Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nostaligic visit to the Eighties
I've seen the low starred reviews for this dvd set but don't agree. The Eighties were a different time and it's a bit silly to make pointed references to violence against women in a story on this dvd when this has been endemic in every time period throughout history. The 'Splash of Red' wasn't my favourite story but I really enjoyed each of the self-contained mysteries...
Published on 24 Oct. 2011 by J. R. Turner

versus
25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Disapointment!
I can sort of see where Lois marshall is coming from. My wife and I found the first 2 eps "Slash of Red" quite unpleasant in its casual accepance of violence against women. A wildly overacting Ken Hutchison, bashes Jemima to the floor with a right hook and she actually seems (I stress - seems- ) to enjoy it. Throughout the 2 parter Hutchison constantly threatens brutal...
Published on 28 May 2011 by A. W. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nostaligic visit to the Eighties, 24 Oct. 2011
By 
J. R. Turner "Jenny" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jemima Shore Investigates - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
I've seen the low starred reviews for this dvd set but don't agree. The Eighties were a different time and it's a bit silly to make pointed references to violence against women in a story on this dvd when this has been endemic in every time period throughout history. The 'Splash of Red' wasn't my favourite story but I really enjoyed each of the self-contained mysteries and think that Patricia Hodge is perfectly cast as the aloof, dismissive private detective who seems to be running some kind of ad-agency at the same time. I very much enjoyed the series and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Disapointment!, 28 May 2011
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jemima Shore Investigates - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
I can sort of see where Lois marshall is coming from. My wife and I found the first 2 eps "Slash of Red" quite unpleasant in its casual accepance of violence against women. A wildly overacting Ken Hutchison, bashes Jemima to the floor with a right hook and she actually seems (I stress - seems- ) to enjoy it. Throughout the 2 parter Hutchison constantly threatens brutal beatings to women (and men) and it's all OK!! As for the ending. Hopeless isn't the word. We've seen 3 other eps so far and they haven't been so poor. They are slow of course compared to todays Frantic pace, and that's not necesarily a bad thing, but it is a bit here. Some nice location shooting in London, but the acting is bad on the whole (a bit like it was in "Hannay"). Did we think it was at the time? Pat Hodge tries hard, it's her series, but she is badly supported. The prints are fine picture wise, but I found some of the sound muffled. It's hard to recomend this, and I hate being negative, but with this series I feel it's only fair to express my reservations. 5 July 2011...I have now seen all the eps. and I can't change my opinion. This is not a good series, and it's in the production and writing that it falls down almost completely. Sound levels vary alarmingly, direction is all over the place, with pauses and fluffs. The actors generally look uncomfortable, and I have to say, I just can't recomend this except for the very determined and curious (tho I still remain a Patricia Hodge fan).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Olden days dvd, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jemima Shore Investigates - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Great reminder of days gone by big hair and outlandish clothes but a lively story which kept me to the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good clean corny fun, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jemima Shore Investigates - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
I am nostalgic of time gone by and this is a series from the 70's . Recommended if you like times gones by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good crime series, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jemima Shore Investigates - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Good series for crime lovers. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Past Investigations well worth a second Look!!, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jemima Shore Investigates - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Good to enjoy again the talents of the actors of past shows. Particularly the one appearance of the versatile character actor Hugh Burden. How I wish we had more examples of his great talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jemima Shore Investigates - The Complete Series, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jemima Shore Investigates - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
This series is as good as when first shown in 1983, with a very good cast of actors and very good story lines a nother great one to add to my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
R. Walker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jemima Shore Investigates - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Could the 80s really have been this beige? Could the wonderful Patricia Hodge really have worn the Princess Di wardrobe and expressed all emotion by adjusting the degree to which her mouth hung open? Not that the supporting cast is much better. In the first episode the most animated character is the cat. (Nothing horrible happens to the cat, just in case anyone was worried.)

The biggest difficulty with watching this now is the shift in values that make the tolerance of the drunken, violent behavior of one man very jarring. We watch an alleged investigator unable to defend herself with a well-placed knee to the groin or slap down the impertinent groping and kissing of a complete stranger. We are expected to sympathize with the murderer. As a historical curiosity this might be an interesting purchase but it has aged very badly. (Miranda's mother would have known just what to do to them!)

I'm not sure I'm even going to make it through the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ø¤ºTOPº¤ø, ¸¸, ø¤SELLER¤ø, ¸¸, ø¤ºMANYº¤ø, ..., 24 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jemima Shore Investigates - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
ø¤ºTOPº¤ø,¸¸,ø¤SELLER¤ø,¸¸,ø¤ºMANYº¤ø,¸¸,ø¤ºTHANKSº¤ø,¸¸,ø¤ºA+º¤ø,¸¸,ø¤ºA+º¤
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jemima Shore Investigates - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Very unusual and quite dated TV series. Still enjoyable. Quick Delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jemima Shore Investigates - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983]
£12.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews