Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Jurassic
This was such a different film when it first came out, creating a dinosaur from the blood ingested by a Jurassic period mosquito. Imagine it, a theme park with live dinosaurs!

Most people are aware of the plot of this great film. Dino theme park, something goes wrong and all hell breaks loose. After that there are just different reasons to return to Dino...
Published 21 months ago by SBno1

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What you see is not what you get.
You do not get the gatefold case, the cardboard sleeve or any literature, you get the four discs and basic plastic case, pretty basic for the Ultimate collection. Haven't watched the dvd's yet but if the quality is as poor as previous reviews have stated I will return them. AMAZON please amend the photograph to reflect what you are actually selling.
Published on 9 April 2009 by Mr. Dr. Pritchatrd


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Jurassic, 22 Sept. 2013
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Park Ultimate Trilogy [Blu-ray][Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This was such a different film when it first came out, creating a dinosaur from the blood ingested by a Jurassic period mosquito. Imagine it, a theme park with live dinosaurs!

Most people are aware of the plot of this great film. Dino theme park, something goes wrong and all hell breaks loose. After that there are just different reasons to return to Dino Isle.

The first film is by far the best, with the other 2 stretching the theme a bit. A forth film is due in 2015, but I think they have milked it enough - we'll have to wait and see.

The blu-ray quality is second to none. I had a much better appreciation of the film than I did with the DVD version. The reptilian skins seem much more real.The audio has transferred well with the all important and infamous thump, thump when T-rex is homing in - that really does resonate well through the speakers.

I bought my set for 8GBP and for that I had a bargain and excellent VFM. At the time of writing the set is at 17GBP - I don't think it is worth that much. Put it on your wish list and watch for the price to drop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An All-Time Great Monster Movie - INCLUDES REVIEW OF NEW CINEMA RELEASE JURASSIC WORLD, 13 Jun. 2015
By 
Bill (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Park Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
JURASSIC PARK - 5 Stars:-

This is undoubtedly one of the greatest and most successful monster movies of all time.
The late Richard Attenborough plays John Hammond, a billionaire businessman and philanthropist, who's funded the creation of an amazing new theme park on a remote island in the Pacific Ocean. Using dinosaur DNA, Hammond's team of world leading scientists and geneticists have been able to create living clones of dinosaurs, including a Tyrannosaurus Rex, Velociraptors, Brontosauruses, and Triceratopses.
Hammond invites some of the world's leading experts to experience the park before it opens its gates to the general public. This includes two palaeontologists, Alan Grant and Ellie Settler (played by Sam Neill and Laura Dern), and a quirky mathematician, Ian Malcolm (played with relish by Jeff Goldblum). Settler views Grant as husband and father material, but Grant isn't in any real hurry to put down roots.
Hammond wants to persuade the visiting experts that his new dino-zoo is both fool-proof and perfectly safe to welcome the public. Hammond's grandchildren, a young boy and girl, accompany the visiting experts on a tour of the island's features and attractions, but their enthusiasm and excitement is soon displaced by fear and panic. When the park's supposedly fail safe security systems are tampered with by a traitorous employee who wants to become a millionaire by selling the cloning secrets, and the systems subsequently fail, the Tyrannosaurus Rex escapes, along with his "Mini-Me" lookalike buddies, the Velociraptors...
What follows then is a completely absorbing, exhilarating and riotous tale of a group of humans, both adults and children, battling for survival against some very hungry, carnivorous monsters...
This is a truly wonderful, mega-budget monster flick. Although the incredible CGI is now well past 20 years old, it's still as impressive today as it was all those years ago. The acting, including that of the child actors, is exemplary. The action scenes and pacing of the movie are relentless, it's a non-stop rollercoaster ride all the way. The atmosphere and tension is palpable, and the sound effects for the dinosaurs are out of this world.
All in all, this is what fantasy movie making is all about, to take the viewer deep into an incredible alternative world for a couple of hours, and to be so completely absorbed that you forget about everything else. Sheer brilliance.
Thank you very much for taking the time to read this review.

JURASSIC PARK: THE LOST WORLD - 5 Stars:-

This is the second instalment of the Jurassic Park franchise of monster movies.
The late Richard Attenborough plays John Hammond, a billionaire philanthropist, who's team of world leading scientists and geneticists have been able to create living clones of dinosaurs from the frozen DNA of prehistoric creatures. The predecessor to this film, saw Hammond's dream theme park, a state of the art dino-zoo called Jurassic Park, turn into a disaster when the dinosaurs broke loose. The big theme park closed down, but Hammond's team managed to preserve their technology and specimens, maintaining a second dinosaur world, Site B, on another remote island somewhere in the Pacific Ocean.
Hammond, who's on the verge of bankruptcy after expensive lawsuits relating to Jurassic Park, enlists the services of Ian Malcolm, a mathematician and chaos theorist, to visit the island with a team of experts, and to observe and document the dinosaurs which roam the natural habitat. Hammond calls this secret experimental island "The Lost World".
Julianne Moore plays Malcolm's girlfriend, Dr Sarah Parker, a leading palaeontologist, who's already ensconced on the island with a team of research scientists. When Malcolm finds out that his loved one is working in the potentially lethal environment, he's straight out to the island on the next aircraft.
The late Pete Postlethwaite plays Roland Tempo, an Indiana Jones type adventurer and hunter. He leads a team of crack mercenaries onto the island, to track and capture species of the local wildlife, for the benefit of wealthy third party financiers who can see the huge money to be made from investing in dinosaurs.
As Malcolm's group make their way ever deeper into the island, and the team of thieving hunters set up camp, so the scariest and nastiest dinosaurs start to pursue their unexpected new food source with merciless enthusiasm..
This fabulous creature flick doesn't depart very far from the exceptional and highly effective template created by its hugely successful predecessor. The superb CGI and special F/X, even though nearing 20 years old, have aged extremely well, and are still highly impressive. Goldblum makes his leading character Malcolm an engagingly sardonic and wry fellow, who finds himself having to become a hero against his better judgment. Julianne Moore makes her scientist Parker a likeable foil for Malcolm, and she's another character who finds herself having to resort to acts of heroism, in the face of an onslaught by the likes of Velociraptors and Tyrannosaurus Rex.
The support cast are impeccable and the classical film score is timeless and magnificent. Some of the action sequences, for instance, when the team of hunters are roaming the plains on their Mad Max style armoured vehicles, in pursuit of herds of dinosaurs, are breathtaking in execution.
There has been so much debate about which of the various Jurassic Park movies is the best one. It's basically a sterile argument. All four movies, i.e. including Jurassic World (which is currently in the cinemas), are wonderful family entertainment, and trying to judge which one is best is a bit like trying to decide which is the sexiest super car, a Pagani Zonda, Koenigsegg CCX, Bugatti Veyron or Lamborghini Aventador - it's a pointless exercise.
Very highly recommended.
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.

JURASSIC PARK 3 - 5 Stars:-

This is the third (but no longer the final) chapter in the amazingly successful Jurassic Park franchise.
Sam Neill plays Dr Alan Grant, a fifty-something palaeontologist who's one of the world's leading experts on dinosaurs. He's lost the love of his life, Ellie Sattler (played by Laura Dern), to an international law attorney. A middle aged couple, Paul Kirby and his ex-wife Amanda, trick Dr Grant into accompanying them on a tour of a remote Pacific island, Isla Sorna, with the use of a big rubbery cheque. The three of them, along with some heavily armed would-be mercenaries to act as escorts, fly out to Isla Sorna, but get stranded on the island after their small aircraft collides with a huge man-eating dinosaur.
Isla Sorna is the second site of the doomed efforts to build a world class theme park, featuring live dinosaurs cloned from the frozen DNA of prehistoric species. The island is uninhabited by man, except for the Kirby's lost son, Erik, a young teenage lad who ended up marooned on the island after a boating and parasailing accident. The true reason for Paul Kirby and his wife going to the island is to look for their missing son, but Dr Grant doesn't learn about this until after the small group start their battle for survival with the local wildlife, including a very hungry Tyrannosaurus Rex.
Fortuitously for the endangered humans, the big T. Rex isn't the meanest monster still living on the island and it soon comes to a sticky and grisly end. What follows afterwards is a thrilling tale of the search and rescue mission for the missing teenager, and the desperate and valiant efforts of Dr Grant and the others, to escape from an island inhabited by relentlessly ferocious Velociraptors and the mother of all big flesh-eating monsters...
This big budget monster mayhem movie is a visceral joyride from start to finish. The CGI and special F/X are astounding and perfectly judged. The top notch cast give excellent performances and the dramatic classical film score helps to maximise the excitement and tension. The sound effects for the dinosaurs are memorable. One imaginative action sequence rolls seamlessly into the next, and because you get to learn something interesting about each of the individual lead characters, you feel invested in their fates.
All in all, this is a first rate adventure story, which my 12 year old daughter watched for the very first time recently, after having viewed Jurassic World at the cinema, and she enjoyed this flick every bit as much as I do. Very highly recommended as a family movie.
Thank you very much for taking the time to read this review.

JURASSIC WORLD - 5 Stars:-

This is a jaw-dropping, bone-crunching monster movie, that's every bit as good as the three previous instalments. With its disastrous history now fading from memory, Jurassic Park has reopened its doors to the general public and announced itself as the world's most exciting and innovative theme park. Arriving at the remote Pacific island where Jurassic World is located, two brothers, the teenage Gray and younger brother Zach, who's aged about ten, plan to spend a week watching genetically engineered and modified baby dinosaurs in the petting zoo, canoeing with gargantuan Brontosauruses, and riding gyro-pods (think mechanised zorbing) among herds of Triceratopses. Along with the two boys are about 20,000 other tourists looking forwards to a very special holiday.
Jurassic World is a vast, world famous commercial enterprise, and maximising profits for the shareholders is the bottom line. Operations Manager Claire knows that the pressure is on to keep up renewed interest in the park every year, which means bigger, louder, scarier dinosaurs.
The latest creation of the scientists is the $26 million dollar Indominous Rex, which is a hybrid of two particularly fierce and clever predator dinosaurs - it's hyper-intelligent, can change the colour of its skin like the Predator (Arnie Schwarzenegger), and is relentlessly aggressive, killing its prey for sport as well as food - Predator Trilogy [Blu-ray] [1987].
When the forty-foot tall monster escapes its "indestructible" enclosure, it's down to Claire, and the park's Alpha Male dino-whisperer Owen, to save the day and bravely attempt to prevent history repeating itself...
This latest instalment of the wonderful Jurassic Park franchise certainly doesn't disappoint. The segment with Owen training and controlling the Velociraptors, lion-tamer style, is breathtakingly good. The CGI is as good as it gets, indeed I watched this movie at the cinema with my 12 year old daughter yesterday and the 3D effect was the best I've ever seen, better even than Avatar - Avatar (DVD + Blu-ray). Whilst the ultra-macho hero Owen is a pretty standard tough guy - he'd probably have most women swooning over him and most men happily sharing a beer with him - his banter and chemistry with his potential girlfriend Claire is highly entertaining. The two lead child actors give stunning performances, up there with the child performances in E.T. - E.T. The Extra Terrestrial (Blu-ray + Digital Copy + UV Copy) [1982].
Vincent D'Onofrio steals the film for me as the despicable bad guy, playing a gung-ho and Machiavellian park warden who wants to get rich quick by putting the trained dinosaurs to lucrative military uses. The film has all the ingredients to be the perfect monster movie blockbuster and it ticks all the right boxes, every single one of them. A small note of caution though - there are some scenes where dinosaurs get to bite and munch on the tourists, and which some children perhaps aged 11 or less might well find a little too scary.
A brilliant, thundering romp of a movie, don't miss!
Thank you very much for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawless sound with improved picture., 2 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Jurassic Park Ultimate Trilogy [Blu-ray][Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This review concerns the Jurassic Park Blu-Ray set. I have watched all three films and the transfer is satisfactory and while the picture is not flawless it is quite good. I am glad I bought this set, I have heard there is some grain but I didn't really spot any even in darker scenes. The scene in the first film with the T-Rex breaking out of the paddock had great picture. If anything it is the third film that has the worst quality. This is a good set and while not everyone will be satisfied with the picture the sound is incredible. The 7.1 Audio certainly makes itself known as I was able to tell even in the first scene that it is a vast improvement over TV broadcasts and DVD and arguably rivals the cinematic release in terms of quality. I again refer to the T-Rex paddock scene with the volume turned on loud it was amazing to hear. If you have a decent sound system I would highly recommend this set and I would consider getting better sound equipment for this purpose. The extras are decent but not fantastic, the new documentary 'Return to Jurassic Park' would have been better if only it had been a little longer just seemed too brisk and I would liked to have seen more. It features good archival features as well, but the only deleted scenes I have seen are for the second film with only two of them anyway. The one thing I would have liked are deleted scenes of the first film and yet they have failed to surface on this set.
To summarise though I would recommend this set as the sound quality makes up for any picture that isn't quite up to scratch but when it is up to scratch you'll see that it is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What do you call a blind dinosaur?, 5 Aug. 2005
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Do-you-think-he-saurus!
Without a doubt a collection of some of the finest movies ever put on film.
Firstly, with Jurassic Park, a film which redefined movie history. Realistic computer effects put in the ``Ooohhh!'' factor - and nothing ever beat seeing that on the big screen. The dinosaurs are just as impressive to us, as they are to Dr. Alan Grant (Sam Neill) when he sees them for the first time. The dinosaurs look living and breathing, and still look good today.
Even on the small screen, it doesn't take anything away from the film. This is mainly down to Spielberg's great direction, building the suspense by keeping most of the dinosaurs out of view for the entire first half of the film. And then exploding them out in a action packed ending.
Everything is authentic - the look, the roars, the interaction with the human cast - astounding. OK, everybody has seen it, but it's worth adding to your DVD collection.
Unfotunately The Lost World is not as good (3 stars). It is more of the same. Once again, a slow build up that is actually boring, but at least the dinosaurs appear earlier too. The plot line of rescuing someone stuck on dino island is pretty thin, but once the action kicks in you don't mind so much. The cliff top fight with the T-Rex and the trailer, and the Raptors in the long grass stand out, as does Jeff Goldblum's Ian Malcolm. However, the T-Rex in the city ending feels tacked on, and fairly pointless. Dissapointing.
Luckily Part 3 picks up again (4 stars). It's a cut to the chase movie. No introduction - let's just get the characters onto Dino isle, and have them run through the forest narrowly missing being chomped on by huge teeth. Taken as it is, it's a non-stop thrill ride for 90 minutes. The dinos are even more impressive, theres some great humour, and a big ruck between a Spinosaurus (The new bad dino on the block) and a T-Rex which looks stunning.
Spielberg passed directing duties over to Joe Johnston for this, and he proves a fair whack at the action. Impressive.
Overall, it's a must-have collection for anybody, not just movie fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back to 1993 when Dinosaurs ruled the earth!!!, 1 Sept. 2005
Everybodies seen Jurassic Park but if you hav'nt...what are you waiting for? Even looking back, it's amazing that a 12 year old film can still have such brilliant special effects. These dinosaurs LOOK REAL!!! You don't think of them as special effects but as actual creatures and Spielberg never lets you forget that their not just a bunch of monsters but animals. Great cast-Sam Niel, Laura Dern, Jeff Goldblum and Richard Attenburgh are all excellent (a then little known Samuel L Jackson has a supporting role too!). The action is delivered with just the right amount of suspense. The end scene with the raptors is tops. 10/10
The Lost World is not bad but feels pretty uninspired. Jeff Goldblum as clown figure=great but his character as a leading man just dos'nt work and you can't help but want Sam Neil in his place. Julianne Moore and Pete Postlewait are much better but mainly the films just lukewarm as if Spielberg just wanted a film about people being chased by dinosaurs. The T-Rex and raptors are back and the really little ones have a scene stealing moment but on the whole it's not a patch on the original. 6/10
Jurassic Park 3 is much better. Joe Johnston dispenses with most the ethics subtext and concentrates on delivering a theme park ride of a movie. Short and sweet. The new dinosaurs are excellent Pterodons finally get an action scene after being introduced by Spielberg about 5 seconds before the end of the second film .Sam Neil is back reminding you just how great the first film was and the raptors are developed further and unlike the Lost World where they seened a bit foolish, come across as just as dangerous as in the original movie. The ending is a let down (I guess it was meant to be tense but it isn't coz we know the characters will survive) and theres a major cop out but overall a fun movie. 8/10
Great range of special features. Mainly on the effects. Theres a few things I would have liked to see-why does the Lost World disc contain the Dinosaur Encyclopedia for the creatures from the first film only? But overall this is near enough to be truly considered the Ultimate Edition of these films. Great. And the price dos'nt hurt for what you get too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jurassic Park Trilogy, 25 Jun. 2015
By 
Leigh RybakRajewski (london UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I adore Jurassic Park so much that ever since JP III hit us I have been pondering on the idea of an actual Dino theme park hence Jurassic World.
The first JP movie is the better of the trilogy, The Lost World and JP III kind of push home too much, but it does not make me love these movies any less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good content, packaging lacklustre., 28 Feb. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The collection comes in a regular 4-DVD box, rather than the nice fold-out sleeve pictured, which seems a bit of a cop-out on the presentation front.

Content extrmely good, as we know, the films are great entertainment, and the extras aren't half-bad either. The film quality is better than mentioned by one of the other reviews, looking particularly good on a sharp LCD screen. Don't expect it to perform on HD, but that's the beauty of those new TVs, they make your old films look worse so you buy them again...a lovely bit of self-marketing. In short, if you have a regular telly, don't worry about the picture quality, it looks just as you'd expect it to.

Well worth a purchase if you don't have these films.

Two thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What you see is not what you get., 9 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You do not get the gatefold case, the cardboard sleeve or any literature, you get the four discs and basic plastic case, pretty basic for the Ultimate collection. Haven't watched the dvd's yet but if the quality is as poor as previous reviews have stated I will return them. AMAZON please amend the photograph to reflect what you are actually selling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An all round great Film series., 25 Jun. 2015
By 
Mrs. S. E. Mardle (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Me and my son have watched all three movies on this DVD set in preparation for "Jurassic World" out this month in cinemas and so far we think its a great franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Films and Great Price, 19 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used to watch Jurassic Park all the time as a kid so before purchase it would of been over 12 years since i seen these films and wow that seems insane but i never forgot any part of the first 2.

To get the Trilogy for such a great price it was an offer than couldn't be refused.
The films are great and you get loads of special features too which i also remember seeing on TV, it's all old special features so they don't look glamorous but it's all interesting stuff.

The films are great, I've watched the first 2 so far so i can't comment on the 3rd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jurassic Park Ultimate Trilogy [Blu-ray][Region Free]
Jurassic Park Ultimate Trilogy [Blu-ray][Region Free] by Steven Spielberg (Blu-ray - 2012)
£23.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews