Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JUST A QUICK REFLECTION
If you haven't yet discovered Ladytron now is the perfect time to discover them, you won't be disappointed, maybe a bit upset it took you so long to discover them. after all it was 2007 before i discovered them, mainly thanks to Nine Inch Nails taking them on tour, i have been a fan since.

For Ladytron themselves, who take their name from a Roxy music song this...
Published on 30 Mar 2011 by nin/ja77

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If They Gave Us Sugar...
Ladytron have given us some excellent singles and the baffling thing is that two of the very best, namely the MBV-esque "Sugar" and the Kraftwerk-inspired "He Took Her To A Movie" (their first) are omitted from this compilation. Even "Evil", another great single, finds itself relegated to the second CD (that's if you fork out the extra few quid for the double pack). What...
Published on 17 April 2011 by Stereolad


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JUST A QUICK REFLECTION, 30 Mar 2011
This review is from: Best of 00 - 10 (Audio CD)
If you haven't yet discovered Ladytron now is the perfect time to discover them, you won't be disappointed, maybe a bit upset it took you so long to discover them. after all it was 2007 before i discovered them, mainly thanks to Nine Inch Nails taking them on tour, i have been a fan since.

For Ladytron themselves, who take their name from a Roxy music song this is just a quick reflection before they release album number 5 later this year. Ladytron are a four piece Electropop outfit that were formed in Liverpool in 1999 and have 2 vocalists, Scottish singer Helen Marnie and Bulgarian Mira Aroyo who interestingly sings some of her tracks in Bulgarian. so yes with female vocalists thy will attract comparisons with Crystal castles, then again that's not a bad thing. The album might be called a best of but it's a strange title for a band that have had no real chart success(but really deserve to).

The 17 tracks on disc one are taken from their four studio albums as well as two new tracks tagged on at he end. the brilliant current single "Ace Of Hz" and their cover version of the Death In June track "Little Black Angel" which should give us a taster to album number 5. Only 2 tracks from debut album "604" make the album "Playgirl" and "Discotraxx" being the chosen two. Yet really all the tracks here are deserving, yes cases could be made for other tracks to be included. But there's the brilliant "Tomorrow" which sounds like New order in their prime. "Ghosts" sounds like an eltrco glam stomp of a track. "Blue Jeans" rumbles with big beats that The Chemical Brothers would be proud of. The brilliant "Light and Magic" sounds all trippy and is taken from the album of the same name. "Fighting In Built Up areas" features a great beat and a spoken vocal from Aroyo. "Destroy Everything You Touch" sounds a bit like Curve(another band you should really check out).

With this deluxe edition you get a further 16 tracks including the brilliant "Black Cat" and single the excellent trippy "Evil" which is a great track. Also the final track from "Light and Magic" "The Reason Why" is a worthy addition as Marnie delivers a trademark vocal with Aroyo in the background. There is also an 80 page photo booklet included. The only problem is with the deluxe edition is that they should have used the second disc for remixes as Ladytron are the perfect band to remix and have been done so on many occasion. They did release a digital only compilation called "Best of Remixes" which includes remixes by the likes of Felix Da Housecat, Josh Wink, Soulwax and Simian Mobile Disco from the b sides of singles through the years. It would have made more sense to use that as the collection part of the deluxe edition or even include it as free 3rd disc if you buy the deluxe edition and would be a great way of having all the best remixes together.

When you have four top quality albums to call on then it's hard to please everyone with a compilation album, but if you are new to ladytron this is a good starting place and if you like it make sure to check out all four of their previous albums(604, light and magic, witching hour and Velocifero) and look forward to "Gravity the Seducer" which should be released this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamy electronica, 31 Mar 2011
By 
C. Thompson (Newcastle UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best of 00 - 10 (Audio CD)
I've been a fan for years after hearing 'Seventeen' when I was younger. I love this style of music. It's so retro, and wonderful to dance to. The sounds are irresistible and make you feel like you're in a dream. I love most of the tracks especially the wonderfully dramatic 'Runaway', 'Ace of Hz', and marvelous journey of 'Deep Blue'. More highlights include 'Evil', 'High Rise', 'Beauty *2', 'Fighting in Built Up Areas' and the terrifically moving 'International Dateline' and the mesmerising finale 'All the Way' which still makes me cry.

It is a blossoming dream collection, with an impressive photo booklet attached. It took me a few listens to get used to and love, so it could be a grower for others too. I can't wait to borrow their other albums from a friend but this is definitely a favourite compilation of mine and will definitely be the sound of my summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic best of, 31 Mar 2011
By 
C. W. Howarth "Lalala" (manchester Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best of 00 - 10 (Audio CD)
Every studio album is well represented here and unlike most best ofs does actually contain a true representation of their best material. Ok so one or two disappointing omissions for me. No burning up/im not scared/sugar but nonetheless is still a top quality collection. Two newish tracks are included and are excellent. I recommend the 2 disc version as you get more for your money too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JUST A QUICK REFLECTION, 28 Mar 2011
This review is from: Best of Ladytron 00-10 (Audio CD)
If you haven't yet discovered Ladytron now is the perfect time to discover them, you won't be disappointed, maybe a bit upset it took you so long to discover them. after all it was 2007 before i discovered them, mainly thanks to Nine Inch Nails taking them on tour, i have been a fan since.

For Ladytron themselves, who take their name from a Roxy music song this is just a quick reflection before they release album number 5 later this year. Ladytron are a four piece Electropop outfit that were formed in Liverpool in 1999 and have 2 vocalists, Scottish singer Helen Marnie and Bulgarian Mira Aroyo who interestingly sings some of her tracks in Bulgarian. so yes with female vocalists thy will attract comparisons with Crystal castles, then again that's not a bad thing. The album might be called a best of but it's a strange title for a band that have had no real chart success(but really deserve to).

The 17 tracks are taken from their four studio albums as well as two new tracks tagged on at he end. the brilliant current single "Ace Of Hz" and their cover version of the Death In June track "Little Black Angel" which should give us a taster to album number 5. Only 2 tracks from debut album "604" make the album "Playgirl" and "Discotraxx" being the chosen two. Yet really all the tracks here are deserving, yes cases could be made for other tracks to be included. But there's the brilliant "Tomorrow" which sounds like New order in their prime. "Ghosts" sounds like an eltrco glam stomp of a track. "Blue Jeans" rumbles with big beats that The Chemical Brothers would be proud of. The brilliant "Light and Magic" sounds all trippy and is taken from the album of the same name. "Fighting In Built Up areas" features a great beat and a spoken vocal from Aroyo. "Destroy Everything You Touch" sounds a bit like Curve(another band you should really check out).

When you have four top quality albums to call on then it's hard to please everyone with a compilation album, but if you are new to ladytron this is a good starting place and if you like it make sure to check out all four of their previous albums(604, light and magic, witching hour and Velocifero) and look forward to "Gravity the Seducer" which should be released this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ladytron's best of : a must have!, 4 Aug 2011
This review is from: Best Of 00-10 (MP3 Download)
Great double album with all Ladytron's best tunes mixed up in a double album ( they have so many great tunes with probably more songs from the album "Witching hour" which is their best album). I would have love to have the songs "Pacco" or "I'm with the pilots" on it but still it's a great best of reminding us that Ladytron is one of the best (electro pop) band of the last decade!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ladyttron - best of, 30 May 2011
By 
Mr. David R. Mee (South Wales, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best of 00 - 10 (Audio CD)
Excellent purchase - a real overview of their career to date with all key aspects present and correct. Lovely packaging and booklet. Well worth purchasing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oh how I wish there was a dvd, 11 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best of 00 - 10 (Audio CD)
This is a great compilation - the 33 tracks show how prolific Ladytron have been and that some of their best songs, which are on this compilation, have not necessarily been singles. The special edition booklet is full of pretty pictures of the girls (mainly) but is unfortunately not hardback. The only problem is that now i want the dvds but the only way to get them officially is through itunes and you can't watch it on your tv without hassle. Never mind, fingers crossed that Nettwerk get their act together and listen to what the fans want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Stuff from an under rated band., 29 Mar 2011
This review is from: Best of Ladytron 00-10 (Audio CD)
Listening to Ladytron at the moment and I am not disappointed at all. Very unusual but influential music and a complete cross between 80's music and modern day indie music. The vocals are amazing as well and the way the lead vocalist sings in reminds me of the Dubstar vocalist. Will listen to it on my iPod tommorow to get to grips with awesome music from a very under rated band. Brilliant tunes too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If They Gave Us Sugar..., 17 April 2011
This review is from: Best of Ladytron 00-10 (Audio CD)
Ladytron have given us some excellent singles and the baffling thing is that two of the very best, namely the MBV-esque "Sugar" and the Kraftwerk-inspired "He Took Her To A Movie" (their first) are omitted from this compilation. Even "Evil", another great single, finds itself relegated to the second CD (that's if you fork out the extra few quid for the double pack). What were they thinking of? No doubt in three years' time there will be the "definitive" collection. I'd wait for that. Here they've given us, in their own words "something elusive and temporary."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best of Ladytron 00-10
Best of Ladytron 00-10 by Ladytron (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews