Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative
A true build up of the continuing story so far ,kept me reading and looking forward to the next books ,
Ms Hamilton never stop writing so I can keep reading.
Published 18 months ago by shelley

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just when you think they couldn't get any worse.
Oh dear. I actually skipped about 200 pages in the middle of this book to the scene where Anita (and all of her men) are in hospital awaiting the results of her pregnancy tests. It seems I missed the introduction of a few more characters for Anita to have sex with. That being said. I don't think I missed anything vital to the "story", unless I missed the actual story...
Published on 10 May 2010 by A. Cook


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just when you think they couldn't get any worse., 10 May 2010
By 
A. Cook "Amy" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Oh dear. I actually skipped about 200 pages in the middle of this book to the scene where Anita (and all of her men) are in hospital awaiting the results of her pregnancy tests. It seems I missed the introduction of a few more characters for Anita to have sex with. That being said. I don't think I missed anything vital to the "story", unless I missed the actual story itself. I don't really recall there being one. In fact, I was so fed up with this book that I actually started reading another book to give me a break from it. (A book that came free with Cosmo magazine.) That's how desperate I was.
It's a shame as I really liked the concept of a vampire ballet troupe. So much potential to write something interesting. It does make you wonder how Hamilton managed to get the last few books past the publishers. I had to skim past the terrible, cringe inducing sex scenes. No more dialogue, Hamilton, I beg of you. If you must include it, just tell us what they are doing but no more talking between characters. I actually had a moment of paranoia on the tube in case somebody might have been reading over my shoulder. The only ardeur scene I bothered with was the bit with Asher but that is only because I like his character. I wish I hadn't, though, as Anita's character just leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I just don't get the appeal of this heroine and the interest in her by the main characters just makes me think less of them too. She even managed to get Otto on her side. Shame, after reading this book, I would be glad if he'd finished her off back in Obsidian Butterfly, the last of hamilton's book to have a fairly decent(ish) plot.
I generally find that if a page features the words, ardeur or Richard (If only he'd been killed off back in Blue Moon), then it is a good idea to skip ahead as I have already read it before (in the previous four or five books).
I am only hoping that Charlaine Harris doesn't fall apart like this when she releases book 10 this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars really unbelievably cheesily bad, 13 April 2010
I just don't know what happened to these books! They started off as quite pacy thrillers with a plot and a vampire angle. Great! They've turned into pathetic pappy soft porn bordering on hard porn. One dimensional characters grimly copulate with Anita who barely sleeps in her attempts to sleep with every man on the planet. She started off as a sparky independent gal who ran her own life - she is now dependent on every man who crosses her path for sex to feed the ardeur (a sad plot device to force Anita into bonking like a loon at every opportunity). Please give this a miss - you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I still like Hamilton, but I enjoyed her older stuff much more., 15 Nov 2010
By 
Really enjoy Laurel K. Hamilton and the Anita Blake series. That being said, I really enjoyed the first few books in the series because they were all about kick ass chick and a sorta interesting kinda mystery/thriller conundrum with some hot steamy scenes in the middle. This past book and the few before it seem to be all hot and steamy and very little advancement of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A new low, 27 Aug 2010
Anita Blake #13, and by this time there isn't even a pretense at a plot. Long gone are the days when Anita had crimes to solve or even a zombie job to do (I had actually forgotten she was an animator) -- or in fact had anything at all to do other than whine about how hard her life is and find new men to have sex with.

The whole huge slab of this book takes place over a day or so, and covers Anita having a pregnancy scare, having sex, and meeting some visiting vamps for political machinations (and sex). I thought the Merry Gentry series might have provided sufficient outlet for Hamilton's sex & political intrigue obsession, but clearly not.

I don't dislike the sex or the intrigue per se, but with absolutely nothing else going on to break it up, it all gets increasingly tedious and repetitive.

Anita herself continues to complicate and generally mess things up -- if ever there was a character who needed to get over herself, it's Anita Blake. A huge number of the problems everyone else has to sort out or suffer through are created by Anita being obstinate and contrary for no good reason.

IMHO, this would be a better series if it had been written in 3rd person and we could follow other characters for a while. The inside of Anita's head gets incredibly claustrophobic.

I don't have an inherent dislike of the ardeur/multiple partners aspect, but it is running out of steam badly now. It's far better as a background subplot, an adjunct to an actual storyline. If it *has* to be the only story, I wish to God that Anita would stop gnashing her teeth over it and embrace it -- constantly bitching about it is getting very old.

Every time someone new gets added to the mix it dilutes the impact further -- I can't keep it straight in my head any more who she's had/having sex with and why. It would be better to focus on the existing relationships and *do* something with them, rather than just keep bringing in more and more interchangeable partners each time.

I assume the author is working through some monogamy issues and/or harem fantasies, which is fine, but the brakes need to go on now. The books started out as good, gritty paranormals then turned into trashy but fun guilty pleasures, but now they're becoming chores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Last dance and last straw, 1 Mar 2012
By 
Deborah (Nottingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Danse Macabre (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 13) (Kindle Edition)
After reading the first Anita Blake book I became an avid fan of the series. I liked Anita; she was tough, moral, fiesty and independent. The writing was pacey and exciting. What a shame LKH couldn't keep it up. OK, it was inevitable that she would eventually get a sex life, and that was fine. I liked that too. But why did the Anita Blake series turn into one long orgy with very little else in the way of plot? I'm not one to give up easily when I have invested so much time in character but, honestly, this book is the last straw. Bye, bye Anita.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I can't get the time back, 6 Nov 2010
This is the first Amazon review I've written - so this should tell you how compelled I feel to warn potential readers off this book.

I love the series. That's why I've stuck with it this far despite the dodgy ardeur and ever disappearing plotlines. However, this book is so poor, that I've literally scanned the first 20 or so chapters to see if there's anything happening apart from sex and Anita being the most sexy/attractive/wanted/loved/desired etc etc etc. (Can any other woman ever compete for another man's attention again?! We're all doomed if Anita's in the room.) There was something about a ballet troupe but for the first time ever, I've put an unfinished book back on the shelf and thought "I'll just start the next one and see how it goes". That's right. I'm not going to finish it. I just can't bear to.

But hey, I know what you're saying "it can't be that bad if you're going to start the next one Harlequin". Yeah you'd think so. But I bought them both on a deal. So, I'll try it in the vain hope we get a better storyline. I really want it to have Anita doing her job (yes she's an animator remember), solving grizzly crimes, working with hitmen again and most of all being a woman who succeeds against the odds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars it is a real macabre.... DO NOT BUY!!!!, 12 Aug 2010
By 
Alicja (Scunthorpe UK) - See all my reviews
this book is what the title says; REAL MACABRE... basically, around 600 pages of description of different sex configurations with men and animals alike. Boring,NO action, no plot, just endless talks about sex and sex scenes. Anita, what happened to you!!!!!!????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where are these books going?, 6 Jun 2010
By 
A vampire ballet troupe should have made for a riveting plot however yet again this book left me with a feeling of "why did i bother?"
Laurell has seriously lost her way with the last few books in this series as she turns away from hard hitting action, vivid characters and reasonable story lines to basically her own porn fantasy's - Laurell do us all a favour and go get yourself laid then come back and write some decent book please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't even bring myself to finish this one..., 2 Jan 2013
By 
finalguy (Newport (Wales)) - See all my reviews
Okay, so I got to page 176 of this one and I honestly cannot go on any longer. I won't reiterate everything that has already been said about the series decline, but I will add a few comments to it. This may also get a bit rant like.

So this is the novel that starts off with Anita pulling the old 'I missed a period, and despite inviting it with all that unprotected sex I had, I'm scared' speech with Ronnie. The idea of Anita being pregnant after all this sex should be a good plot point, a way for Anita to see the repercussions of her actions in recent books. Is this what LKH makes it? No, in fact (at least in the pages I read) it's barely mentioned. The only time it's brought up seems like a reminder to the reader. 'Oh don't forget this! This might be important later (but will probably be a false alarm anyway, because a baby would mean less sex scenes). I had a lot of problems with this entry from the opening chapter, like what the hell has happened to Ronnie's character? She literally exists in this scene for Anita to get defensive and defend her 'lifestyle'. Ronnie, (or the voice of reason as I called her for this comment) calls Anita a whore, but get this, she doesn't do it because she's being judgmental, she does it because she's JEALOUS! Jealous of Anita's life, jealous of Anita's men. Oh LKH, you are so see through. It's not just Ronnie though, ALL women are jealous of Anita, and ALL the men love her. It's gotten to the point where the story becomes predictable depending on which gender Anita is interacting with...Woman? Cue verbal bitch fight. Man? Cue Ardeur (unless their ugly, then the ardour stays away).

I found myself skimming a lot of the text too for the simple reason that I was being told things that I already know, and I've noticed this happening in a lot of the recent entries. Does the writer think we have just suddenly decided to start at book Number 14? Yes, we know Jean-Claude is Master of the city, yes we know Micah has leopard eyes. Yes, we know how well endowed everyone is. Also, why is Anita shocked at how big they are EVERY single time?! Are these people's penis's (what's the plural here?) growing in between books or something?

I think the we need to put an end to all the 'metaphysics' too. At first they were interesting, but now I dread Anita every touching anyone as she always seems to get some kind of orgasmic/violent/power grabbing reaction. This leads me to Anita's total Mary Sue-ism, I second someone else's comment that she has become the biggest Mary that ever did Sue, and Anita's list of powers is ironically the only time I don't mind LKH rehashing, because I truly cannot keep up with them all.

Also, where is the investigation in this book? Hamilton usually at least PRETENDS that other things are going on other that Anita's sex life, even if it is only the first and last chapters that deal with it, but in this book? Nope, straight into badly written angst.

I know this is (presumingly) the worst in the series, and in truth I will continue to read the rest of the series for the completist in me, but this one I just really could not finish. In truth, my determination to hate-read the rest of these books might be more perverted than what Anita has been getting up too lately.

This entry did have a few lines that actually made me laugh out loud though.

'I'm in a committed relationship with several of them"....Oh Anita, Oh LKH, who are you kidding?

Also, Anita says "I don't like long hair on men" at one point. Does she not open her eyes during these endless orgies she has?! EVERYONE has long hair! In fact, later in the book Anita goes on to say that she likes long hair. Make up your damn mind, or at least re-read what you've already wrote! Someone get her a better editor.

Rant over. Ugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Point, 4 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read and enjoyed the Anita Blake series, but there is really no point to this book at all. Nothing happens, there is no plot and no story. Everyone sits around soulsearching then they all have group sex. This is the entire scenario of the book, only the locations change. You can quite happily skip this book as anything that you need to know is more than adequatley explained in the next book. Save your money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Danse Macabre (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 13)
5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews