Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Taken meets Oldboy'
This film is a little scorcher, what it lacks in originality it more than makes up for in pace, tempo, tension and buckets of action. The plot without spoiling it is fairly simple. A former Special Forces operative has gone into semi hiding, taking up a job as a downtown pawn broker. He deliberately cuts himself off from the outside world, except from his young neighbour...
Published on 17 April 2011 by Tommy Dooley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood take note
Routine thriller/action film from South Korea. Simple story line to which it plods along but easy to follow even with the subtitles. I bought the blu ray version which is region free and worth it just for the crisp picture and sound. Pitty the film itself is let down by some dire acting and unconvincing performances. What it does excel in is the action itself which is...
Published 6 months ago by smc


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Taken meets Oldboy', 17 April 2011
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man From Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a little scorcher, what it lacks in originality it more than makes up for in pace, tempo, tension and buckets of action. The plot without spoiling it is fairly simple. A former Special Forces operative has gone into semi hiding, taking up a job as a downtown pawn broker. He deliberately cuts himself off from the outside world, except from his young neighbour So-mi.

Then a drug deal goes very bad and So-mis's mother is involved leading the drug bosses and police to come calling. Then it all kicks off. We are told the story of Tae-shik in flash back and how he came to be as isolated as he now chooses, and how he is actually an excellent if not ruthless killing machine.

This then is a full throttle re take on the `Leon;' formula with a Korean twist. It is superbly acted and even if some of the `baddies' are a bit two dimensional it works as they are surrounded by so many more fully developed characters. The cinematography is brilliant as I have come to expect from South Korea and the action is first rate. The plot may be simple but you do not feel that whilst you are watching as it just carries you along with the momentum. This is in Korean with English sub titles that are very easy to read. With a running time of 114 minutes, this is not a short film, but it felt more like half an hour. This really is a great action film, with a bit of heart, it does have an 18 cert, so if you are on the squeamish side you may be put off. I found it just top rate entertainment and thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, and the Blu-Ray is Region Free!!, 1 Jun 2011
By 
IMP (London, UK) - See all my reviews
I highly recommend this movie. Sure it borrows from other movies, as stated in another review here, but it's a blast, and (dare I say it) betters a couple of the movies it borrows from!! Very violent, suspenseful and sometimes funny, this movie is a must!!

Also, the Blu-Ray is Region Free, so it will play on any Blu-Ray player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling Masterpiece, 29 Mar 2011
By 
P. McCauley - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Man From Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
This film has the storyline and action scenes not too far similar from other films which have been released over the years. It may not win the award for the most unique or incredibly written story, but this film offers so much more that other films cant. Instead of the usual Hollywood ripping off a great Asian film, its the other way about, but done really well, as to stand up with other films such as Taken it feels like.

The flow of this film is impeccable, and keeps you watching and sucks you right into the storyline. Everything is done tastefully and the characters are developed quite well to help bring you deeper into this film. The artist rendering of this film is amazing, and it boasts some great cinematography throughout the whole duration of the film, showing great care and attention was put into creating this.

No film is without it's slight annoyances or quirky moments, and having one of the characters only talking in english to everyone is kind of weird as it just doesn't feel right to the flow of the film, as no-one else talks in english.

This film is subtitled in english, and it's quite easy after a few minutes to read and watch at the same time.

Overall I found this to be a great film, mainly for its gripping flow and its great look in most shots. The story wasn't bad, but I felt it could of had a little more uniqueness to it, and really been something great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A movie with heart., 21 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Man From Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
The Man from Nowhere is not exactly unique. The premise is a young girl who is kidnapped by drug-dealers/ organ traffickers after her mother get's involved with them. Her neighbor is a mysterious young man who owns a pawnshop and while he doesn't show it to her face, he cares deeply for her and she is his only friend in the world. What follows is a riveting ride featuring the somewhat reluctant main character in his quest to bring back the young girl. The cinematography is superb, as is the acting and the writing. The pace is also good, and we have a nice mix of action and story at the start to make Cha Tae-sik's attachment to the girl believable, the action gets more involved and quicker as we progress. The acting is good, Bin Won is convincing and for a change so are the villains, they aren't over the top comic book evil, they are just criminals, and the big surprise is that Sae-ron Kim manages to play the annoying child character without being annoying, an excellent performance from her as well. The action sequences are well done, violent without being very gory, some elaborate martial arts and some simple brutality. Entertainingly, the movie was beautifully crafted. I was at my seat all throughout enjoying every moment. This comes highly recommended especially if you like Korean action films, even though it has some similarities to some Hollywood films like Leon and Taken, I still thought it was great. Do yourself a favor and check this movie out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant!!, 21 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Man From Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
This is a tremendous action film but with so much more. Its violent, raw, yes and on occasion over the top, its also a very touching film in parts, mainly due to the young girl actress. A film that grips right from the off and does not let go. It pulls no punches in showing the depths that man can sink, not for the faint of heart. Asia as a whole are making some fantastic films and this is one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal and sensitive, 1 Nov 2011
By 
Marko P. Joensuu (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man From Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
Both brutal and sensitive, "The Man from Nowhere" avoids most of the usual 'comedic' stock characters populating the Korean mob cinema, heading toward the territory of tear-jerking drama instead. The flashbacks explaining the pawnshop keeper's extremely violent behavior deviate from the overall style, but aren't enough to sink this film that somehow manages to form a true original out of many utterly formulaic pieces. It's perhaps not a cinematic masterpiece such as "A Bittesweet Life" or "Oldboy" but nevertheless one of the most enjoyable cinematic rides I've seen for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 28 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Man From Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely brilliant. I would have never expected something like this from a Corean movie. The plot is great and it keeps you stuck to the seat all the time, expecting more and more. The soundtrack is good, the 5.1 is really amazing... I never heard so many details before (and it's DVD!!!)

Not recommended for sensitive people though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beats hollywood garbage easily, 6 July 2011
This review is from: The Man From Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent thriller with a plot, great acting, superb cinematography and a very violent ending. Yes it is very influenced by leon, man on fire and taken to name a few but i think it surpasses all those films as it has a better more complex and satisfiying plot. It seems to be that Korea is making some of the best cinema around today so if you want to watch a film instead of the reheated garbage that hollywood turns out give this or any other Korean film a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 19 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: The Man From Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
WOW without a dout a real masterpice of a movie the action the actors even the music is perfect i was blown away its like its say on the cover leon meets taken my first south-korean movie but that dosent matter best movie so far this year buy it rent it wathever just see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 17 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Man From Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
A very violent thriller with superb choreography and fighting!
But wait, it has a story?!
Emotional, compelling and interesting as well?
There is even some good character development in there.
You don't get much better than this!
Watch this and buy this. Plain and simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa896e930)

This product

The Man From Nowhere [DVD]
The Man From Nowhere [DVD] by Lee Jeong-beom (DVD - 2011)
Used & New from: 9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews