Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting album, gorgeous production and a hard case booklet that makes me always want to buy a physical release over a digital
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:05 Mins
After seeing Boxer Rebellion twice and been captivated by the last two albums I was very excited to pre-order and receive this album this morning and play it start to finish straight away whilst looking through the gorgeous hard back booklet, it is lovely, glad Amazon put the photos up of it, does not do it justice but helps, I will post a video...
Published on 7 Feb 2011 by Tom

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing follow up...
I have to agree with Robwells....this album was a bit of a disappointment following their previous 2 albums and especially Union. Its not that the songs are poor...there's some great tracks, but to me they seem badly produced in so far as they have lost the ability to soar and crescende such as on past albums. It all seems too nice and squeezed into a restrictive...
Published on 9 Jan 2012 by Gman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting album, gorgeous production and a hard case booklet that makes me always want to buy a physical release over a digital, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Cold Still (Audio CD)
Length:: 1:05 Mins

After seeing Boxer Rebellion twice and been captivated by the last two albums I was very excited to pre-order and receive this album this morning and play it start to finish straight away whilst looking through the gorgeous hard back booklet, it is lovely, glad Amazon put the photos up of it, does not do it justice but helps, I will post a video up just to show it off more. Lovely hand written lyrics and lots of love has clearly gone into this and it shows.

1. `No Harm' is a slow gorgeous builder of a song that envelopes you in its swirling beauty. Really incredible how its simplicity is so effective, though simple as it sounds, I'm sure it wasn't so simple to write and capture.

2.`Step out of the car' heard this a few times online and loved it, sounds like the boxer rebellion I am more familiar with, but no less in love with, builds and buzzes along. Brilliant.

3.`Locked in the basement' is a slower number, gorgeous vocals and effective stripped back guitars. I can hear tinges of the style of guitar work that leaves me reminiscing over the last Radiohead album `rainbows'. Fans of Radiohead will I am sure really love boxer rebellion. This track grows and grows; I think I will end up hooked on this one.

4.`Cause for alarm' another slow but no less captivating song. Feel myself getting lost in the swirly world of this song, its gorgeous beyond description.

5.`Caught by the light' beautiful song, sounds like a million twinkling stars musically. I can think of no other way of describing this. If Sigur Ros were an inspiration behind any of this new direction, I thank them, by no means any disrespect to boxer rebellion, every band has inspirations and create their own sound from bits and pieces of what they see hear and love and i love everything about boxer rebellion.

6.`Organ Song' nice song, after the last few this comes down a stage in intensity but no means in greatness.

7.`Memo' another captivating song with thoughtful lyrics and big chorus. They use space in the music so well, no overfilling for the sake of it and let the song build naturally which I really feel deeply about with music, it should never be forced. There is nothing greater than a band spending hours in a studio jamming until a song comes to fruition.

8.`Both sides are even' slow song that grows and grows to an explosive finish. Superb, Gorgeous simple but no less brilliant ending.

9.`The Runner' a lighter song, builds from that guitar sound I love with a massive chorus, awesome!!

10.`Doubt' starts with just his vocals, tinged with sadness, makes me think of `Jeff Buckley' a bit in his singing, again any comparisons are a massive compliment. I love this song, really sad sounding. Builds at the end...really gorgeous end to a gorgeous album. Not a weak song, leaves me going back to the start and starting again and again.

I am happy to have boxer rebellion in my life!!

Incredible album that will sit next to my other favourite albums that bring these feelings, if you love this you will love:

Radiohead In Rainbows
Damien Rice 9
Jeff Buckley Grace
Jonsi Go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3rd record in and things just get better., 23 Feb 2011
By 
J. Easton "J.E" (Falkirk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cold Still (Audio CD)
As my title says, The Cold Still is The Boxer Rebellion's third album and things are rumbling along perfectly for the four piece band from different corners of the world. You may wonder then why they haven't had the critical acclaim of Arcade Fire or the hype of The xx. In truth however the band will probably tell you that if you work hard and are good enough then the deserved critical acclaim will eventually follow (see The National or Elbow) and the hype? Well who really needs it? I'm sure if you're reading this then you'll no doubt know that over hyped bands either talk or are talked about too much before anyone really listens to their music (Glasvegas or The Vaccines spring to mind). Thankfully for The Boxer Rebellion and us they do their talking in the studio.

The Cold Still begins where the behemoth second record 'Union' left off. Hooking you with haunting melodic songs the record rolls on at a steady pace with no need to skip any 'filler' tracks. If any of this collection of songs had to be singled out for a special mention then No Harm, Locked In The Basement, Organ Song and Both Sides Are Even would be the first ones I would choose.

This is an album packed with soaring vocals, roaring guitars, hypnotic rhythm, rumbling bass with no lack of self assurance or temerity. A band right at the top of their game, lets hope that 'hype' and NME stay away from them for a while yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Box Of Dark Delights, 10 Feb 2011
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Cold Still (Audio CD)
The Boxer Rebellion's 2009 album 'Union' was a very fine
piece of work and their new release 'The Cold Still'
convinces me still further of their worth in the listening world.

This splendid ensemble gets straight down to business from
the off with a cracking moody anthem, 'No Harm', its brooding
backbeat holding Nathan Nicholson's plaintive voice aloft
like a funeral march. Mr Nicholson sings of his inner beast
with haunting alacrity as the storm clouds gather around him.
It is a fine opening gambit which sets the tone for the project.

There are ten tracks in the collection and the mixture of energy
mixed with gravitas is masterfully sustained throughout. Even on
a storming upbeat number like 'Step Out Of The Car' there is
little respite from "the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune".

The sisister lyrical content of 'Locked In The Basement' is
curiously at odds with the almost jaunty melodic content. It seems
that Mr Nicholson is prepared go to extreme lengths to secure this
particular romantic attachment. Metaphorically hopefully!

'Organ Song' does indeed have an organ in it but more than this
it delivers perhaps the most powerful and affecting composition
of their recording career so-far. Piers Hewitt thumps his drums
for all he's worth, driving the song along like a railway train
hurtling across a parched desert landscape. Mr Nicholson sings
from the heart like a man who really means it! Splendid stuff!!

Final track 'Doubt' is a beautiful invention too. A tune so
stripped-down and focussed that the speakers almost blister
and burn in the beam of its elemental presence. A slow-building
crescendo brings the album to a cataclysmic close.

'The Cold Still' is a box of dark delights.
The Boxer Rebellion, whilst they may not be the happiest kids
on the block, are, nonetheless, making music which matters.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "No Harm" done but "Doubt" most people even know they exist!!, 2 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cold Still (Audio CD)
The Boxer Rebellion still remain a underground band, just falling short of a hit which would lead to a deserved commercial breakthrough.
Even with Ethan Johns on production duty the "The Cold Still" will unfortunately still leave them searching for promotion into the premier league.That said it is an accomplished piece of work, fantastic vocals, which like their previous two albums "Exits" & "Union" all deserve to be heard by the masses.

If you looking to take a chance on purchasing an album, by a band not in the public eye. Look no further "The Boxer Rebellion" are that band, listen & fall in love with them....suggest you start with their outstanding debut "Exits", if only to see the progression through to "The Cold Still"

1. No Harm 10/10
2. Step Out Of The Car 8/10
3. Locked In The Basement 10/10
4. Cause For Alarm 8/10
5. Caught By The Light 8/10
6. Organ Song 8/10
7. Memo 8/10
8. Both Sides Are Even 8/10
9. Runner, The 8/10
10. Doubt 10/10

Buy now...you won't regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boxer Rebellion, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cold Still (Audio CD)
No harm The Runner Doubt Into the light amazing album really love it, some of the tracks not as good, but the ones that are ....amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Boxing clever, 4 Sep 2011
By 
J. Lawrence (Leamington, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cold Still (Audio CD)
have loved boxer rebellion since the Union album and was initially disappointed with this album as it has a slow start, but the quality of songs starts to weave their effect. STep out of the car is classic boxer rebellion, chunky indie guitars, with a great chorus. The runner is a superb Doors like epic. Memo very beautiful and wistful. If the album feels slightly understated it makes up for this with its grace. A grower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A mesmerising third effort from TBR, 22 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cold Still (Audio CD)
Like many before me, I believe that TBR have to be admired for their harmonious melodies which are accompanied by Nathan's sublime vocals. Having been captivated by their previous album 'Union', I was slightly surprised to see them lower the volume for 'The Cold Still', songs such as, 'Flashing Red Light Means Go' and 'Broken Glass' being personal favourites of mine on the previous record.

Having said this, 'The Cold Still' is arguably a more sophisticated compilation of songs, the sound of the CD appealing to a wider audience (Pop as well as Alternative listeners) and shows the band to be maturing as they seek to attain greater recognition that their work deserves. Ultimately the album has a variety of song types, 'Step out of the Car' and 'The Runner' feeling positively energetic whilst 'No Harm' and 'Doubt' are slower but thought provoking.

All in all, another fabulous attempt from TBR and well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is what you are missing, 21 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cold Still (Audio CD)
An exceptionally well crafted album.

I've been listening to this for some weeks now and assure you that it deserves far more credit than it has so far received in the popular music press.

I bought this on a whim and would urge you to take a chance on The Boxer Rebellion.... they are very good. This has a more intensely relaxed feel than their debut, "Exits". Don't compare them though as this band have moved on since then. Whether you approve of the musical change or not they are both excellent albums that deserve attention.

The first three tracks really set this album up. "No Harm" has a powerful drum beat prior to the plaintive vocals, hauntingly sung over the top. Delightful track!

"Step out of the car" is a more upbeat, rocky song. It's catchy guitars lead into a deeper, harder sound - more reminiscent of songs from "Exits". This is a strong punchy track that belies the rest of the album's content.

More typical is track 3, "Locked in the basement". Probably my favourite track on the album, it has great deep lyrics, catchily arranged and contains a nice meandering beat. Definitely a track you want to keep coming back to, it builds and builds into something the Kings of Leon would be happy with.

Finally, the penultimate track, "The Runner", deserves a special mention. A catchy beat and equally catchy guitars start it up nicely, this is followed by those plaintive vocals again, but this time harmonised and rhythmically so well tied into the music. Just one of many really good tracks and plenty more to be discovered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 14 Mar 2011
By 
Paul Gibson "music lover" (Banbury, Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cold Still (Audio CD)
I don't often write reviews on Amazon, but this amazing album hasn't been off my ipod or Cd player since I bought it last month. It's songs fill my days and haunt my dreams, revealing more and more of themselves with every listen.
I won't bother getting detailed, as most of it has already been said - but I do want to say that 'The Cold Still' is the best album I have heard in a very long time (probably since Radiohead's 'In Rainbows') and is sure to end up being one of my favourite albums of all time. An absolute masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Still, 14 Mar 2011
By 
Melissa (Tampa Bay, FL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cold Still (Audio CD)
This album enforces the reasons TBR is one of my most favorite bands on the planet. The Cold Still is charismatic, it's enduring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cold Still
The Cold Still by The Boxer Rebellion
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews