Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS WHERE I LEAVE YOU
An excellent read. As usual Jonathan Tropper succeeds in making you laugh one minute and cry the next. This story is about Judd Foxman, a man with enough personal problems to last him a lifetime who then loses his father.The expectation of being with his mother and siblings as they mourn for the week is seen as a huge challenge to face.
This book about life, love,...
Published on 18 Jun. 2011 by Amanda

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, not necessarily enjoyable.
Well written dark comedy. It has it's funny moments and is hard to put down, however some of the sexual imagery is too explicit, something in which is tolerable, but when it is every other page, it becomes tedious.

Naturally as a reader, we all look for a solution to a story or a summary, maybe a lesson learned. With this book you don't get any of these,...
Published on 11 July 2011 by YYY


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS WHERE I LEAVE YOU, 18 Jun. 2011
By 
Amanda "sac" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
An excellent read. As usual Jonathan Tropper succeeds in making you laugh one minute and cry the next. This story is about Judd Foxman, a man with enough personal problems to last him a lifetime who then loses his father.The expectation of being with his mother and siblings as they mourn for the week is seen as a huge challenge to face.
This book about life, love, and a man who finds himself spending seven days with his dysfunctional family is both amusing and poignant.
I cannot recommend this novel highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is where I don't stop reading, 4 Aug. 2014
This review is from: This Is Where I Leave You (Kindle Edition)
Originally published in 2010, Jonathan Tropper's novel This Is Where I Leave You is soon to be released as a major motion picture starring Jason Bateman, Tina Fey and Connie Britton.

It tells the story of Judd Foxman, a man in his early 30s going through several setbacks including the discovery of his wife sleeping with his boss. Whilst all this is occurring, Judd must go home for Shiva following the death of his father.

This means sharing a room with his dysfunctional family; his mother, Hilary, a noted celebrity therapist; his two brothers, Paul and Philip and his sister, Wendy and all their significant others and offspring, The premise of having a family who do not communicate stuck in a room together where they have to grief as one is a common thread in American literature and comedy, making this novel ripe for the impending big screen treatment.

However, what is so refreshing about the novel is how expertly Tropper has convincingly rendered the dysfunction and disintegration of the modern American family in the modern age. His ear for dialogue is impressive and provides a real zip to proceedings which allowed this reader to not stop turning the page; if cast correctly, the delivery in the movie could be golden. Especially during the Shiva scenes themselves where Tropper's cynical observant eye is at its most uproarious. At times, this reader was laughing out loud not just from dialogue but from the situation they are presented in.

Yet you can tell Tropper wants his characters to triumph, the depiction of brain injury neighbour Horry is particularly well done with great restraint and dignity. Yet Horry is given some of the better lines in the book.

When reading the book, two famous old adages came to mind. You cannot pick your family and with friends like these who needs enemies. There are a few well handled set pieces such as the scenes between Judd and old flame Penny, and in Judd the author has created one of those fine comic creations that is both cynic and soft around the edges, and the book never becomes over sentimental when it so easily could, he author who has also written How To Talk To A Widower, is far too optimistic for that.

This Is Where I Leave You is out now on paperback from Orion Publishing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family life - flaws and all, 16 Nov. 2010
By 
A. M. Wong (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At first I'd describe this novel as being about a dysfunctional family, but in fact I would venture to say that it is probably a true-to-life account of sibling rivalry, when the kids are adults.
The closed-room setting of sitting Shiva is a great way to build the tension. The dialogue is sharp and much of it LOL funny. The reflections to the past, interspersed with daily life, help the reader to understand why each child carries the baggage that they do. Life doesn't always turn out the way we planned.
I really enjoyed this book and its flawed characters. I volunteer at a library and I will recommend it - but with caution - it's maybe not for the faint at heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tis is where I leave you, 16 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent bedtime reading. Chuckled, felt for and moved by whole host of emotions emanating from superbly written characters. Just like your own family, you love them but can't be around them too long!This Is Where I Leave You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light but very funny Jewish family story about death, family and love, 21 Mar. 2014
By 
K. J. Noyes "Katy Noyes" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I preferred this to Tropper's 'One Last Thing Before I Go', though the author manages to mix a great deal of humour into families dealing with death in both. This, I felt, was a stronger mix.

Judd Foxman's dad has died, following a long illness. Though this can't top his recent discovery of his wife in bed with his boss. Struggling to cope. he's not looking forward to the seven-day shiva his Jewish mother tells him was a last request of his father's. He and his three slightly estranged siblings are forced into each other's company for a long, long week, alongside their cosmetically-enhanced and sexually-uninhibited therapist mother.

Tempers will be raised, long-hidden issues will resurface. Matchmakers will try and push Judd towards a bevy of available maidens.

It's comic, despite the subject matter. I loved the interplay between the siblings, very funny at times. And realistic relationships. Judd is a likeable and honest narrator, and in the audiobook I listened to, very easy to follow.

I listened to this after hearing it was about to be made into a film and I think it will translate beautifully. Lots of comedy characters and set pieces, a great family story. And love story - as Judd and his cheating wife have unresolved issues themselves, and other women make a play for the grieving son/husband.

It's fairly light. Very enjoyable. Nice ending that doesn't make it all too twee or obvious. Nice way to spend a few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a consistently excellent writer, 23 April 2010
i have bought and kept all Jonathan Tropper's novels (don't always keep books , most get recycled to charity - i have to know I will want to reread to warrant keeping them) .. he has his own 'voice' and an unusual emotional intelligence for a male author I find .. would recommend him to anyone who relishes an original story , a good dose of reality and a measure of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seven days of Shiva!, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Where I Leave You (Kindle Edition)
This is the first time I have read Jonathan Tropper and I don't think it will be the last. This author has a unique way of writing and I can feel or sense his voice in his writing. I hear this is now a major movie picture which doesn't surprise me - it really would be perfect for this book and I intend to look out for it.

Judd Foxman's father has died and the whole family is assembled for the burial and to conduct seven days of shiva which the mother says was the father's dying wish. Theres nothing worse for the Foxman family then each others company for any prolonged period of time in the same house. What surfaces is old resentments, tensions and family drama with Judd's own breakup with his wife following him finding her in bed with his boss at the centre of it. All the characters are interesting with their own individual dramas. I loved the ending because now I am not sure what's really going to happen to Judd :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seriously Funny, 23 Nov. 2010
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Jonathan Tropper deals with some very serious subjects in this novel, yet I found myself laughing out loud many times. Tropper in no way trivialises death, adultery and violence amongst other things, he just relates them in a down-to-earth, human way, in ways that I would guess many readers will relate to.

Bringing together a fairly dysfunctional family to sit Shiva for seven days is a very clever way of introducing the whole family to the reader. All together in one room, in fact, in one story creates a feeling of total mayhem and chaos, but unpicking each character and understanding their behaviour is easily done and although some of them are downright awful, most of them have their own quirks and likeability factor.

Totally entertaining all the way through, interspersed here and there with some strong language and sexual scenes, but these really do only add to the quality of the story. It's fast-paced, often dialogue-driven, incredibly funny yet sad underneath - the story of a family getting to grips with old grudges and new chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another page turner from Tropper, 2 Sept. 2011
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Tropper is a fantastic writer. His work is sensitive, thought provoking, dark and often very funny. This book is not his finest, in my opinion, but it is still page turningly readable. Judd Foxman is having a bad time. He has just found out that his wife is having an affair with his boss, and now his father dies, leaving him to sit Shiva for a week with his entire, dysfunctional family, none of whom are making any more of a success of their lives, and none of whom are able to stay out of each other's business. Tropper is extremely good at writing about the emotions and mental cul de sac's of middle aged men, and Judd Foxman is well drawn and likeable despite his dysfunction and the sometimes tasteless mess he finds himself in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly entertaining read, 3 July 2010
As usual, Jonathan Tropper makes an unlikely topic a really good read. The subject matter looks grim - marriage breakup & a family gathering at a prolonged wake - but it's a highly entertaining novel. Not for the faint hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Is Where I Leave You
This Is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper
£3.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews