Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece.
The perfect gift for all movie buffs is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

Papillon is a prison movie,based on a memoir of the same name by Henri "Papillon" Charriere.The central character is Papillon himself,an unjustly(we don't really know) convicted man,who is sent to an infamous French prison on Guiana.En route...
Published 4 months ago by IP

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good film but does not do the book justice...
I read a few reviews of this before buying it and people were saying that it was quite accurate to the book, but I have to disagree. Without giving too much away all I will say is that there has been a lot of pieces changed around, characters, places etc. There is also a lot of key points missing. I understand it would be impossible to fit it all into the DVD but in my...
Published on 2 Feb. 2012 by D3RF


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece., 17 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Papillon [DVD] [1973] [1974] (DVD)
The perfect gift for all movie buffs is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

Papillon is a prison movie,based on a memoir of the same name by Henri "Papillon" Charriere.The central character is Papillon himself,an unjustly(we don't really know) convicted man,who is sent to an infamous French prison on Guiana.En route there, he meets a very wealthy convict, Louis Dega and becomes his protector.

From the minute they set foot on Guiana and with Dega's financial backing,Papillon starts devising plans about their possible escape.
The rest of the film,is all about their attempts at breaking out as well as the harsh conditions they have to overcome in order to survive.

The relationship between the two men is at the core of the movie. Despite them being very different in character,the honest attitude they have towards one another brings them very close and makes them actually care about each other's fate.

Both Steve McQueen as Papillon and Dustin Hoffman as Dega are wonderful and the chemistry between them is very solid as well.The rest of the cast in mainly consisted of unknown actors,who make up for some very interesting characters.

Over the years it has been written numerous times that the book on which this movie is based, is mainly a work of fiction rather than a biography, like its writer suggested.Or probably a collection of real events that have happened to different persons and Papillon combined them to make its central character.It really doesn't make any difference as the movie is very compelling on its own.

An overall very good film,that with the use of some excellent location shots,reminds us that some films Hollywood can't make any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 8 Jan. 2012
By 
Mr. G. Robinson "garyrobinson15" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Papillon [DVD] [1973] [1974] (DVD)
I have been aware of Papillon for many years but only got round to watching the movie recently. While watching this glorious looking print I was reminded of how films used to look, big and wide with huge vistas but still having a story big enough not to get lost in all that technicolour glory. McQueen and Hoffman and the supporting cast are just superb in a film that somehow feels important. The directors last two movies had been The planet of the Apes and Patton, both of which had been commercial and critical successes.

Although based on a "true story" it is a Hollywood blockbuster with a huge budget, huge stars and a fantastic story of personal courage and perseverance in difficult circumstances. Papillon, our hero, imprisoned for a crime he did not commit will not give up on his quest to escape. Filmed on location, the film has a "real" feel to it and looks fabulous. The DVD box tagline "The greatest escape adventure ever filmed" (a nod to the Great Escape made a few years earlier) is probably correct.

Huge films like this can sometimes lose the most important element in any film, the relationships and character of the main protagonists. Not so with Papillon, McQueen and Hoffman remain real and human through out and do not lose their humanity even in a film which could do so. McQueen gives the performance of his life and is very unlike those of earlier films.

If you like your films big but with a heart then this may be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Hero, 1 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Papillon [DVD] (DVD)
Steve McQueen was my all time hero. I have enjoyed nearly all his films the Papillon being no exception. I thought the quality of the DVD was excellent in spite of the fact it is an old film. His co star Dustin Hoffman played an excellent part as well. Good value for money I enjoyed every minute
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence, 5 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Papillon [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD Papillon is a film that I have watched many times and one that I will continue to watch, over and over again, because it is so good that there is always something new to notice about the film, due to the excellence of the film. I would recommend it to anyone as an indication of what tenacity in fact is, in reality and what it involves in terms of the problems that go with being tenacious; in everyday affairs and life in general. Since the film has so much detail that It goes a long way towards explaining what tenacity is; in real life terms, despite this just being an escape storyline film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bleak but brilliant, 26 Sept. 2006
By 
A. Johnston (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Papillon [DVD] [1973] [1974] (DVD)
A pretty stark depiction of the human spirit and how quickly normal people can become dehumanised by their conditions, but balanced out by the characters played by McQueen and Hoffman (together with the chaacters that come into the story and help them out). It's not always the actions of the prisoners that are brutal either, the establishment - both guards and civilians - are also portrayed in a damming light. Brilliant acting from McQueen and Hoffman as they are able to pick up their characters and bring out their differing but complimentary personalities perfectly.

I'd agree with the comment that you wouldn't watch it much more often than once every five years as it's a long film and quite heavy going; but when you do you'll be drawn into it without fail.

Cinematically it's also very impressive with brilliant use of locations and atmospheric sound, including effective use of silence when some films may have shied away and felt that they needed music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars papillon blu-ray U.S.import, 12 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Papillon [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
this has english audio in DTS-HD 5.1 only with optional subtitles in english, french and spanish.the only extras are a 12 min short featurette called The Magnificent Rebel where Henry Charriere revisits Devil's Island on the set of the film and a theatrical trailer.there is no commentary track unfortunately.this comes in digibook format with some biographical info and pics.it is also region free.whether the picture quality is worth the upgrade from dvd i'm not sure.the dvd is available for less than a fiver,amazon are currently asking £20 for the blu-ray.If you really can't live without this film on blu-ray it might be better to buy it from one of the marketplace sellers for half that price which is what I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Papillon Blu Ray, 20 July 2011
By 
M. Stewart "kimble" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Papillon [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
This warner bros US import is region free and plays perfectely on my UK sony player.

This disc is a must have if you are a Steve Mcqueen or Dustin Hoffman fan.

The film itself is a classic and if you're reading this review i'm sure you're interested in the Blu Ray quality the 1080P transfer has plenty film grain some parts of the film look soft especially the opening credits but once the film gets started the picture is very good and miles better than the sd version. The Blu Ray is also a digibook which is great.

The special features on the disc are poor which is unfortunate but if you are a fan of this movie it is worth importing this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Prison Film By Far!, 3 Dec. 2013
By 
This review is from: Papillon [DVD] [1973] [1974] (DVD)
Excellent Plot, Excellent Acting, Excellent Location and scenes, A MUST SEE, those that have given less stars
and bad write ups should stick to reading nursery rhyme books SMH!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Papillon [DVD] [1973] [1974] (DVD)
This film is a testament to the human spirit. Never give up. Powerful performances from Duston Hoffman and Steve McQueen, gripping until the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cinamatic masterpiece, 24 Feb. 2012
By 
This review is from: Papillon [DVD] (DVD)
this movie is the best prison escape film ever made not only that you have two of the greatest actors of all time mcqueen and hoffman and if thats not good enough in my opinion these are the roles that are their best.this is the story of two men serving time in a brutal french penal colony and their attemts at escape,it is based on a true story and shows the inhumane treatment of the prisoners.if you want an all action film this is not for you but if you like a film with a proper story ,engaging characters and real depth you cant do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Papillon [Blu-ray] [US Import]
£18.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews