Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


334 of 339 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sadness Descending
When Henning Mankel first started writing the Wallander series of novels there was no indication of the eventual success that would be seen in the UK for the differing TV versions being shown.
Of course the BBC's own version starring Kenneth Brannagh is best known and it does indeed have a lot to recommend it. It has the sense to keep things in Sweden and Brannagh...
Published on 22 Feb. 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Ok
I was a little disturbed how the daughter of Wallander can be so experienced to give him advice. He's been on the force for 30 years and she for less than one year. That's where the script fell down and the casting wasn't up to par as the following series of 8-13.
Published 23 months ago by gotart


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice. One episode I found rather tedious but generally strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swedish version fan, 27 Mar. 2011
By 
Finchwood (Isle of Wight, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Has anyone yet answered the question as to whether this is the Swedish version or the Kenneth Branagh one. I too noticed that the picture on the box is the Swedish 'Kurt' yet the review states that it is the English one. Can Amazon please clarify this for potential purchasers. I think the English version is excellent but the Swedish is for me even better. Can anyone put me out of my misery and let me know which this is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
only seen 4 up to now & thoroughly enjoyed them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gripping stuff and worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series. For me, this is the best of the three Wallander series. Less angst-ridden than the Kenneth Branagh version, which was good in its way. This one is a straight police procedural with first rate cast, tight plotting and not too much back story in relation to the crimes to be solved. A lighter touch and better for it. A bit expensive at the normal price but great on offer for £3.50 while it lasted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks like I'll be buying the other box sets as well!, 7 Feb. 2012
By 
O Sampson (Leamington Spa, Warks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
I would definitely agree with the other reviewers that it is great to watch both the investigations unfold and the relationships between the characters develop at the same time. The characters are just so believable both in their acting and appearance. I personally don't care at all about the subtitles although I do understand some Swedish so I suppose I understand why certain words are emphasised better than your average Brit will! If you normally enjoy gritty detective dramas and you want to get a feel for Scandinavian culture then look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Wallander Swedish TV series, 3 Jan. 2012
By 
Mary Ann Brandt (Littleton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
I gave this set to my husband recently and when we sat down to watch just one episode, we couldn't stop until we had seen three. The casting is superb and the filming ideal. Just the right balance between solving an interesting mystery and involvement with the characters. If you like the books, check these out. We'll be buying all the seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed the young Wallander.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Was as expected and arrived promptly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pleased with delivery and item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD]
Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] by Peter Flinth (DVD - 2011)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews