Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant foray into YA.
Product Description (From back of book)

Rome, 61 BC RECRUITED as a gladiator, young Marcus Cornelius Primus faces a new life of brutal training, governed by strict rules, as he learns the skills of an elite warrior. But Marcus cannot simply forget his past. His father lies murdered by soldiers and his mother has been kidnapped and forced into slavery. Marcus is...
Published on 11 Jun 2011 by Parm

versus
75 of 86 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is a children's book!
I don't know wether to be annoyed with myself or Amazon but I managed to miss that this was a children's story. Once it was delivered there were clues. It was a puffin publication, the gladiator on the front cover has more than a whiff of Harry Potter about him and the print is widely spaced enough to navigate a tractor around! The book was also dedicated to legendry...
Published on 16 Feb 2011 by Mr. A. I. Harrison


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Oct 2014
This review is from: Gladiator: Fight for Freedom (Gladiator Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A very emotional book - excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising, 28 Feb 2011
The plot is good, though there were times when I felt the attention to detail in matching the story up with real characters made things a little to tight/ tidy. I like when the writing simply flowed without appearing to have been worked over. Still, I can't fault the writing style; it's simple but polished. The action scenes pull the story along well

Marcus - the main character - is a believable character. The first quarter of the novel gives us the background to Marcus's life with his parents, but the story about himself and what motivates him is really from the time that he is bought by the gladiator trainer. His motivation is of course to try and free himself from slavery so he can free his mother too.

Think this book will appeal to teens, especially those into well written fight scenes. The character is young - I haven't read about ten/eleven year old since Harry Potter - but towards the end of the book Marcus's life as a slave has made him grew up beyond his years.

Entertaining - 3.5 out of 5 stars from me - and possibility of the next books in the series hooking me in further.

Recently a lot of writers have been trying their hand at writing young adult fiction - with mixed success - and in my opinion Simon Scarrow's managed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gladiator: Fight for Freedom (Gladiator Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
another great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gladiator:fight for freedom, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading first book a while ago i picked up this book and found it hard to put down, As always author drags you in to the story and you feel like your there with the character .As always another great book by Mr Scarrow.
Waiting for next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JP, 9 Mar 2012
This review is from: Gladiator: Fight for Freedom (Gladiator Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was possibly the best of the series. I was unable to put it down. I look forward to further adventures of the protagonists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simon scarrow's roman books, 7 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have over ten simon scarrow 'roman' books - they are brilliant, can't put them down 'til they're finished as quickly as I can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars slow start better finish, 22 Mar 2011
By 
B. C. Webb "broken toy" (midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read many of the roman era books by simon scarrow and found them to be page turners from the start, this was not one of them. Perhaps I was expecting too much from a novel for kids, but having read many childrens books in the recent past, I do expect to be held within the pages. That said as you progress through this book it does turn into a more rapid and exciting tail. Overall not the greatest but still pretty good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class!, 22 Feb 2011
I've read most of Simon Scarrow's other books and was curious to see how he would adapt his style for a younger audience. The story is classic page-turning blood and sand epic with historical figures littering the storyline.
Scarrow keeps it simple and in doing so creates almost a film script pace to the storyline.Highly recommended for children and adults alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gladiator: Fight for Freedom (Gladiator Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews