Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Cave In Beautiful, Non-Murder Related Album Shocker!!!
To say that all of Nick Cave's albums before this point had been solely about murder is slanderous. That said death, dirt, darkness and rage have tended to be recurring themes throughout his entire career. The watermark for this was his previous album 'Murder Ballads' which examined the actions of numerous psychos in intrepid detail. It charted the victims, tried to find...
Published on 5 Feb 2002 by marauderite

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY A CD FROM HERE!
I ordered The Boatman's Call by Nick Cave, an excellent album by the way. Amazon sent me the correct CD cover but....containing an album of songs by Yazoo! I sent it back ,not happy. Amazon then sent me a replacement Boatman's call by Nick Cave. Correct CD cover but containing an album of songs by Yazoo!!
Unbelievably bad service. Hello i Tunes.
Published 6 months ago by Patrick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Beauty, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nick Cave is an astonishingly honest and beautiful character and this is a fine fine album. This is a real inspiration musically and lyrically. Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 25 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
This is a superb album.
I can't say more than that.
I could listen to it all day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Hurts, 1 Nov 2008
By 
sonny (Winchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
Goodness. A featherlight touch on the piano, unobtrusive backing by the Seeds, plaintive violins... is this really the same people who romped through songs like 'Loverman' and 'Stagger Lee'?
Those in the know (who know these things, you know) claim this album is the result of Cave's break-up with PJ Harvey (but you knew that). If so, the grounding of all these songs in reality certainly adds to the poignancy.
True tales or not however, this is full of richly detailed, melodic heartbreak.
Nick Cave has always written songs of remarkably high quality, but here he delivers a break-up album that stands toe-to-toe with the finest in the genre; Blood On The Tracks, Heartbreaker, Blue, No More Your Lover, Gentlemen... and The Boatman's Call.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's simply the best album I've ever heard, 16 April 2000
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
This should be named the 'album of the century' These are 'real' love songs written and sung by a man who feels real love, real pain...The Blues is a happy music. This is the real Blues!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep listening and you'll get it, 24 May 2011
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
I bought this CD for one song only called "into my arms".

It was for my mother's funeral as tribute to her.

I don't think there is a better review or recommendation than that really !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY A CD FROM HERE!, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
I ordered The Boatman's Call by Nick Cave, an excellent album by the way. Amazon sent me the correct CD cover but....containing an album of songs by Yazoo! I sent it back ,not happy. Amazon then sent me a replacement Boatman's call by Nick Cave. Correct CD cover but containing an album of songs by Yazoo!!
Unbelievably bad service. Hello i Tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be wary of buying this CD, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
This CD arrived with all the correct labelling (even the CD itself), however, when you play it, Yazoo comes out of the speakers (just like other customer reviews). Yazoo are on the same record label as Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds. I returned it to Amazon and obtained a refund without any problems. I still want the CD, so I emailed Mute, the record label, to ask how I can be sure of receiving the correct music. No reply from Mute to date (no cheesy pun intended). So, be wary, unless you like Yazoo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A truly great album, bought in good faith, but mine is a shoddy bootleg - beware!, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boatman's Call [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I love this album - Nick Cave pared-down to an absolute minimum. It is inexplicable that Mute haven't re-released it on vinyl, but then they appeared to do just that.... Only this re-issue is a bootleg, and so are many others that have suddenly become available.The vinyl itself isn't too bad, but the artwork is shoddily printed. Buyer beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The reading is from..." Cave's near perfect creation, 19 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Boatman's Call [VINYL] (Vinyl)
"I wish that I was made of stone so that I would not have to see beauty impossible to define, a beauty impossible to believe, a beauty inpossible to endure..." (from "Brompton Oratory")
My GOD do I love this record. Over-some-edge beautiful. Religious skepticism meets 20th century romanticism driven by the joy of love, tempered by this never ending well of human pain and loss. This music repeatedly touches that spot that hurts that only music or orgasm can get at. Like Leonard Cohen can so often do for me, the music of Boatman soothes like May (the month), a calm wind, a glass of iced ginger tea, a lover's deep and probing kiss, the perfect massage. A record too good for words, especially these. (this review is of the vinyl--the sound stage, tone, clarity, and intimate detail are just perfect, gorgeous)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting, 7 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
No doubt the Nick Cave aficionados who have given this album five stars will vilify me as a Philistine but as someone who was drawn to Nick Cave by tracks such as 'Babe, I'm on Fire' and 'My Beautiful World', this album was a disappointment. In comparison to the aforementioned tracks this is an extremely turgid album. If you are into Nick Cave and want to sit down and listen carefully to the lyrics, appreciate the musicianship and relate the whole ensemble to what was going on in his life during that period then maybe this album is for you. On the other hand of you want entertainment such as that afforded by the splendid 'Babe, I'm on Fire', then you should choose another album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Boatman's Call
The Boatman's Call by Nick Cave (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews