Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She makes the characters so believable you won't want to say
goodbye.
This is pure escapism a great but easy to read book. If you like romance and the odd witch... then this is a must have book.
Happy ever afters and something else... ... a promise that you will meet the characters again in the next two books!! what more could you want.
I love all her books some better than others. This books ending was weak but it...
Published on 31 Aug 2001 by C. Dew

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good summer read
This is the first book in three sisters’ island trilogy and it tells the story of Nell who is running from her past. Nell comes to the island because she is looking for a place where she can escape her past and where nobody will pay attention to her. She finds job in a local café/restaurant as a cook and in a short period of time she became famous on the...
Published 1 month ago by Dayana


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She makes the characters so believable you won't want to say, 31 Aug 2001
By 
C. Dew "ddreadaholic" (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
goodbye.
This is pure escapism a great but easy to read book. If you like romance and the odd witch... then this is a must have book.
Happy ever afters and something else... ... a promise that you will meet the characters again in the next two books!! what more could you want.
I love all her books some better than others. This books ending was weak but it left you wanting for more.... can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Great Book! I couldn't put it down! A++++++, 19 Oct 2005
This book was great it has many twists and turns but makes you want to keep turning those pages, I had 1 or 2 sleepless nights where I couldn't put it down but didn't realise it was 1 of 3 books so was ditraught as I didn't have the 2nd one straight away.
This is a must read book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm and Magical:), 21 April 2010
By 
Lizzie (Newtownards Co Down) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nell Channing arrives in Three Sisters Island after escaping from her abusive husband some months before. After being on the run, she feels finally that she's found somewhere she can settle down, and maybe even build a life. She hopes it is a place where her husband will never come looking for her.

She just wants place to call her own, and she finds it on the island. But, she never envisioned that she would meet and fall in love, or that she had abilities of the magical variety.

This is the first book by Nora Roberts that I have read, and is the first book of the Three Sisters Island trilogy. I loved this book. It had a fluid easy reading style, and an assortment of characters which I couldn't help but love.

I loved the way witchcraft and magic was woven into the tale, enough to make it a little bit different, yet not too much that it overshadowed everything else. So if you want a cosy romance with just a sprinkling of magic, look no further.

Happy reading;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this whole series, 23 Oct 2006
This is my absolute favourite series of all Nora's books so far.... and that is saying something, I count down to her now book release dates!!!!

This first book is so good that once you have finished it, you may just go straight back to the beginning and read it again!

The characters are well thought out and distinct in their personalities. There are underlying stories (inter-relationships etc) that you just know will be developed and explained throughtout the series and this is what makes her books so good.

The main characters in this book, Nell and Zack are both loveable and you can't help but root for them living happily ever after.

I have noticed that in Nora's more recent works she has been dealing with more deep topics like abuse, rape and child prostitution (heavy stuff!!). But she does it with such style that it does not detract from the story and make you uncomfortable with the story and characters, but in fact makes you respect them more.

The story is great and filled with characters you will love and want to read more about.

A great start to a fab series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dance Upon Air, 23 Aug 2003
The is the first in a trilogy and in my opinion the best. It introduces us to Three Sisters Island and the characters that live there. As well as providing the background for the trilogy it also tells the story of Nell and Zack's romance. It has lots of magic and mystery. As definite page turner. Once read you won't be able to wait to read the other two in the series: Heaven & Earth and Face the Fire, to find out the answers to the questions raised. Nora Roberts at her best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 14 Feb 2005
By 
Clare "Bookaholic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I have surprisingly only just discovered Nora Roberts, and had this series recommended to me.
This was my introductionn to Nora Roberts and what a brilliant introduction. Set in a island just off Massuchussetts this tells the story of Nell Channing who is trying to forget her past and her abusive husband and start afresh on Three Sisters Island, she gets taken in by the owner of the bookstore/cafe Mia who offers her a job and her yellow cottage, thinks are fine but, Mia knows something went wrong with Nell's past but, Nell keeps it to herself.
That is until she becomes involved with Zack, the local Sheriff, she tells some of her past to him but, not all until he asks her to marry him..
This is a brilliantly written story I loved it and currently reading the 1nd in the series Heaven & Earth which so far promises to be just as good.
I will most definitely be reading more from Nora Roberts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph for Nora., 28 July 2001
By 
I found this book to be a great read. The combination of history with the present adds a great element to this story. I found Nell to be a very strong character, with the fact she left her Husband in such a drastic way and found the courage to face the future. Like all Nora Roberts books, you won't be disappointed. I can't wait to read about Mia and Ripley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good summer read, 27 Aug 2014
This is the first book in three sisters’ island trilogy and it tells the story of Nell who is running from her past. Nell comes to the island because she is looking for a place where she can escape her past and where nobody will pay attention to her. She finds job in a local café/restaurant as a cook and in a short period of time she became famous on the island with her delicious food.

There she met Zack who is the sheriff on the island. At the beginning she was reluctant to start any relationship with him because of the fears her past brings but Zack was able to win over her and they have started a relationship. Zack had the right suspicions about Nell and with the time passing he was able to encourage Nell to come to him and tell him the true. However, there were occasions where I felt that Zack was very quick to make assumptions and give up his relationship with Nell.

In the book you will learn about two other main characters Ripley (the sister of Zack) and Mia (the owner of the café). The story starts with the legend of three sisters who were witches and who had established the island. Nell, Ripley and Mia are their descendants and they have to restore the harmony on the island. Mia is a firm believer in the legend and she was trying to bring together all the sisters so they have full circle. Ripley was against all the magic stuff and she tried to deny her powers but at the end she gave up under the pressure to safe her brother. Nell was more than ready to join Mia and rediscover her powers.

Nell’s past has caught up with her and she and her sisters had to fight against the evil that has been following her. I didn’t like how the book ending because the reader is left to wonder if Nell was able to resolve all her issues with her past life. Probably, when I read the second book I will get that information and learn more about the legend. I like how Nora Roberts is able to implement folklore legends/ supernatural events into her contemporary romances. However, I think she done a poor job regarding this book because you hear about the legend only in the first chapter and sometimes Mia have mentioned some details about the witches.

I wanted Nell to have direct contact with her witch predecessor so we can more about the witches, their powers, what happen to them after they created the island and to give support to Nell. Hopefully, I will learn these things in the next books. It was a good quick read and it is perfect for the summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wondeful new trilogy by Nora Roberts, 22 July 2001
By A Customer
According to legend the Three Sisters Island was created by three good witches (air, earth and fire) in order to escape the crazy witch trials carried on in Salem in 1692. These three women took away a part of the continent and lived happy and alone for some time. Then they separated and each of them met a tragic end. Now the time has come for their descendants to meet and bound together in the island or it will be destroyed. This is the starting point of Nora Roberts's new trilogy.
Nell arrives at the island looking for a place in which to build a new life away from her abusive husband. She struggles to leave behind the terror, to recover her old self. She conceals her identity and her past.
She starts working as a cook in Mia's bookstore cafe. Her employer becomes then a kind of elder sister who helps Nell to rebuild her confidence and teaches Nell how to use her long-time hidden powers. Ripley, the Isalnd deputy and Zack's sister, is the third witch and soon becomes Nell's friend.
The decisive support comes from Zack, the Island Sheriff. He loves her almost from the beginning. He knows Nell is hiding her past and it annoys him. He wants her love but not wihtout her confidence and works hard to get it. He is delicate, tender and understanding but also he knows when and how to ask her for a compromise. He is able to protect Nell, and more than willing to put his life at risk to do so.
These three charactes will help Nell to become a self confident women. Their love can save her, but it also can destroy all she has managed, even her life.
The book is Nora Roberts at her best. Nell is a strong woman for all she has suffered. She hasn't lost her capacity to love, to trust, her loyalty, and generosity but she has to work hard to find them.
The three descendants have already meet. The circle is complete but not all the participants are willing to close it. Mia is the strong, controlled one who accepts and respects her powers while Ripley is wary of them and has decided to negate them. Both of them promise to have a fascinating storie of their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book out of three, 1 Aug 2004
The other two books don't quite match up to this start. On its own this is a great book, superbly written, fantastic storyline and a good read but now I have read the others it is constantly weighed down by them. The entire story as with other trilogies by this author is too well finished, there are no loose ends that make you wonder what happens after you close the book, just small ones that really make you enjoy it and remember it. But this gets full stars on its own merits. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews