Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A full list of the stories
Series two follows on from the enjoyable first with another collection of six, 25 minute tales of the supernatural, principally aimed at a young audience, but enjoyable for adults as well.
Of course, the special effects are of their time (1976), but the strength of the series lies in the simple but interesting storylines and scripts, which contain an effective degree...
Published on 28 Jun. 2011 by Colin Smith

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down after the first series.
Following on from the first series, I was keen to get my hands on series 2.

Although, it features much of the same brand of enjoyable spooky/supernatural tales, the episodes seem to lack the focus and plot of the previous series. Most of the episodes seem to suffer from script and story playing second fiddle to what would've been the latest camera trickery...
Published on 2 July 2011 by Mad Basil


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A full list of the stories, 28 Jun. 2011
By 
Colin Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
Series two follows on from the enjoyable first with another collection of six, 25 minute tales of the supernatural, principally aimed at a young audience, but enjoyable for adults as well.
Of course, the special effects are of their time (1976), but the strength of the series lies in the simple but interesting storylines and scripts, which contain an effective degree of psychological menace rather than out and out horror (naturally with it being a childrens TV series), with stories provided by award-winning authors Joan Aiken, Susan Cooper, Rosemary Harris and Penelope Lively.

As with the first series I found some stories to be better than others, but I couldn't find a dud amongst them. A few familiar faces along the way all contribute to this interesting collection.
The colour picture and sound quality are good, no subtitles, the only extra is an image gallery. A synopsis of each story is featured on the inside of the DVD case, which I have included below.

*THE DARK STREETS OF KIMBALL'S GREEN - Orphan Emmeline fights her real-life enemies by believing they are figures from the pages of her history book.
Starring Hannah Isaacson, Barbara Keogh, Alex McCrindle and Joan Scott.

*TIME OUT OF MIND - Hoping to escape the horrors of a family outing, Liz looks longingly at a Victorian doll's house displayed in the museum they visit. Suddenly, she finds she has become the housemaid in the miniature world...
Starring Coral Atkins, Sally Lahee, Neville Barber, Elaine Button and Brenda Cowling.

*THE INHERITANCE - Although his parents want him to take an office job, it's the last thing school leaver Martin wants. Then, his grandfather comes to stay, and tells Martin of his one unfulfilled ambition. Through a strange dream, Martin helps him realise it - and solves his own dilemma.
Starring John Barrett, Priscilla Morgan and Dougal Rose.

*DARK ENCOUNTER - When Jonathon returns to the country haunts of his boyhood, he finds a kite stuck in an oak tree; below it, a boy called Johnny nurses a sprained ankle. He carries the boy to Debbits Mill, but finds himself wondering why - and how: it was pulled down long ago! Yet inside, something strange and mystical is about to happen...
Starring Shelagh Fraser, Brian Glover, Hugh Morton and Alex Scott.

*PERONIK - Tom is bullied by his father, downtrodden by his stepmother, and unable to get the girl he wants. Then, the unhappy teenager reads about the ancient legend of Peronik, who suffered the same plight. Tom lives through the legend, but when he sees himself as Peronik, is it only a figment of his imagination?
Starring Paul Aston, Tim Barrett, Zelah Clarke, Norman Rossington and Ann Lynn.

*THE EYE - Steve and his sister George are alone at home. Strange things happen; George knows why but won't say, and Steve is more and more frightened. Then Dad comes. But is it really dad - or a legendary figure conjured up by George?
Starring John Sanderson, Julia Lewis and Murray Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No,it isn't the weak link in the Shadows series., 11 July 2014
By 
Mr. D. M. Wells "stormbringer2454" (Dorset,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this better than the first series. Always a sucker for the seventies young persons television with a message vibe,I found each story interesting, attention holding and less samey than the first collection.
Really loved the new opening titles too, a lovely unsettling but cosy feeling pervaded the whole setup, the wife and I enjoyed all the tales, a particular stand out for me being 'The Inheritance'.
Seriously,just as good as the other two Shadows series,believe me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down after the first series., 2 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
Following on from the first series, I was keen to get my hands on series 2.

Although, it features much of the same brand of enjoyable spooky/supernatural tales, the episodes seem to lack the focus and plot of the previous series. Most of the episodes seem to suffer from script and story playing second fiddle to what would've been the latest camera trickery. There does seem to be some sort of urban childhood/alienation theme running largley throughout (as reflected in the new, very errie, title sequence). As stated in a previous review, some of the 'plots' are also rather similar. For me, Susan Cooper's Dark Encounter episode stands out as perhaps the cream of the crop; yet this episode itself doesn't really make quite enough sense (even for a short supernatural tale).

A bit of a disapointment after series one - but worth a look if you fancy more of the same. All said, can't wait for series 3 to come out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 1 July 2011
By 
Colin D. Robertson (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
I got the DVD of the first series and loved it. Unfortunately series 2 isn't a patch on the first.

It seems as if the scripts were written in a real hurry. Three episodes have pretty much the same storyline (blur between fantasy and reality), two episodes don't make sense, and one has potential but fails to capitalise. Only one has the atmosphere of the first series.

There's also a dizzying new title sequence replacing the somber original. With its images of urban decay and a lonely little girl, it underlines the change in emphasis in s2: less supernatural, more about self-esteem for kids. It really feels like a different programme altogether.

As a lover of 70s TV drama this was a real disappointment. I hope series 3 is better. Really sad to give this a low rating because Network deserve thanks for the work they do, rescuing these shows from the archives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug. 2014
By 
B. pett (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
Xxxxxxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Scary Wallpaper, Lousy Plots, 20 Sept. 2011
By 
Johns (South-East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
A real step backwards compared with the first series. Final episode The Eye is probably the worst piece of drama I have ever seen. A couple of the episodes had interesting set-ups, but the plots were back-of-the-envelope efforts.

The most unsettling aspect of this series of Shadows was the sometimes almost terrifying 70s wallpaper designs on show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shadows - The Complete Second Series [DVD]
Shadows - The Complete Second Series [DVD] by Neville Green (DVD - 2011)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews