Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
As I've mentioned in other reviews I'm seriously fond of space opera, the more grandiose in scale and complexity the better and this 1st novel in a planned trilogy is frankly brilliant. It delivers on every level with tight plotting, efficient characterisation and compelling world building. The use of a multi threaded narrative, set in multiple time periods delivers a...
Published on 24 Jun 2010 by Ed.F

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A load of old tosh
I gave up after about 80 pages. Lots of thinly-written, slow-moving threads with forgettable characters set in different times and places. I guess eventually the threads begin to link up into some overarching plot, but I got the impression the author knows he's got three books to write and is pacing the story accordingly. I was quite enjoying the thread about the Pilots,...
Published 6 months ago by John W


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Highly enjoyable set of parallel stories, 7 Dec 2013
By 
Mark Shackelford "mark shackelford" (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Set in 700 AD, the 1940s, and various times in the future, this story intrigues and amuses.

A little like Stephen Baxter's wonderful Times Tapestry sequence - although this is all happening in parallel, in both time and (probably) hyperspace - or perhaps (?) hypertime... anyway - some great individual stories, with likeable and well drawn characters, and then the overarching main theme - which you need to read ALL the books to fully understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truely Amazing!, 10 July 2013
This review is from: Absorption (Kindle Edition)
This book was amazing!!! So inventive and interesting. I loved the different time lines and settings each so different and unique. Fulgor 2603 AD was my favourite.

I love the technology descriptions and ideas, very unique and captivating. There are a few words I did not understand and had to look up, but it didn't put me off this amazing, exciting book. I will be investigating other books by this author and have high hopes. The book is well paced with good characters and although it might take a few chapters to get into the story line, it's well worth it.

An amazing story I know I will read again. Highly recommend!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Mark A. Laborda "labor475" (Andover, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absorption (Kindle Edition)
An exciting read with a mysterious enemy and lots of sub plots to keep you happy. A good start to the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A marvelous tale in n dimensions..., 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absorption (Kindle Edition)
So much better than I had expected - well-balanced, good pacing, interesting charcters, a fantastic backdrop - and that most rare of wonders, a novel storyline. Comparable with Peter F. Hamilton - and as he's one of my favourite authors, that's no mean feat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hoorah! Proper sci-fi; a fine addition to the space opera genre., 31 July 2012
By 
Willy Eckerslike (France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm always cautious about anything labelled `epic'; it is often an excuse for an overly long, rambling shambles that should have been condensed and published as a single volume. In this instance, the first part of the Ragnarok trilogy, I'm happy to be wrong. Meaney is an accomplished wordsmith weaving a complex multi-threaded narrative through five time periods with hints of a single, all-encompassing primary plot. A few minor things let the story down very slightly; the hugely ambitious narrative is at the cost of character development and this, compounded by occasionally clunky dialogue, invokes little empathy for the various main characters; the Luculentus code snippets are a bit naff and I found that the eighth century Norse narrative dragged a little. On the plus side, the main Roger Blackstone / Labyrinth thread is brilliant and there are no huge info-dumps or showing-off of the author's grasp of esoteric mathematics or physics to ruin the narrative flow.

The minor criticisms aside, though, I thoroughly enjoyed `Absorption', I'm looking forward to `Transmission' and, thanks to another reviewer, I'm going to track down a copy of `To Hold Infinity', effectively the prequel to this novel. It's great to see another up-and-coming British SF author with the potential to stand alongside Alastair Reynolds and Iain M. Banks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tries too hard, 2 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whatever criticisms can be made of John Meaney's book (see below) lack of ambition is not among them. It attempts to weave together half a dozen plot lines spanning two thousand years, and a wide variety of environments and cultures. It only partly succeeds. The far future sections are interesting enough, but the part set in Europe between the wars seems to be constructed largely from clichés, and is off-putting to read if you know anything about the period. Moreover, the book is the first of a trilogy, and whole chapters lead effectively nowhere in the plot of this volume. Characters are introduced here, presumably so that they can do something more interesting in later books. But most are so lightly developed that it's hard really to care what happens to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Superb, 16 Feb 2011
By 
J. P. Devine - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absorption (Kindle Edition)
This was truly very very good, and I have to agree with the other reviews, it could be the best start to a series since The Reality Dysfunction, the ending went widescreen, and was not expected at all, I acnt wait till September for the next book. An instant classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vampire code..., 21 Jun 2010
By 
D. Harris (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a seriously good start to a trilogy.

All over the universe, both past and future, on earth and on planets not yet discovered, a darkness becomes visible - to some. In 1920s Europe, it accompanies a future German dictator as he spins visions of slaughter and conquest. In the eighth century, it writhes about a poet who inspires an assembly of warriors to go "a-viking". And on Fulgor in the 27th century it spreads through Skein, a futuristic analogue of the Internet that interfaces directly with the brain - imagine Trojans, viruses and rogue scripts running in your head.

Meaney introduces us to a number of characters who are, I think, being set up to fight this darkness - Gavriela Wolf, a physics student at the ETH between the wars; Roger Blackstone, one of the strange Pilots who can live in fractal space, Ulf, a young Norse warrior, and others (especially intriguing is Dmitri, a Russian spy who has, you might say, something of the night about him). Though light years and centuries apart, they're aware of each other to a degree. While it sounds improbable this device works well - the book introduces some difficult, far future concepts as well as the "dark" weirdness and it's good to have some of this mediated through more familiar settings and characters (even 8th century Norse warriors are familiar compared with some of the future stuff!)

There are strands that don't, yet, seem to connect up with anything else - the strange antlered creature Sharp with whom a human explorer fall in love, for example - but this is the first book and it has to do some setting up. Nevertheless, Meaney manages a nice balance between action that moves the story forward and his world building - the plot never drags and it ends with a true climax.

Really, really looking forward to the next volume, which I think is Transmission
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex, diverse and satisfying, 24 Dec 2011
By 
Firstly, I have to admit being a fan of the big space opera and bought this book after reading the other reviews (which by the way is a much better guide than relying upon 'author recommendations of authors'....)I was a little worried that the text seemed very slow for the first 100 pages or so, but with several threads spread out over 2000 years, being painted and significant character development - stick with it - from that point onward, the novel is electrifying - a real page turner and the threads begin to converge. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A toughie but a goodie, 25 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. A. Healy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is confusing [cross time and other dimensions] but it knits together well, producing a 'well worth it' read. Book 2, here I come. Like the 'War and Peace' of SF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Absorption
Absorption by John Meaney
5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews