Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (129)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING
I watched this film on a daily basis when I was a young teenager during holidays (I did have friends as well!!) So I know this film inside out from scenes and dialog and everything in between.
This conversion to Blue-ray is fantastic and at such a good price you cannot do anything but buy this masterpiece.
Fantastic film now in HD at unbeatable value - a must...
Published on 24 Mar 2009 by G. D. Oliver

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware it's no longer special edition!!
I sacrificed my dvd bumper edition for this blu-ray after the customer reviews and advertising photos implied this was the super-duper edition with booklet and poster and fold out sleeve.

Unfortunately Amazon twice sent me a standard blue plastic case version with no frills.

I did get a refund and amazon are generally pretty good but I don't think...
Published on 17 Jun 2010 by Paul Wilcox


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Close Encounters of the Third Kind [1997] [Limited Edition SteelBook] [Blu-ray], 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Close Encounters of the Third Kind [1997] [Limited Edition SteelBook] [Blu-ray] Steven Spielberg's classic film is back on this Blu-ray Disc, which includes all three versions of the sci-fi blockbuster. Richard Dreyfuss stars as cable worker Roy Neary, who along with several other stunned bystanders experiences a close encounter of the first kind - witnessing UFOs soaring across the sky. After this life-changing event, the inexplicable vision of a strange, mountain-like formation haunts him. He becomes obsessed with discovering what it represents, much to the dismay of his wife and family. Meanwhile, bizarre occurrences are happening around the world. Government agents have close encounters of the second kind - discovering physical evidence of extra-terrestrial visitors in the form of a lost fighter aircraft from World War II and a stranded military ship that disappeared decades earlier only to suddenly reappear in unusual places. Roy continues to chase his vision to a remote area where he and the agents follow the clues that have drawn them to reach a site where they will have a close encounter of the third kind - contact.

FILM FACTS: Since Close Encounters was filmed anamorphically, the visual effects sequences were shot in 70 mm film to better conform with the 35 mm film used for the rest of the movie. The small aliens in the final scenes were played by local girls in Mobile, Alabama. That decision was requested by Steven Spielberg because he felt "girls move more gracefully than boys."

Cast: Richard Dreyfuss, François Truffaut, Teri Garr, Melinda Dillon, Bob Balaban, J. Patrick McNamara, Warren J. Kemmerling, Roberts Blossom, Philip Dodds, Cary Guffey, Shawn Bishop, Adrienne Campbell, Justin Dreyfuss, Lance Henriksen, Merrill Connally, George DiCenzo, Roy E. Richards, James Keane, Dennis McMullen, Cy Young, Tom Howard, Bennett Wayne Dean Sr., Basil Hoffman, J. Allen Hynek, Monty Jordan, Shay McLean, Stephen Powers and Howard K. Smith

Director: Steven Spielberg

Producers: Julia Phillips and Michael Phillips

Screenwriters: Steven Spielberg, Jerry Belson, John Hill, Hal Barwood, and Matthew Robbins

Composer: John Williams

Cinematography: Vilmos Zsigmond

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1 [CinemaScope]

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio and English: 5.1 Dolby TrueHD

Subtitles: English, English SDH, Arabic, Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Slovenian, Swedish and Turkish

Running Time: 135 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment

Andrew's Blu-ray Review - When `Close Encounters of the Third Kind' was first released, Steven Spielberg asked Ray Bradbury, the legendary author of such works The Martian Chronicles and Fahrenheit 451, "How do you like your film? Close Encounters wouldn't have been born if I hadn't seen It Came from Outer Space six times when I was a kid." Bradbury had written the original treatment for that 1953 film. Indeed, Close Encounters and other Spielberg works would seem to owe a lot to author Ray Bradbury. According to film historian and critic Joseph McBride, Jean Renoir compared Spielberg's storytelling in this picture to Jules Verne and Georges Meliés. At its heart, `Close Encounters of the Third Kind' is a simple fantasy that depicts the first formal meeting of humans and aliens. Although the film certainly features the global point of view and shows how governments might respond to this event, Spielberg wisely took the more intimate approach to tell the story.

All three versions are presented in brand new 1080p transfers in the movie's 2.35:1 CinemaScope aspect ratio. The transfer is splendid to say the least and is richer in colour than ever. The black levels and contrast are simply amazing and will leave you speechless, while the colours are incredibly rich and saturated. The vibrant lights of the alien spaceships have never been so lucid. It is an incredible feast for the eye adding a completely new dimension to the film.

`Close Encounters of the Third Kind' was Steven Spielberg's first film after the enormous success of 1975's `Jaws' and it represents a more personal project. While he clearly made Jaws his movie, he still functioned as a "hired hand" for the film. He could take some liberties with the tale, but since the book had been so successful in its own right, there was only so much he could do to give Jaws his own stamp.

Roy Neary [Richard Dreyfuss] works as a technician for an Indiana power company and lives with his wife Ronnie [Teri Garr] and three kids. He seems like a nice enough guy, but clearly the bloom is off the rose and he's living a fairly drab existence. All of that changes when some force causes electricity to cut off all across his area. After he's sent to work on the situation, he comes quite close to some alien vehicles, and the experience leaves him changed, to say the least. From then on, he feels a nagging urge to find meaning in odd shapes, a desire that eventually leads him to apparent semi-madness.

However, that's not the case, and before too long Roy Neary and others - including Jillian Guiler [Melinda Dillon], whose son Barry [Cary Guffey] has been kidnapped by the aliens - figure out what it is they need to do, and he heads out west for... well, he's not sure what. Nor are we, but it's a terrific ride as Roy and Jillian have to evade oppressive government forces to reach their ultimate goal.

Is `Close Encounters of the Third Kind' a flawless movie? No, it has its own problems at times. For example, I always thought the aggressive way in which the aliens came to get Barry seemed to be at odds with their apparently-gentle nature; the abduction makes sense within the tone of the movie because it adds excitement and intrigue, but it didn't really seem logical to me.

Nonetheless, the film functions at a consistently high level from start to finish and offers an extremely well-executed fantasy. The acting is top-notch from Richard Dreyfuss down the line. Through movies like Jaws and `The Goodbye Girl' - another 1977 offering, and one for which he earned an Academy Award - Richard Dreyfuss became moderately pigeonholed as a sarcastic, self-centred sort of character. Close Encounters of the Third Kind showed that he could easily portray other roles, and he brings off the middle-class dreamer in Roy Neary very nicely.

Steven Spielberg paced the film extremely well, and though the effects have aged, they still hold up after almost a quarter of a century. It achieves a level of beauty and tenderness rare in the genre, and it also combines well-integrated humour, drama and action. As a whole, Close Encounters of the Third Kind remains a totally fabulous piece of work that deserves to be included along with the greatest films ever made.

Steven Spielberg reworked the movie again in 1998. This 137-minute "Director's Cut" combines different aspects of the 1977 and 1980 versions. Many think this is the best edition of the movie, and I might agree, but some good bits from the 1977 film fail to appear. The introduction to the Roy Neary's uses the scene from the 1980 cut, which is more abrupt but it adds some nice exposition to the family, so it's a draw. Other 1980 snippets are integrated, such as "Roy's shower" and the expedition to the Gobi Desert.

The 1998 version cuts some segments that appeared in both the 1977 and 1980 versions, and these are the least positive changes. We lose the cool scene in which Roy looks at a pillowcase and states, "That's not right". We also don't get some shots of Roy at the power plant; I liked these, but I can't say they're as painful to lose as the pillowcase. The alterations don't hurt the movie terribly, but I wish Spielberg had kept these scenes in the movie. When I consider the three versions, I find it hard to choose between the Theatrical edition or the Director's Cut.

Blu-ray Video Quality - `Close Encounters of the Third Kind' appears in an aspect ratio of approximately 2.35:1 on this Blu-ray Disc. Very few concerns emerged during this terrific transfer. Sharpness usually seemed to be excellent. A few wide shots presented some very slight softness, but that was about it, and those tended to occur either due to effects or depth of field issues. The vast majority of the film offered strong delineation and clarity. No issues with jagged edges or shimmering occurred, and I noticed no signs of edge enhancement. I also found no source flaws. The source material could be grainy at times, but no artificial defects appeared.

Colours looked quite natural and distinct. The film didn't feature a particular bright palette except for the hues generated by the alien crafts themselves, and I felt these tones appeared clear and vivid. Black levels occasionally looked a little too pale, but they usually appeared appropriately deep and dense, and shadow detail seemed clean and nicely heavy without excessive opacity. The smattering of slightly soft shots created my only minor complaints here, and they weren't enough to knock my grade below an "A". I felt very pleased with this transfer, as it often looked absolutely exceptional.

Blu-ray Audio Quality - The soundtrack of `Close Encounters of the Third Kind' displayed some minor problems but they nonetheless worked quite well for a film of this vintage. Close Encounters offers both 5.1 Dolby Digital TrueHD and 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio surround soundtracks. The track featured a surprisingly broad and engaging sound-field. The front speakers offered a nice sense of ambience; in addition to John Williams' score, they added a great deal of unique effects, all of which seemed to be well placed within the environment. The elements also blended together neatly and smoothly. Some directional dialogue occurred, and while it could seem somewhat tentative at times, for the most part I felt that the speech appeared to come from the appropriate locations.

There is a compressed feel to the film's dynamic range that, while not crippling, is definitely noticeable. There's never that truly expansive feel to the mix you get with a modern soundtrack. Dialogue sounds constrained, and if still understandable, it's never as distinct in the mix as I would have liked. Likewise, John Williams' score is nicely spread out in the sound field, but never quite soars in terms of fidelity. Surrounds are generally active, though again that's only usually when a UFO appears. Sounds in the rears are usually pretty easy to localize, so there is never that seamless "wall of sound" that you usually get with the best high-res audio presentations. That said, even if 'Close Encounters' is not consistently demo material, when it delivers, watch out. There are moments in the film that genuinely rattle the rafters.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

A View from Above: Replicating the printed version of the technical timeline outlined above, activate this feature and, depending on which version of the film you're watching, color-coded notations will appear that describe the various changes made to that particular cut. Again, very cool and another nice addition to this brilliant Blu-ray disc.

Finally, 'Close Encounters of the Third Kind' is still so etched in the popular consciousness that it's hard to believe that it's been thirty years since it first hit theatres. Although the film has been released in a myriad of different versions, which are all presented in full on this Blu-ray, whichever version you personally prefer, and the film remains an uplifting experience that's an absolute landmark of the science fiction genre. I've never seen the film look or sound better, and the extras are a bit of a disappointment with this Limited Edition SteelBook. But to top it all, this Limited Edition SteelBook packaging design is very impressive, and you've got a great release that easily earns its brilliant price tag. Mr. Spielberg, I'm ecstatic that you've finally jumped into high-definition with 'Close Encounters,' and I can't wait to see what's next. But until then, I am so honoured to have this in my Blu-ray Collection as the Limited Edition SteelBook that again is so beautifully designed looking and despite the lack of extras, it was still my preferred choice. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller - Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Several versions floating around, 24 Aug 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The basic story is of a line repairman who encounters a UFO and has trouble relating this to his wife that is in denial. There are parallel stories of others encountering UFO's. Eventually the government is also contacted and sets up a meeting. The encountered have also been compelled to attend to the government's consternation. Will the other invitees make it to the rendezvous point? What trials and tribulations must they endure on the way?

The lighter version (ASIN: 0767827031) of the film. This is closer to the original but still not the one shown on TV. I bought this after I realized I had the darker version. Amazon.com did the research for me

The dark version (ASIN: 0800198395) that cut out all the comic scenes like throwing all the dirt in the window. Moreover, added some Mother gets disturbed scenes. I bought the dark version first because I thought it had the special ending where the inside of the ship is shown. However, I did not know that it was completely remade. Some of the Gas mask scenes are missing also.

If this review ends up on another version you will have to check for yourself how complete it really is and what has been cut out.

Other than that if, you did not see the original or the third version that is shown periodically on TV you would like this movie and it is worth the purchase price.
-----------------------------------------------
Well now I do not want to mix media with a review that is for the movie however a later contribution with the advent of Blu-ray is the two DVD 30th anniversary ultimate edition that seems to have picked up some original material missing from all the tapes. Again, I am not trying to distract from the movie content but this edition show that (probably due to this being a movie from the pre-Blu-ray era) some scenes are clear and almost three-dimensional while others are very grainy and of poor focus. One you get into the story this distraction will go away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Version!!!, 18 July 2007
By 
nmollo (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
"Close Encounters of a Third Kind -The Special Edition" is the definitive version of this very enjoyable movie. The final entrance by Richard Dreyfuss into the Mothership has been removed to the betterment of the whole and certain scenes that explore further his descend into madness have been restored. This film represents a Spielberg oozing with talent and confidence. The only reference he makes to another director is to Kubrick and these are in the first reel. After that we are left with Spielberg the visionary not the successful journeyman we have today.

At the time of release no one had seen anything like this on the big screen and I feel the film holds up remarkably well today. The effects are faultless and jaw dropping. The music is inspired and profound.

It is a shame Spielberg can't find that unselfconscious talent he once had in abundance and so produce another film of this quality in the new millennium. It is about time because he has made us suffer a lot in the last few years.

The DVD features the most in depth "Making Of" documentary of any film I have ever seen. It is nearly as long as the feature itself yet well worth watching. It is a shame that Spielberg and Dreyfuss could not find the time for a commentary track but I suppose everything had been covered in the documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware it's no longer special edition!!, 17 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I sacrificed my dvd bumper edition for this blu-ray after the customer reviews and advertising photos implied this was the super-duper edition with booklet and poster and fold out sleeve.

Unfortunately Amazon twice sent me a standard blue plastic case version with no frills.

I did get a refund and amazon are generally pretty good but I don't think they fully understood my complaint that I wanted the item "as advertised".

So beware. Excellent film, excellent blu-ray features. But, you are getting a bog standard version as pictured in the main photo and not the fancy version in the secondary photos.

Regrettably I had to shop elsewhere for the smarter version and ironically, the sender posted it in amazon packaging.

I'm still an amazon customer but not on this occassion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I did get the special packaging..., 26 Aug 2009
I'm more than happy with this purchase, particularly at less than £10.

Having read the reviews of others here who were disappointed at not getting the special packaging (e.g. Mr. N. Brown), I was worried about suffering the same fate. In the end I decided to get it anyway as I'd never got it on DVD and it is "a classic". I needn't have worried as I did get the full package including sleeve, foldout disc holder, booklet and poster.

I haven't watched the movie in full yet but the transfer appears good in places (outdoors with good lighting), average-poor in others (at night indoors) and occasionally poor (at night with "special effects"). I guess this is to be expected for a movie of this age but I was hoping for more with Spielberg being involved. I suppose we must remember that this was a time without digital effects and everything had to be achieved optically, sometimes involving multiple passes through optical printers. Still, perhaps they could have tried harder. On the flip side, the audio is everything I would have hoped for.

At the end of the day I suspect that the quality issues will become secondary as I'm drawn in by the story again and transported back to a big cinema in 1977 when I watched the movie for the first time in awe...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was young yes but this film had a life long impact on me, 1 April 2002
I have seen CE 72 times though not recently. I know the film as part of myself. I was an impressionable youngster before the big screen all those years ago and the film had as big an impact on me as I think a film can have on anyone.
I can't get that feeling again of course but I beleive there is something really special about this film. If I had to put things into boxes I would draw attention to John William's music, Speilberg's unique use of light and Richard Dreyfuss making the whole thing connect.
What lives out there in space whether it visits us or not is a bottomless pit of adventure for the imaginative mind. Only very occassionally do we see that come to fruition on the screen. An important part of making a movie an experience for the viewer is not to shine light under every stone but to leave something to your imagination. Those probing inquisative beams of light in the middle of nowhere make you wonder what is producing it but the beam itself is a wonder. The presence of the mother ship is made known to you with its communicating light from behind cloud cover. This is what makes this film so facinating..tantalising glimses that keep you wanting to go on, but feeding you rewards periodically. The outside of the mothership is what the director gives you, your imagination is allowed to work to own personal satifaction as to the interior of such a craft. You may, like me decide that it would be unimaginable. The original ending is the only ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film - great value for all three versions and the surround - Wow, 25 Mar 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great film we all know but now available to watch at the highest possible quality. All three versions in one box for a great sub £20 too. However, THIS is what surround sound systems were made for. My subwoofer nearly took off in the scene where RD is reading the map in his truck near the beginning and the UFO flys over. Absolute class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What to say, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cant say anything about this film that hasn't already been said... love it or loathe it it was and continues to be dazzling with its special effects, the advent of a bluray edition was a no brainer, especially when viewed side by side.

If your a fan and haven't bought this yet do yourself a favour, buy it, go to the supermarket, buy some old style American treats & maybe some popcorn and re-visit this now classic of Sci Fi films.

I can think of worse things to do with a couple of hours, thats for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Close Encounters Of The Third Kind, 28 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. W. D. Ritcher "willrage" (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Close Encounters Of The Third Kind: Collector's Edition [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Its still out standing I loved it because there were no directors cuts which I will never understand its this way what you see on the big screen is not what you see on the dvd
so they call it the directors cuts that's total rubbish
still this movie will live on in our hearts mind for another generation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant film. Worth the price. Just a pity that the extras are the same as on the DVD. Recommended to those who like a good story well told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Close Encounters Of The Third Kind: Collector's Edition [DVD] [2011]
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews