Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Issue" driven, but a good series.
One can see the origins of modern British crime-series in this. A similar approach is also to be found, although less overt, in the more recent "Waking the Dead" and "Silent Witness" where an over-worked, dedicated team go all out to solve their crimes against a hard, ugly underworld on the one hand and mindless, stupid and often self-seeking bureaucracy on the other...
Published on 23 Jan 2012 by margaret

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Martin Shaw as 'The Chief"
Shaw always brings a real classy performance to the show. Pity some of the other acting is a bit wooden.
Published 3 months ago by M. Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Issue" driven, but a good series., 23 Jan 2012
By 
margaret (Craighall, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - The Complete Third Series [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
One can see the origins of modern British crime-series in this. A similar approach is also to be found, although less overt, in the more recent "Waking the Dead" and "Silent Witness" where an over-worked, dedicated team go all out to solve their crimes against a hard, ugly underworld on the one hand and mindless, stupid and often self-seeking bureaucracy on the other. "The Chief" is a good, well-designed and absorbing series. The plots are good, and they are well-developed with a cast totally in control of their various characters.

It does state that it deals as much with the politics of government as with crime, and that is true, but one also finds that each cast-member has his or her own agenda - often a very large axe to grind. The criminals are not always simply bad people - they are reacting to a big, unfriendly, uncaring world. The police have their issues too. No one seems just to go to work to make a living and leave the world a slightly better place. Most seem to have burning issues of their own which are worked out in the work place.

If you are happy with a bit more depth to your police-series, then you will enjoy this one. It is thought-provoking within its ambit, it is well-put together and altogether, very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, 17 April 2011
By 
K. Johansen "luvmusic" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chief - The Complete Third Series [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I could not think of anyone better than Martin Shaw to take over from Tim Piggott-Smith as both are excellent actors.

If you saw this series when it was originally screened then it needs no review from me, you do not forget a quality series like this!

Martin's series has been a long time coming, hopefully we may now get the series (title escapes me was it Always & Forever?) where he played a doctor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chief, 5 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - The Complete Third Series [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched series 1,2.3 and think this dvd is the best crime and police show I have ever seen. The acting is nail biting and down to earth with realism and you feel that you are actually living the scenes that burst upon your TV screen.
The script writing is out of this world and gripping as every scene unfolds with deep thinking drama being presented to the viewer. Many of the stories featuring bureaucrats that are just like we experience in the real world today.
This program truly presents the battle senior police have with self interest groups within government sources.
This dvd must bee seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An impressive series, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - The Complete Third Series [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Great series, bit dated now but very watchable.

The storyline is good and the acting is to a good standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Martin Shaw as 'The Chief", 11 April 2014
By 
M. Kelly (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - The Complete Third Series [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Shaw always brings a real classy performance to the show. Pity some of the other acting is a bit wooden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a disappointment, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - The Complete Third Series [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Not Martin Shaw's best series. He plays his part well but the series does not really grab your attention and fall a bit flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - The Complete Third Series [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I've been waiting for this for years and I am so glad I ordered it. It was as gripping as I remember hopefully next month can get series four.

I loved the way the transition between the Chiefs was done. It was particularly good fun througout the series to see such young versions of so many familiar actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great show to watch., 1 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. K. Finn "Amazonian" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - The Complete Third Series [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Managed to see some of the episodes to this Martin Shaw show when they were originally shown but not all and thus have the opportunity to see some I missed and enjoy again the ones I saw. Hoping to buy the later series when I can afford them..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New broom sweeping clean........, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - The Complete Third Series [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
This third series see the cross over between the outgoing chief John Stafford, brilliantly played throughout by Tim Piggott-Smith, and the selection and arrival of the new chief, Alan Cade, a no nonsense career detective ,the excellent Martin Shaw. An exciting story line that allows a smooth exit and an engaging start for Cade, as an oil rig is hijacked. You can quickly see how his different, yet equally determined style is going to make some good story lines in the remainder of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Martin shaw, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chief - The Complete Third Series [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Very good Martin shaw play the chief in the complete 3rd series back in 1993.Martin shaw is well know in the 1970 / 1980s I am happy with this DVD and the 2 /3 day to come in the post.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chief - The Complete Third Series [1993] [DVD]
11.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews