Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burzum at its best.
I can't believe that still no one has reviewed this album. Is the world still paying attention? It should be! This is Burzum (aka Varg Vikerness) back at the top of his game. Unlike many others, I was a bit dissapointed by the previous album (Belus). By comparison Fallen sounds much cleaner, crisper and better produced. It has a more coherent and modern feel to it. The...
Published on 17 Mar. 2011 by Varian Beauregard

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far away from his masterpieces
"Hvis Lyset Tar Oss" and "Filosofem", those are his best works to date. They are a must. Sadly, it seems he wont be able to top them. "Belus" was amorphous and...little bit boring, a very flat work. "Fallen" is more of the same: same sound, lots of clear chants, same guitar patterns, but worser than "Belus". If you're a collector buy it, if not, avoid it.
Published on 7 July 2011 by Que te zumbo la badana


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burzum at its best., 17 Mar. 2011
By 
Varian Beauregard (Le Jardin d'Angleterre) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
I can't believe that still no one has reviewed this album. Is the world still paying attention? It should be! This is Burzum (aka Varg Vikerness) back at the top of his game. Unlike many others, I was a bit dissapointed by the previous album (Belus). By comparison Fallen sounds much cleaner, crisper and better produced. It has a more coherent and modern feel to it. The atmosphere is excellent and there is a very effective vocal variety on display here: from clean vocals to a more refined version of Varg's unique balck metal screech; and also the subtler, almost whispered versions of both styles. It hardly matters that this is all in Norwegian, and I barely noticed that some tracks were quite long. I strongly recommend this album, which encapsulates the contemporary essence of Varg.

[PS The one-star review is just copied word for word from the reviewers evaluation of the Belus album so don't take it too seriously (has the reviewer even heard this album?). Certainly if you think this album is 'trying to be scary' you have missed the point.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Metal 2.0, 25 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
Having bought Belus and been pleasantly entertained but not really blown away, I was a bit worried about the next album from Varg. However, the refernces made to Det Som Engang Var made me give it a try and was I rewarded!

My favourite tracks from Belus were Sverddans (faster than the others) and Kaimadalthas' nedstigning (with the spoken word), I found these elements given more prominence and the whole album felt like a more coherent product.

The intro sounds like two trolls in a cave boiling a kettle though...
I found this endearing.

From Jeg Faller onwards, each song is possessed of an insanely catchy chorus. After a few listens I was finding myself humming them without realising it. To me, that kind of music that worms it's way into your head and stays there forever is what really great albums are made of. I think I will be listening to it for a long time.

Musically, the production is clearer and the guitar is higher in the mix and more trebly, making the listening experience a bit harder to ignore. I can't really tune this album out of my brain like I could Belus. this means that when it is on you are constantly aware of it. Sometimes I found the tone a bit too harsh though, takes some getting used to.

I personally didn't have a problme with the lyrics being in Norsk, as I listen to a lot of Black metal where they may as well be speaking Swahili for all the coherency they have (Xasthur anyone?).

Combined with the album artwork, which is a big depature from the norm, I was left with the impression of a more accessible record tha still managed to relinquish none of the principles that define the music of Burzum.

If he keeps making records like this I will be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeping up the good work..., 11 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
Hot on the heels of Belus, Varg's (Burzum IS Varg Vikernes so this is how I shall refer to him/them) fist post-prison album release, comes 'Fallen,' released no more than a year after Belus...is this a case of a little too quick, or has Varg spent his time in prison harnessing those considerable talents?

The answer, thankfully, is the latter. Resoundingly. Fallen is both darker and lighter than Belus, heavier on the bleak forest-in-midwinter atmospherics, yet containing a much greater clean-vocal element, and the result is to create a more rounded sound than the slightly one-dimensional Belus.

And boy-oh-boy is it catchy. Listen to the first 'real' track, 'Jeg Faller' once, and try and get it out of your head for the rest of your life (I'm humming it now...). Once you've purged 'Jeg', track 3, 'Valen', happily leaps into your cerebral cortex and takes over the mantle.

The reason for the four-star review is the last three tracks drop slightly in standard (only slightly), the back-on-itself riff to 'Enhver Till Sit' isn't one of Varg's best, and 'Budstikken,' although otherwise a fine song, suffers from a weak drum beat that sounds like a badly-programmed Bontempi. Coupled with the atmospherics-only outro leaves a feeling of ever so slightly being short-changed, with only 5 'full' tracks.

However these are minor quibbles, this is another rousing work from a truly original and innovative artist, and without doubt the leading light in the Black Metal scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars varg is a genius, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
this is just brilliant ,how can an album in which I do not understand the language grab my attention so! and have me humming the tunes over and over for weeks after purchasing it.varg truly has an understanding of how to write a tune that will captivate and summon visions and feelings for the listener. Fallen transcends language barriers and touches something deep in the recesses of your mind .great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic second 'post-incarceration' album from Burzum, 27 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fallen (MP3 Download)
Fantastic second 'post-incarceration' album from Burzum,
Fallen in many ways carries on from the previous (2010) album Belus, keeping some of the key features that make a Burzum album a Burzum album; Terrible sounding production, raspy voice and that really addictive 'monotomous' guitar riff that Varg laces into his songs that almost threatens to put you into a trance..

But with this album, Varg has also taken the album in some other really interesting directions,
as always Varg seems to make an effort to push the boundaries of the genre with his 'experimentalist' sytle, and Fallen is no different

The first main song on the album, Jeg Faller, kicks open with that trade mark, raw black metal guitar and before long his rapsy voice kicks in but soon after you get clean/clear singing.

The sheer difference between the singing/spoken word and the raw ugly guitar is highly effective and makes for compelling listening (and catchy tunes), whilst i'm sure there are some die-hard out there that will despare at this, I think this new progression really makes this album.

This style is continued across the 4 other main songs on the album (if you don't include the intro or instrumental outro) but with each track remaining unique and offering something different to the listener, I'd recomend listening to the whole album through the first couple of times to really appreciate what Varg has [succesfully] attempted to do with this album.

IMO this album is a well deserved 4/5 and well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fallen, 21 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
I missed out on Belus but hearing some MP3 samples convinced me that this album was a mandatory purchase; Fallen is basically Burzum doing what Burzum does best. Many of the long, hypnotic and trance-like song structures remind of those found on Filosofem, and though the playing style bears resemblance to the first album as well there's also enough room left in the compositions for something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant follow-up to Belus, great to see Burzum on top-form again, 3 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
After initially rather liking Belus I began to hate it...although I have given it more time lately and let it grow on me (it is a good effort), I did find the second half largely tedious...It did have some good ideas though and showed a lot of potential, and anyone who pays attention to what is going on with the music they like (or pretend to like in the case of elitist black metal hipsters) would have known that like the three albums before it this wasn't going to be a 'true black metal' album...but I would not expect anything else, as Burzum has shown especially on this and Umskiptar that it can evolve without resorting to tedious, pretentious 'avant-garde' or 'post-' black metal as most less straight-forward bands unfortunately do...

The album has a better production than Belus, and the crisp but not too polished sound certainly suits the overall lighter tone of modern Burzum. Varg also experiments more with vocals as he did as early as Det Som Engang Var, yet we still get some great heavier moments like on Vanvidd, and excellent riffs on this track and Budstikken especially...

as always the lyrics and music fit perfectly with Burzum...First we got the rough, dark music with "evil" misanthropic and dark fantasy lyrics, then we got the tortured, nostalgic lyrics on Hvis and Filosofem...now with the seemingly lighter (more stoical like Varg's attitude these days) nature or modern Burzum we get a focus on what matters most to the artist - the mythology, and its meanings and roots in prehistory and nature worship (which would be built on further in Umskiptar)

So to sum up a great, rewarding album, anyone who knows Burzum shouldn't expect more of the same or another Filosofem, so approach this with an open mind and you'll enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 18 July 2012
By 
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
Good album with some good songs on.

As Varg is getting more accustomed to being out of prison his songs are getting heavier and better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far away from his masterpieces, 7 July 2011
This review is from: Fallen (Audio CD)
"Hvis Lyset Tar Oss" and "Filosofem", those are his best works to date. They are a must. Sadly, it seems he wont be able to top them. "Belus" was amorphous and...little bit boring, a very flat work. "Fallen" is more of the same: same sound, lots of clear chants, same guitar patterns, but worser than "Belus". If you're a collector buy it, if not, avoid it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fallen
Fallen by Burzum
Buy MP3 Album£6.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews