Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caravan capers!
It pleases me to see 'Romany Jones' on D.V.D. at last. It was Ronald Wolfe and Ronald Chesney's first comedy series since 'On The Buses', and while it never rivalled that show in terms of popularity, nevertheless was a solid hit that ran to four series. The late James Beck ( 'Walker' from 'Dad's Army' ) starred as 'Bert Jones', a good for nothing layabout who lives in a...
Published on 27 Jun 2011 by Kevin 'Bionic' Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT SO FUNNIE
THIS WOULD OF BEEN BETTER WITH MORE ,,OF WALLY AND LIL..THEY ARE IN A BIT,BUT ITS MORE OF THE OTHER 2 ,,AND IM VERY SORRY BUT THEY ARE NOT SO FUNNIE..BUT YOU WILL LAUGH AT WALLY AND HIS SEXY WIFE LIL,.THEY MAKE THIS SHOW..JAMES BECK TRYS TO BE FUNNIE,BUT IM SORRY NOT FOR ME MATE .AND HIS WIFE IN IT ,,SHE IS RUBBISH,..THE 2ND SERIES..IS MORE FUNNIE,AND HAVE GOT MORE PEOPLE...
Published 6 months ago by stephen milligan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caravan capers!, 27 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romany Jones - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
It pleases me to see 'Romany Jones' on D.V.D. at last. It was Ronald Wolfe and Ronald Chesney's first comedy series since 'On The Buses', and while it never rivalled that show in terms of popularity, nevertheless was a solid hit that ran to four series. The late James Beck ( 'Walker' from 'Dad's Army' ) starred as 'Bert Jones', a good for nothing layabout who lives in a ramshackle caravan with his new wife, Betty ( the lovely Jo Rowbottom ). Their neighbours are thick-as-two-planks 'Wally Briggs' ( Arthur Mullard ) and his nagging wife 'Lil' ( Queenie Watts ).

Surprisingly, only two of the first series' episodes are actually by Wolfe and Chesney. The rest were by Jon Watkins ( who'd also worked on 'Bless This House' ), Jonathan Lynn and George Layton ( from 'Doctor In The House' ), and Chris Boucher ( later to work on 'Dr.Who' and 'Blake's 7' ). The scripts are not particularly brilliant - usually revolving around Bert's attempts to get rich without doing any work - but the cast keeps it together. That catchy Roger Whitaker theme will be in your head for days afterwards!

Shortly after recording a second season, Beck died of peritonitis. A new young couple - played by Jonathan Cecil and Gay Soper - moved into the Jones' caravan. Unlike the common as muck Bert and Betty, Jeremy Crichton-Jones and wife Susan were ever so posh, providing a nice contrast with the Briggs.

Don't buy this expecting another 'Dad's Army', its light years from that show in terms of scripts and acting. But by I.T.V. standards of the time, its pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About bleedin' time!!!, 9 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. P. C. Denmark (ESSEX, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Romany Jones - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
It's about time this was released. I remember watching this as a 9 year old and enjoying it enormously. It's a bit strange that the sequel to it (Yus, my dear) has been available on DVD for a while now.
Dad's Army fans (of which I am one) will enjoy watching the late, great James Beck in what must have been one of his last roles before his untimely death at the ridiculously young age of 44.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Comedy Series!, 8 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romany Jones - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Romany Jones, the prequel comedy series to Yus My Dear. Really loved watching this show for the first time in my life, it just has so many fun moments that make you want to laugh out loud really, I can't wait till they release the 2nd series to this great show, roll on series 2 this was comedy at it's best 10/10 a must have for all who love nostalgia in classic comedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romany Jones, 20 Jun 2011
This review is from: Romany Jones - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
I think there must be a whole generation of 10-11 year olds who watched this on a sunday night , i loved it i remmber ithad the guy from dads army and that big old lump from chitty chitty bang bang arthur mullard
superb , next ill be buying folly foot and the double deckers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROMANY JONES, 10 April 2011
By 
Mr. M. D. Skinner (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Romany Jones - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
I TOO REMEMBER THIS SERIES MYSELF USED TO BE ON ITV ABOUT 7 15 SUNDAY NIGHTS WHEN I WAS ABOUT 12 CANT WAIT TO SEE IT AGAIN IT WAS JAMES BECKS LAST SHOW THAT WHY IT FINISHED EARLY AND THE SERIES YUS MY DEAR WAS CREATED BY THE SAME CREATORS OF ON THE BUSES AND THE RAG TRADE I DO LIKE THE NETWORK RELEASES OF STUFF THAT WASNT AVAILAVBLE ON VIDEO BE SEE HOW GOOD IT STAND THOUGH THE TEST OF TIME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
Mr. Ds Duggan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romany Jones - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Good as ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars NOT SO FUNNIE, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romany Jones - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
THIS WOULD OF BEEN BETTER WITH MORE ,,OF WALLY AND LIL..THEY ARE IN A BIT,BUT ITS MORE OF THE OTHER 2 ,,AND IM VERY SORRY BUT THEY ARE NOT SO FUNNIE..BUT YOU WILL LAUGH AT WALLY AND HIS SEXY WIFE LIL,.THEY MAKE THIS SHOW..JAMES BECK TRYS TO BE FUNNIE,BUT IM SORRY NOT FOR ME MATE .AND HIS WIFE IN IT ,,SHE IS RUBBISH,..THE 2ND SERIES..IS MORE FUNNIE,AND HAVE GOT MORE PEOPLE IN IT,BUT ,,JAMES BECK GOD LOVE HIM ,,IS STILL NOT FUNNIE..ARE IS WIFE IS STILL RUBBISH,THEY TRY. TO BE FUNNIE ,BUT ITS WALLY AND LIL THAT MAKE THE SHOW AND YOU WILL LAUGH AT THEM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lol, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romany Jones - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
What happy times they were No PC Brigade then thank god Right well this is funny and thats a fact
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars romany jones, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romany Jones - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
we bought this for a gift for my mother in law,
she loved it and remembered watching it when
it was on the tv and keeps watching and laughing.
it put a smile on her face and keeps me in her good
books!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hillarious comedy, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romany Jones - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
BRILLIANT Comedy with a taste of its own; the late james beck and authur mullard are tops: i look forward to getting the 2nd series very soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Romany Jones - The Complete First Series [DVD]
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews