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a gift for quite a few friends then I bought my own copy. I am a bit of a fan of Irvin Yalom and this book is okay. However, it is nothing on Love's Executioner. Not his best, but worth the price.

It arrived on time and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychotherapy explained and explored, 14 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift of Therapy: An open letter to a new generation of therapists and their patients (Kindle Edition)
Yallom is the master of Jungian psychotherapy today. This book goes to the heart of this important ministry and explains how the journey towards wholeness is always painful but the rewards are in excess of the necessary suffering. Lives are rescued from slavery to addictions, neuroses, the shame of abuse, etc. etc. and the stories are told with compassion and an unflinching desire for the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Real human input to the psychotherapy process, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift of Therapy: An open letter to a new generation of therapists and their patients (Kindle Edition)
As a client educating myself on the psychotherapy process I found Irvin's insights humane and true. Experience and compassion tell out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
By 
Angela Brooke (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of my favourite books ever ! Insightful and instructive with an emphasis on being real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift of Therapy: An open letter to a new generation of therapists and their patients (Kindle Edition)
The authenticity of Yalom in his work with patients is an inspiration to anybody involved in therapy.
Whilst being backed up in solid theory, it is the humanness of his approach and insight that keep me as a therapist with an eye on myself and the relationship as often as I possibly can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eye Opener, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift of Therapy: An open letter to a new generation of therapists and their patients (Kindle Edition)
First book of this sort I have read and I devoured it in a day! Interesting and has kind of helped me understand my own therapist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always Yalom delivers this book in his own unique style. Have not fully read this yet but from what I have it is always a joy to read his material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift of Therapy: An open letter to a new generation of therapists and their patients (Kindle Edition)
Very well wrote and very informative. Best read I had in a long time, I thoroughly enjoyed it. top notch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews