Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars40
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.09
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2011
I heard this in a local independant cd shop and thought it was really interesting. Bought it on a whim and played it a couple of times in the car, then played it again.....and again.....

Its different, quirky, percussive and a bit left wing, but the tunes worm into your head and you want to get to know them better, so you play it again.....

I can see this being one of my fasvourites of the year. Give it a try, play it a few times and you too could be hooked. I Follow Rivers and Get Some are just brilliant songs.

This could be massive, but I suspect it's not mainstream enough.
55 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 March 2011
I bought this album as I enjoyed her last one. I am seriously impressed. She has really stepped up and improved. It is really good album, mature, evocative, melodic and altogether lovely. Side with the angels and give it a listen.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2011
Love this album. Has a big fifties girl-band vibe with a large dose of haunting Twin Peak echo plus some other mysterious ingredients. Just gets under your skin, find myself playing it constantly in the car. Delicious.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2011
I loved Lykke's first album and was a little worried as to how she could follow this up. The direction has slightly changed but worry not, the quality is there. The song-craft is in total effect as each sound becomes instantly familiar upon first listen. However, this doesn't mean that the songs are superficial, just that they have been well written and the tunes are so catchy that you swear they should have already been written. I'm not saying all is perfect, tuning is a slight issue on Unrequited Love just towards the end of the track, where the vocal grates ever so slightly. Other than this, you could pick seven or eight possible single releases. I don't think this album will propel Lykke into the mainstream but why would she want that, she's more than fine being slightly off-scene. It makes it a bit more special when you like an act as brilliant as Lykke Li and most people will never hear her songs. Unrequited indeed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2011
This is one of my favourite albums of the year so far. Lykke's lyrics are unbelievably beautiful, surpassed only (barely) by the gorgeous music that underpins them. Every track on this album is an absolute pleasure to listen to, semi-melancholy love songs that are nevertheless uplifting. Stand-out track (at a push) would probably be 'I Follow Rivers,' but dancey number 'Get Some' is a brilliantly upbeat addition. The dreamy 'I Know Places' and 'Silent My Song' will have you humming along all day. This is the perfect soundtrack to lazy summer days, or cool evenings. You will definitely not regret getting yourself a piece of Lykke.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Take your eye of the ball for one moment and suddenly early in the season Li Lykke Timotej Zachrisson better known as Sweden's Lykke Li scores a very special goal. Indeed only three months into to the year she may well have recorded one of the "pop" albums of 2011 with "Wounded Rhymes" and proved yet again that the current crop of diminutive female singers (see Janelle Monae) pack a real wallop. Li is described in the blurb to accompany this album as "a Kung-fu Marianne Faithful, and an armed Nancy Sinatra on peyote" and thats fair enough as a nice bit of marketing; in fact if you were to add The Ronettes into the equation and a sprinkling of her Swedish chums The Knife you would be in the ball park in terms of influences. She is nonetheless very much her her own woman and this album has a nice dark slant to temper its more overt poppier instincts. Check out opener "Youth knows no pain" which starts with huge percussion, almost a Charlatans style key board riff and a delicious vocal by Li giving it a sixties feel which for some reason cries out to soundtrack a Austin Powers film. The single "Get some" is completely infectious and riotous where Li informs us over tribal drum that she is" like a shotgun who needs a outcome" and one would sincerely hope that the result would be a huge hit single. The latest single off the album however is "I follow rivers" which starts with a xylophone tinkle and pounds deep into you skull with a hammering pop sensibility and a daft lyric, while "Rich kid blues" could happily soundtrack a James Bond film.

Li's strengths also go far beyond the well crafted pop song and in "Unrequited Love" she echoes the do wop themes of the Shangri Las with an aching ballad and if its possible the six minute plus "I know places" is even lovelier and one of the albums highlights. Alternatively "Jerome" has that great Fever Ray pounding quality to it and once it finishes press the repeat button not least to replay that sultry vocal. Like last years "Go" album by Jonsi "Wounded Rhymes" is and immediate and accessible and jam packed with songs with enough hooks to make the whole affair attention-grabbing, memorable, easy to dance to and completely irresistible. As with all great pop music it also has hidden depth and a slightly wicked and defiant core. Thus unlike her first album her sophomore record is more cutting than cute, qualities which are drawn out by the excellent production of Björn Yttling who proves himself the Nordic equivalent of Phil Spector on "Sadness is a blessing". Lykke Li is frankly an adorable pop star and if this album doesn't turn your unrequited love into an obsession you really need to have your pulse checked.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2011
A very good pop album, if at least to these ears strangely reminiscent of She & Him's two albums (Volume One and Volume 2). More solid and sturdy than Lykke Li's previous album Youth Novels. All due to a kind of 'Wall Of Sound' approach like for the best pop music in the 1960s.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Excellent album of alternative music by a very talented and also beautiful artist. What a shame that her music is not played on main stream radio channels. I discovered her by chance, as I liked very much one the sound tracks of the movie Blue is the Warmest Colour, 'Follow Rivers', which is contained in this compilation. I highly recommend it to those who enjoy alternative music that touches the heart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Apart from I Follow Rivers, the tracks are pretty monotonous and not interesting. Not much singing going on, the beats all sound the same, lyrics not interested. Very disappointed compared to her first album. This one is dull and soporific! Regarding I Follow Rivers, the remix that made the song famous worldwide is actually better than the original song... Album not worth buying. Stick to her one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I accidentally came across Love out of Lust and instantly wanted to listen to it over and over. What a strange mixture of submarine sounds and some echoes of what sounds like the end of Fleetwood Mac's Albatross. Ordering the CD, to my surprise I equally like Sadness is a Blessing, again reminds me of something - Leader of the Pack. My other favourite is Jerome. It's great to have the words of the songs written down - which are difficult to understand from the CD but that doesn't bother me. It all adds to the appealing weirdness of the music.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)