Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating.
This is a terrific read, packed full of facts and arguments. I found the presentation of it slightly off-putting though, lots of single sentences, changes in font size etc., but these niggles are more than made up for by the excellence of the content.
Published on 9 Feb 2011 by J. Pullman

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More like speaker's notes than a book
I have to agree with J. Pullman that the formatting was really off putting and only stuck with the book because of the amazing subject matter. I suspect if there is a ted talk video of a similar title, it will be identical to this book. The writing was punchy and conversational which is what I would expect for a presentation, but not for a book.

Science writing...
Published on 12 Feb 2011 by M. Sta-ana


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More like speaker's notes than a book, 12 Feb 2011
By 
M. Sta-ana "rebelwithoutaclause" (surbiton, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homo Evolutis (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
I have to agree with J. Pullman that the formatting was really off putting and only stuck with the book because of the amazing subject matter. I suspect if there is a ted talk video of a similar title, it will be identical to this book. The writing was punchy and conversational which is what I would expect for a presentation, but not for a book.

Science writing doesn't need to be quirky to capture your audience.

Do yourself a favour and send a sample chapter to your kindle compatible device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating., 9 Feb 2011
By 
J. Pullman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homo Evolutis (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
This is a terrific read, packed full of facts and arguments. I found the presentation of it slightly off-putting though, lots of single sentences, changes in font size etc., but these niggles are more than made up for by the excellence of the content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read!, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homo Evolutis (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
A small book with big ideas. Very interesting topics of discussion especially if you like to keep up to date with anthropology and social sciences. Wonderful read, cannot recommend enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and thought provoking read., 24 Nov 2013
By 
Mark D (worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homo Evolutis (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
A good but short read. Lots of ideas but the presentation style is somewhat off putting. Does put into context how we are just one more in a chain of evolution, with us bring the lucky ones to have survived. Worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Book That Lays Naked the Immorality of Scientists Whilst Elevating Them to Lofty Heights, 4 Oct 2013
By 
James Gh Cowan (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homo Evolutis (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
Reading this book is like stepping from the Stone age into Godhood. It's like moving from "the world is flat" to landing on the moon.
Everything we ever believed about ourselves and our complexity gets binned and our eyes are opened to what really makes us tick.
And even this giant step forward is seemingly just a first step miraculous medical progress that is beyond our present imagination.
What frightens me is that each description of this practically isolated scientific progress is not even understood by scientists in other fields of research and therefore is an unregulated and highly risky tampering in many cases.
It is a frightening, enlightening, awesome must read for everyone and will blow the minds of "A" level science teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A scatterbrained book, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homo Evolutis (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
The best that I can say for this is that it is (at times) humorous and is mercifully short. The central premise that Homo Sapiens is poised for a speciation event is poorly evidenced and based on a ropey understanding of genetics and evolution. It's really a book about trans-humanism rather than evolution and in that context has some interesting nuggets of information and speculation about performance enhancing technologies currently available and the possibility that they will be used "off label" to create super humans. But this is not evolution and certainly not likely to drive a speciation event. But the most irritating thing about this book is its quirky paragraphing and mixtures of font styles and sizes that make the 'argument' difficult to follow and even harder to take seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5387564)

This product

Only search this product's reviews