Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


101 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not about jazz
I read a review here and I must retort. This is a series about New Orleans getting its dignity back after being abandoned by its own government during a disaster, the effects of which are still being felt today. The characters portrayed are entirely believable, warts and all. That also goes for the accents and vernacular which did stump me a few times but thats part of my...
Published on 26 Feb 2011 by G. O'Neill

versus
21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars After the flood, watching the paint dry
Were you one of those Wire addicts who couldn't resist watching just one more episode, staying up into the early hours?

If you're expecting Treme to take over your life in the same way, then think again. I've just finished the first series and believe me, it was hard work at times. There were actually evenings when we were searching for something, anything,...
Published on 12 July 2011 by Bill


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

101 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not about jazz, 26 Feb 2011
By 
G. O'Neill (Qatar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Treme - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I read a review here and I must retort. This is a series about New Orleans getting its dignity back after being abandoned by its own government during a disaster, the effects of which are still being felt today. The characters portrayed are entirely believable, warts and all. That also goes for the accents and vernacular which did stump me a few times but thats part of my love of this series. Its not easily accessible. Its not pretty people doing funky things. Its ordinary people doing what ordinary people do in New Orleans. Sometimes this involves jazz, sometimes it doesnt. The music is a background to the unfolding stories. Music matters to New Orleans. The revelations of unkept government promises, discrimination against the poor black residents and the heavy handed police force made for uncomfortable viewing, as it should. There is a lot of talking and sometimes the subject matter sent me scurrying to the internet, e.g. to find out why people were dressing up in feathers and using native American names. But thats what I like to do. I loved this series but its not for everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As close to perfect as you can get., 27 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treme - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
The writing is superb, the acting is note perfect. If you like slow burning intelligent dramas like Mad Men and The Wire then you're in for a treat. It's not patronizing spoon-fed drama and will often have you playing catch up but that's what brains are for. It's beautifully shot and the script keeps that modern Dickensian feel that David Simon established in his earlier works like The Corner, The Wire etc. The dignity bestowed upon the characters, the denizens of the city and New Orleans is heart-warming and the occasionally maligned soundtrack adds so much atmosphere that you could almost believe you were there whilst you watch it.
Jazz aficionados will lap up the live performances;those who aren't may well find it irksome but, if you have warmed to the characters as I did, you will come to accept it as part of the character of the piece as a whole.
Whilst ratings were modest - to say the least - the quality of the finished product has allowed for it to be renewed for a second season. I hope, as with Mad Men, that positive word of mouth brings this drama to a wider audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treme - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I am always wary of fulsome praise - in 30 years of writing reviews I have managed to avoid using words like 'great' and 'best'. That said, my house rule does occasionally come under pressure and with Treme I am in serious danger of shattering that rule. Unsure what to expect - the first episode is packed with interesting characters, excellent dialogue, almost too much to take in at one sitting - but as the series progresses, the characters grow, the dialogue is unerring, and the overall mood gripping. These people are struggling to preserve themselves and the city of New Orleans with courage and dignity and not a little good humour. And then there is the music. Bookended by an excellent theme, there is virtually non-stop music, contemporary R&B, traditional jazz, soul, gospel, contemporary jazz, a little pop and folk and classical, all blended brilliantly into the fabric of the tales being told. As for these life stories being unveiled, all are finely wrought and intelligently developed. So, excellent scripts, storylines, casting, acting, directing, performing. Not a weak link, never a weak moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Needed getting in to., 23 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treme - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I was a bit worried when I watched the first two episodes but the series grew on me as I carried on watching. I had the same reaction with the The Wire but I've watched that twice now and enjoyed it even more on the second watching. I think this will be the same. Watch the first time for the story, and the second time for the settings and the subtleties. The music is great. Looking forward to the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treme - "More culture in one neighbourhood than you've got in your sorry ass sprawling suburbs", 30 Mar 2011
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treme - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
For those looking for David Simon to follow up the Wire with a similar crime related series Treme will come as a real disappointment; those alternatively looking for one of the best American dramas in recent years from the superb HBO stable then the "eagle has landed". The series is essentially a love letter to the shattered city of New Orleans post Hurricane Katrina. It certainly is an indictment of the Bush administrations gross mishandling of aftermath and like Dave Edger's recent book Zeitoun there are times when "Treme" makes you literally fume at the debacle that followed infused by racism. In particular the spectacle of a largely poor black community "left behind" and an incredibly nervous and paranoid Police force.

But if your singular interest is examining the wake of the unmitigated disaster, which is Katrina, then Spike Lee's "When The Levees Broke" should be your port of call. "Treme's" landscapes are far wider and it aims to capture the essence of New Orleans by tapping into traditions of jazz music, culture, carnival & Mardi Gras, language, cuisine and particularly the sheer bloody minded resilience of its residents. Like all David Simon scripts it builds slowly but surely until the characters hold your attention in a vice like grip. "Treme" is the district epicentre of New Orleans jazz and around that culture are woven human stories of resettling in the destroyed city, people seeking lost relatives dispersed across the USA or eking out a living as the city attempts to recover. Music is at the heart of the series and Treme is not afraid to stop the story and introduce a jam session or a carnival band. Thus you have highlights such as a great version of "My Indian Red" led by the great Dr John; the fabulous Kermit Ruffins playing "Skokiaan" in another episode and a soundtrack jam packed with great music. Throughout we also have the appearance of stellar musicians like Steve and Justin Townes Earle, Elvis Costello and Allen Toussaint. In sense who are we to argue with HBO claim that Treme sees "one of the best organic uses of music in a series".

The characters at the heart of the series are drawn from "Wire" stalwarts like Wendell Pierce who plays the colourful local musician "Antoine Batiste" and Clarke Peters who plays the chief who leads one of the exotic Mardi Gras "Indian" tribes with their mix of African/American/Indian traditions feeding into the glorious city Carnivals. These resume three months after Katrina but with them re-emerge problems of gang violence and crime. The there are a number of other key characters namely John Goodman's angry Professor Creighton Bernette whose epic foul mouthed tirades against George W Bush are oratorical fireworks as he reminds the President "You rebuilt Chicago after the fire you rebuilt San Francisco after the earthquake". Then there is Gonzo DJ Davis Mclary played by Steve Zahn. I have to admit that in the first couple of episodes I disliked this character but stick with Zahn since his anarchic portrait of the passionate Bohemian New Orleans resident "who wants his city back" grows to be one of the series best. Equally the redoubtable Khandi Alexander who plays the tough bar owner LaDonna Batiste-Williams also in a desperate search of her "lost" brother is superb throughout.

"Treme" is unique series superbly directed by Eric Overmyer and one that invest enormous and intricate detail into its warm and diverse set of characters. It is New Orleans Cajun, Creole and whatever other culture writ large with its nuances, colours and language firmly placed at the heart of this show. At the opening point of one of his Internet rants "Creighton Bernette" proclaims "yes we are still here". At this moment you feel the pain and the passion in his words and fundamentally its channelling that same pain and passion for this historic, flawed but vital city into the medium of TV that gives "Treme" its big beating heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treme - great in it's own way, 15 Nov 2011
This review is from: Treme - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
A few reviews here allude to the fact that people are disappointed that Treme didn't live up to their expectations after watching The Wire. I loved The Wire, and yes it is true that Treme is a slow burner. It's also true that the characters and drama aren't as up front as The Wire, but, well it's NOT The Wire. If series such as these were too similar people would have a whole other host of complaints, so we should congratulate the Treme team on making an amazing piece of TV that stands out on it's own.

The writing and performances in Treme are outstanding and it gripped me just as much as The Wire, just differently. I admit I had to give it more of a chance, but to me it made the experience slightly more rewarding. I felt like I had gone on more of a journey with the characters, with a strange mix of contentedness and anticipation at the end. It really tapped into my emotions; made me happy, made me really sad and at points, made me get up and dance around the room! The fact that the stories take longer to get going was just part of it's charm for me.

Finally the music is a constant joy in the series - if you like blues, jazz, hip hop, soul, folk...well actually if you just love great music then right from the theme tune you'll be taken in.

Anyway, I loved it and I hope more people give it a chance and enjoy it, starting with my Mum and Dad who are getting a copy for Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treme-Season 1, 12 Sep 2011
This review is from: Treme - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Absolutely fantastic, probably the best thing on TV ever! I would recommend seeing the indie doc, 'Faubourg Treme, The Untold Story of Black New Orleans' (available on filmbabyfilm) before viewing the series, especially for those who do not have much relation to New Orleans.

I also recommend watching, in the 'Features' section, 'The making of Treme', (also before starting the series) which is located on the last DVD of season 1. It's thoroughly interesting and also introduces you to the 'real' people and musicians of New Orleans (for example, I've sampled Kermits BBQ & enjoyed the music of Dr. John, John Boutte & more, countless times while in NOLA), whom take part in the series.

I can not sing my praises loud enough over Treme, it's so well done, an absolute gem, positively addictive, a must see for all!!!

tks Denmark,
waiting patiently (NOT!!!) for season 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best quality for one of the best shows on TV, 3 Aug 2011
By 
Elleppi (Rome, Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The quality of this bluray is astonishing.
The value of this show is even more than that.
From David Simon (The Wire) another masterpiece.
...But not for every taste: if you look for suspense, cliffhangings, plot-driven stories, just don't event think about it.
And stay away from New Orleans...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth investing in, 3 July 2012
By 
This review is from: Treme - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Like a lot of people I watched this because of the magic name of David Simon, creator of The Wire.
This isn't a cop series - though The Wire wasn't just a cop series, either - and it's had mixed reviews. Basically, it's the story of a variety of people coming to terms with life in New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina - though it's not just about that, either.
Which gives you a clue to why the reaction has been a bit mixed: despite the vivid setting, the story is harder to pin down.
There are musicians and DJs, lawyers and police, bar and restaurant owners, and some very familiar faces from The Wire, like Wendell Pierce (this time he's a loveable but no-good trombonist) and Clarke Peters (a Mardi Gras Indian, struggling to keep the tradition alive). Less successful is an overacting John Goodman as a loudmouth academic (who we first meet being interviewed by a British journalist straight out of a 1930s Pathe News bulletin) and his liberal-lawyer-with-a-conscience wife, straight off the shelf.
There's a few nods to some sort of structure - there's a search for a missing brother, and the series culminates in the first Mardi Gras parade after the storm - but otherwise the stories just flow, sometimes intertwining when the characters meet, and this gives it all a multi-layered and very authentic feel. Too slow for some, maybe, but after an uncertain start I found it completely absorbing.
It's beautifully filmed, you get a real flavour of the place, though some have complained that it can get a bit like a travelogue: couldn't there have been just one character who hates street parades and gumbo, and prefers an ordinary doughnut to a beignet? But the music, on the street corners as well as in the bars and clubs, is wonderful. Many of the featured performers are real New Orleans musicians, and if you like jazz and blues then you're in for a treat.
I suspect everything Simon will ever put his name to will always be compared to The Wire. This isn't in the same league, but it's still very good. And like all good series, it gets better as you get to know the characters and your perceptions of them change.
A series to get your teeth into, and one well worth investing in. Series two is also available on DVD, and there are two more in the pipeline - great news.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars After the flood, watching the paint dry, 12 July 2011
By 
Bill (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Treme - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Were you one of those Wire addicts who couldn't resist watching just one more episode, staying up into the early hours?

If you're expecting Treme to take over your life in the same way, then think again. I've just finished the first series and believe me, it was hard work at times. There were actually evenings when we were searching for something, anything, else to view, just to give us a break from Treme's snail-pace plot development and all-too-frequent and all-too-long jazz improvisations and band rehearsals.

That's not to say that there isn't a lot to like in Treme. The acting is top-notch, the cast is packed with your old friends from Simon's previous ground-breaking shows (The Wire, The Corner and Homicide - Life on the Streets) and scriptwriters include novelist George Pelecanos (another Wire stalwart), Eric Overmyer (ditto) and James Yoshimura (from Homicide) as well as Simon himself. There are guest appearances as well, notably Elvis Costello and Steve Earle (barely recognisable, looking like a cross between Ben Gunn and a yak). The cinematography is faultless, not surprising with Ivan Strasburg at the helm, and the musicianship is superb (even if, like me, you soon discover that there's actually quite a lot of New Orleans music that is not exactly to your taste).

So what's gone wrong? Well, the storylines, or lack of them, are the main problem. As the characters try to rebuild their lives after Katrina, they fret about getting their roofs fixed or paying their bills, argue about which bands to play with or try to cope with writer's block. All very realistic, but not the stuff of good TV. Even the most dramatic thread - the search for LaDonna's missing brother - is slow and mostly uneventful, and its only in the final two episodes that the other main story-arc (that of ranting writer Creighton) reaches any kind of denouement, and produces (in me, at least), one's first real emotional connection with any of the characters, who for much of the series are either annoying, unsympathetic or simply uninteresting.

And weirdly, considering that the whole raison d'etre of the series is the revitalising of a city struck by a cataclysm, you don't really get the sense that New Orleans is on its uppers. The first episode begins just three months after the hurricane, and there's a fair bit of debris around. But in subsequent episodes there's little evidence of devastation; the streets are mostly clean, potholes mended (when Davis gets a flat from one of them, I could hardly see it!) the apartments (even those of the down-at-heel buskers) have spotless paintwork, and the cemeteries show little sign of the disarray and ruin that took more than a year to clear. And some New Orleans residents have complained that the waterlines, the omnipresent mark left by the floods, are almost nowhere to be seen in Treme, save in the opening credit sequence.

Only once in the series does the true enormity of Katrina come across, and that is when LaDonna searches amongst the bodybags in the makeshift morgue of a freezer container truck, hoping not to find her lost sibling. She steps outside, and the camera pulls back to reveal truck after truck after truck, mute testimony to the huge death toll suffered by the city.

Apparently Simon thinks Treme is the best thing he's done, and the critical response in the US has been mostly favourable. But it hasn't won any awards, as yet, and I think that at the time of writing it's worth noting that this is only the 15th Amazon review of Series 1 to be posted. The second season has just finished its run in the States, so it won't be too long before the box set is available over here. I'm not going to be counting down the days to its release, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa718e4e0)

This product

Treme - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011]
Treme - Season 1 (HBO) [DVD] [2011] by Eric Overmyer (DVD - 2011)
16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews