Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2009
This book is all about good old fashioned rugby humour by our heroes of yesterday.The book is a must read for all rugby loving followers. The antics and stories are recalled by the players and the book is set in individual sections, making it an easy enjoyable read. An excellant book supporting a worthwhile cause, the Heart Foundation.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
As an Xmas stocking-filler, this has really brightened up the cold and wet January of 2010 for me. An easy read of course, but filled with fun and interesting stories - the difference betwen this and other similar titles, is in the wealth of contributions from many unsung heroes of the last 30 or 40 years, and this makes it unique in that many of the stories, I hadn't heard before. Most of them raise a good smile and several made me laugh out loud.

There are many contributions from our Irish rugby friends, and their take on things is always especially humorous. A word for the author too - he made many contributions himself and they clearly show that he was a man of his time - hard, dedicated and fun-loving in the extreme.

Well worth a read!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2010
A "must" for anyone interested in rugby who enjoys a laugh.

Well written and gives the reader an insight into some of the greatest characters the game has ever produced both on and off the field.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2010
this book is a must for anybody who has played or is indeed playing rugby union today. This book recounts memories from an era when the only money paid was by the players for kit and beer!!When rugby players were men and retribution was given and taken on the field and you took it and got on with the game.
This book has brought tears of joy and sadness in equal amounts with its moving and funny stories told by the people who were there.
If you dont like this book then you have never played rugby.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2010
This was purchased for my son as a gift so I can't personally comment but he reported that it was a very enjoyable read with some interesting snippets & 'behind-the-scenes' information about various players.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2011
loved this. Laugh out loud book. This is for all the girl friends who want to know what goes on when "the boys" are on tour or just off for a local derby. ideal also as a gift for an armchair rugby enthusiast. Must have for any rugby fan.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2010
Got this for my rugby mad husband. It kept him quiet except for lots of loud laughing the whole way through.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
This a collection of humorous rugby tales from a collection of famous, and not so famous current and former players. It's not meant to be a cover to cover read, I don't think, more something you pick up for a few minutes while sitting on the toilet, riding in a car, or waiting for the next show to start.

The stories aren't bad, they made me smile, but I'm not sure you can take more than a few at a time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
For any rugby follower this book should not be missed! Although quite a lot of the content is provided by Irish ex-players it covers a lot of International flavour. As it is written in short/medium length contributions it is easy to read in 'small bites' and is full of incidents of rugby humour and camaraderie. A great gift for any rugby fan - I bought a second copy for my brother!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
Having had this for a few years, I've finally finished it. Having so many legends offering little snippets into a rugby era unrecognisable from today's game, the stories are often hilarious (Any featuring Moss Keane are worth the book price alone!) and great to flick through every now and then.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)