Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SINATRA MAN & HIS MUSIC TRILOGY DVD
I had the original USA editions of the 3 TV Specials contained in this DVD, plus I have the newly issued USA Sinatra Concert Collection, which also contains these 3 shows, and the Trilogy edition is by far the best video and audio quality. It seems some care was taken to give the best possible presentation, as opposed to the shoddy presentation on the Concert Collection...
Published on 12 Mar 2011 by hankbe461

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very poor NTSC picture quality
I'm very disappointed in this release from Universal. The picture looks like it is in the horrible NTSC format. Luckily I still own the PAL DVDs for all three shows released by Warner Music Vision as part of the "Frank Sinatra In Performance" boxset.
The picture looks quite terrible on this new Universal release when compared alongside the older Warner versions. The...
Published on 25 Feb 2011 by L. St Laurent


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SINATRA MAN & HIS MUSIC TRILOGY DVD, 12 Mar 2011
By 
hankbe461 "hankbe46" (Schenectady, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Sinatra - A Man And His Music Trilogy [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I had the original USA editions of the 3 TV Specials contained in this DVD, plus I have the newly issued USA Sinatra Concert Collection, which also contains these 3 shows, and the Trilogy edition is by far the best video and audio quality. It seems some care was taken to give the best possible presentation, as opposed to the shoddy presentation on the Concert Collection box set. The PCM sound seems to have really been remastered, and well. On the USA edition there is meager Dolby Digital. Picture quality has detail and color on the Trilogy, but is ill defined and washed out in the box set.
I highly recommend that any Sinatra fan who wants the best presentation of these classic shows, gets this disc from Amazon UK. The price is also very attractive. I paid less than $20 shipped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good; the great sound of Frank Sinatra, 28 May 2012
By 
Rob Strother (Wirral, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Sinatra - A Man And His Music Trilogy [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Very pleased - good DVD, bearing in mind age of recordings. Quick delivery. Makes you realise how good Sinatra was - what a voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sinatra at his best, 7 Feb 2012
By 
Mrs. CA O'Shaughnessy (Ramsbottom,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Sinatra - A Man And His Music Trilogy [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Bought as xmas present for father and a great choice.Already had these separately on video but these are much better quality and at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterly performances by the master, 25 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Sinatra - A Man And His Music Trilogy [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Three TV shows from Sinatra at his best. A great selection of songs beautifully delivered. Occasionally Mr S gets a little too flip for my taste but mostly his manner is appropriate. The last session with Ella and A C Jobim is unsurpassable. He gives real respect to Ella who was a great singer, but not the greatest live performer, and to Tom Jobim who comes across as a very shy person.
The Picture quality on my DDVD was exceptional, for mid 1960s TV programmes, it suffered none of the colour problems mentioned in one of the other reviews and the remastered sound was very good. All far superior to the VHS versions from the 13 tape box set Which I previously owned. The value is superb.
Overall the best example of Sinatra's performances that I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The voice of the 20th century, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Stewart Hanson "jazzman17" (Baildon, West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Sinatra - A Man And His Music Trilogy [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Great to watch the great man as well as playing the CDs, the so called singers of today have so much to learn by watching his voice and breath control, his phrasing and his love of composers, lyricists, and backing musicians. A true giant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very poor NTSC picture quality, 25 Feb 2011
By 
L. St Laurent (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frank Sinatra - A Man And His Music Trilogy [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I'm very disappointed in this release from Universal. The picture looks like it is in the horrible NTSC format. Luckily I still own the PAL DVDs for all three shows released by Warner Music Vision as part of the "Frank Sinatra In Performance" boxset.
The picture looks quite terrible on this new Universal release when compared alongside the older Warner versions. The picture is much darker and suffers colour bleeding, compression artefacts, jagged edges, etc. Just check out the pattern on the stage floor during Nancy Sinatra's performance of "On Broadway" there is a lot of distortion and there are also aliasing problems in the picture as well.
The sound has apparently been remastered in uncompressed PCM stereo for this release but I could not hear the difference with this new edition and the older ones on the Warner DVDs which are also in PCM stereo anyway.
So I would recommend you avoid this release from Universal and hunt down the original Warner editions instead for the much superior picture quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Sinatra - A Man And His Music Trilogy [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Great. Mother-in law loves it!! Keeps her happy and enthralled. Would recommend for any other Frankie enthusiasts of any age. But not a stellar contribution from Ella Fitzgerald. Not sure the marriage of her style with Sinatra's works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sinatra a man & his Music trilogy, 1 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Sinatra - A Man And His Music Trilogy [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this classic Sinatra DVD a real gem. Unfortunately,
it will only play on my computer and not my Television.
Which is a great shame as the seats in my lounge are more comfortable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure magic, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Sinatra - A Man And His Music Trilogy [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
love the dvd Sinatra and ella magic have recommended to friends a must have for Sinatra fans get it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Songmaster, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Sinatra - A Man And His Music Trilogy [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I bought this for a friend who is just nuts about the man - the feedback is that this was the best preswent ever, so they clearly liked the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frank Sinatra - A Man And His Music Trilogy [DVD] [2011]
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews