Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars External battery charger for iphone
Excellent and useful product, especially when away from home and you need extra charge. Easy to use and see what charge is left in charger.
Published on 26 April 2012 by R. A. Schulte

versus
29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Punching above its weight
UPDATE December 2012: This has now stopped working altogether. Due to the indicator lights not working for the last few months I am unable to tell if the problem is that the battery isn't charging, or whether there is a problem with the pin and the charge is not being transmitted to my phone. It let me down on a trip in Greece when I was counting on the extra charge. Will...
Published on 26 April 2012 by A. Raghu


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Punching above its weight, 26 April 2012
By 
A. Raghu (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1900mAh HIGH QUALITY EXTERNAL PORTABLE BATTERY PACK CHARGER FOR APPLE iPHONE 3G 3GS 4 4G 4S iPod iTouch 3G GENERATION 3RD 4TH 5TH 6TH 7TH 8TH 4G 5G 6G 7G - Part of The Crazy4fones Accessories Range (Electronics)
UPDATE December 2012: This has now stopped working altogether. Due to the indicator lights not working for the last few months I am unable to tell if the problem is that the battery isn't charging, or whether there is a problem with the pin and the charge is not being transmitted to my phone. It let me down on a trip in Greece when I was counting on the extra charge. Will now be looking for an alternative product. Pity.

**

UPDATE August 2012: The 'test' button (which if pressed shows you roughly how much charge the battery currently holds) has stopped working and does not press down properly anymore. The battery itself does still seem to be holding charge.

**

UPDATE May 2012: Used it today after weeks to charge my dying iphone. Wasn't sure if the battery would have held the charge given it was charged up more than a couple of weeks. But it has done admirably, charging my iphone up to a 100%.

Great product at a great price!

**

Main reason for me buying this item: The much more popular Tecknet product in its latest '2011' version does not plug into your iphone directly, a cable is needed between the battery and your iphone, which means you cannot continue a phone conversation when the Tecknet battery is being used to charge up your dying phone.

This item, on the other hand, once charged up through the standard apple mains charger, plugs straight onto an iphone to charge it. Being the same width as the iphone it remains unobtrusive while charging, even when you have the phone held up to your ear.

Now onto its performance:

Given the price of less than 6 pounds I did not expect it to do too well. However so far (within 1 week of purchase), it has managed to get my iphone from 6% to 100%. It did this in about 120 minutes, so an average of less than 1 1/2 minutes to charge each percentage point on your iphone.

I plan to update this review after a month of use, but so far this cheap battery has punched well above its weight, and given a lack of reviews for this product (unlike for the Tecknet-brand products on amazon), I think it might be useful to document in detail this battery's performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This works, but with 1900mAh? More like 1000mAh to me., 26 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1900mAh HIGH QUALITY EXTERNAL PORTABLE BATTERY PACK CHARGER FOR APPLE iPHONE 3G 3GS 4 4G 4S iPod iTouch 3G GENERATION 3RD 4TH 5TH 6TH 7TH 8TH 4G 5G 6G 7G - Part of The Crazy4fones Accessories Range (Electronics)
Pros:

This does charge the iPhone, and with a documented output of 5v (as allowed by Apple) at 8oomAh it is right in between charging it through the usb port of your laptop (at 500mAh) and with Apple's own mains charger plug (at 1000mAh).

You can charge it using the iPhone's usb sync cable, or with a dock if you have it.

Cheap and affordable.

Seller was very quick in posting the battery pack out, so was able to get it as quick.

Cons:

It has never managed to charge my iPhone's battery to a 100% from 5%. I tested this with an iPhone 3gs which has a 1219mAh battery, so with this charger at 1900mAh it should be able to manage at least one full charge. The best this could do is charge it at 60% after 1h55m. The charger had all 5 LEDs lit up prior to charging (plugged it in first to check if full) while the iPhone was drained to 5% and the wifi, 3g and mobile data turned off prior to charging. Screen was in sleep mode during charging, but lit up for 5s a few times to check progress. As mentioned, charging stopped at 1h50m with a 60% battery and display saying that charging was not accepted with the device. In short, this does not deliver the amount of power it promises.

With an input of 5v at 500mAh, this almost takes longer to recharge than my iPhone (both used with Apple's own usb cable and mains plug). My iPhone would already be at trickle-charging mode even before this battery pack has all 5 LEDs lit up.

Does not connect properly to the iPhone. The metal 30-pin plug that goes to the bottom of the iPhone has no protruding hooks on both sides which would hold if not lock it in place. Other battery packs have these hooks on their plugs. That said, charging can be disturbed by even a slight wiggle.

Actually bought two of these. I've decided to keep them for now until I find a better one that really delivers. By all means do look elsewhere for a better one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars External battery charger for iphone, 26 April 2012
By 
R. A. Schulte (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1900mAh HIGH QUALITY EXTERNAL PORTABLE BATTERY PACK CHARGER FOR APPLE iPHONE 3G 3GS 4 4G 4S iPod iTouch 3G GENERATION 3RD 4TH 5TH 6TH 7TH 8TH 4G 5G 6G 7G - Part of The Crazy4fones Accessories Range (Electronics)
Excellent and useful product, especially when away from home and you need extra charge. Easy to use and see what charge is left in charger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Up Charger, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1900mAh HIGH QUALITY EXTERNAL PORTABLE BATTERY PACK CHARGER FOR APPLE iPHONE 3G 3GS 4 4G 4S iPod iTouch 3G GENERATION 3RD 4TH 5TH 6TH 7TH 8TH 4G 5G 6G 7G - Part of The Crazy4fones Accessories Range (Electronics)
The blue lights indicating amount of charge works well. The charger itself is well made, light to carry and clips on and off easily. It holds its charge for weeks, with no need to re-charge. Ideal for trips abroad where there are no or limited electrical facilities.

However it does not top up as many times as stated. e.g. I found it will top up an iPhone 4S 1.5 times only and that's its limit. When I found this out through experimenting what it would charge e.g an iPod nano twice etc I then bought two more. i then took them on safari for my iPhone, iPod and to read my iPad books.

Has a neat little plastic cover that stops dirt ot contact damage when travelling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Would give NO stars if possible, 29 Jan 2013
This review is from: 1900mAh HIGH QUALITY EXTERNAL PORTABLE BATTERY PACK CHARGER FOR APPLE iPHONE 3G 3GS 4 4G 4S iPod iTouch 3G GENERATION 3RD 4TH 5TH 6TH 7TH 8TH 4G 5G 6G 7G - Part of The Crazy4fones Accessories Range (Electronics)
Unable to use this with my iPhone as it kept informing me that it wasn't compatible !!! Waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars useless, 10 Dec 2012
This review is from: 1900mAh HIGH QUALITY EXTERNAL PORTABLE BATTERY PACK CHARGER FOR APPLE iPHONE 3G 3GS 4 4G 4S iPod iTouch 3G GENERATION 3RD 4TH 5TH 6TH 7TH 8TH 4G 5G 6G 7G - Part of The Crazy4fones Accessories Range (Electronics)
This product was not good stranded. I try to use for my iPhone to recharge the battery when I am outside. When I use it battery show it's full but my phone's battery dead in 5 min... I try so many times. But the same result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good item, 19 May 2012
This review is from: 1900mAh HIGH QUALITY EXTERNAL PORTABLE BATTERY PACK CHARGER FOR APPLE iPHONE 3G 3GS 4 4G 4S iPod iTouch 3G GENERATION 3RD 4TH 5TH 6TH 7TH 8TH 4G 5G 6G 7G - Part of The Crazy4fones Accessories Range (Electronics)
Arrived quickly, and it does charge my iPhone 4s but doesn't fit properly so I have to hold it in, but overall a good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Battery pack, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1900mAh HIGH QUALITY EXTERNAL PORTABLE BATTERY PACK CHARGER FOR APPLE iPHONE 3G 3GS 4 4G 4S iPod iTouch 3G GENERATION 3RD 4TH 5TH 6TH 7TH 8TH 4G 5G 6G 7G - Part of The Crazy4fones Accessories Range (Electronics)
This is cheaper than others and it does works. However I have had these before and its charge retention does wear down quite quickly over time. The rubber white cap always comes off while I have it in the bag exposing the plug of the pack. It's design makes it awkward to hold if you want to use the phone while charging. There is always this worry that the plug of the pack may snap off if you don't keep the pack and the phone on a level surface. I barely use it and only keep it for emergancies hence why I bought it again. If you do intend to use it often I would recommend getting a more robust and expensive. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1900mAh HIGH QUALITY EXTERNAL PORTABLE BATTERY PACK CHARGER FOR APPLE iPHONE 3G 3GS 4 4G 4S iPod iTouch 3G GENERATION 3RD 4TH 5TH 6TH 7TH 8TH 4G 5G 6G 7G - Part of The Crazy4fones Accessories Range (Electronics)
After some months the battery is becoming worst and worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 29 Dec 2013
This review is from: 1900mAh HIGH QUALITY EXTERNAL PORTABLE BATTERY PACK CHARGER FOR APPLE iPHONE 3G 3GS 4 4G 4S iPod iTouch 3G GENERATION 3RD 4TH 5TH 6TH 7TH 8TH 4G 5G 6G 7G - Part of The Crazy4fones Accessories Range (Electronics)
It didn't really charge my iPhone and it kept saying that it didn't fit into my phone. This is very annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews