Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


330 of 335 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sadness Descending
When Henning Mankel first started writing the Wallander series of novels there was no indication of the eventual success that would be seen in the UK for the differing TV versions being shown.
Of course the BBC's own version starring Kenneth Brannagh is best known and it does indeed have a lot to recommend it. It has the sense to keep things in Sweden and Brannagh...
Published on 22 Feb 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
good
Published 3 months ago by R


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
only seen 4 up to now & thoroughly enjoyed them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gripping stuff and worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Feb 2012
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series. For me, this is the best of the three Wallander series. Less angst-ridden than the Kenneth Branagh version, which was good in its way. This one is a straight police procedural with first rate cast, tight plotting and not too much back story in relation to the crimes to be solved. A lighter touch and better for it. A bit expensive at the normal price but great on offer for £3.50 while it lasted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks like I'll be buying the other box sets as well!, 7 Feb 2012
By 
O Sampson (Leamington Spa, Warks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
I would definitely agree with the other reviewers that it is great to watch both the investigations unfold and the relationships between the characters develop at the same time. The characters are just so believable both in their acting and appearance. I personally don't care at all about the subtitles although I do understand some Swedish so I suppose I understand why certain words are emphasised better than your average Brit will! If you normally enjoy gritty detective dramas and you want to get a feel for Scandinavian culture then look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Wallander Swedish TV series, 3 Jan 2012
By 
Mary Ann Brandt (Littleton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
I gave this set to my husband recently and when we sat down to watch just one episode, we couldn't stop until we had seen three. The casting is superb and the filming ideal. Just the right balance between solving an interesting mystery and involvement with the characters. If you like the books, check these out. We'll be buying all the seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Was as expected and arrived promptly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pleased with delivery and item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but overtaken, 7 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyable watch but not up to the standard of Killing, Bridge and Borgen. Sometimes the unlikelihood of the plots show a bit. But still worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Excellent!, 27 July 2011
By 
L. Lucas "llucas1" (Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the Swedish series, and has English subtitles. It is excellent and in my opinion far superior to the English version. Very good stories. It is more like the books in some respects, too. Cannot fault it except for the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent albeit expensive series, 12 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Hats off to the Swedes!
Just finished watching this series and think it superior to the "English" version. My only complaint is the cost of the DVD. When I began considering buying the Swedish version of the series a couple of months ago the costs were ridiculous as only one or two episodes were compiled on each DVD package. So I'm happy they've begun to consolidate greater numbers of episodes into one collection--this one is the first seven episodes. The next set of episodes is supposed to release in late July. Although it will cost about $60 it is still preferable to paying about $50 for two or three episodes at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD]
Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] by Peter Flinth (DVD - 2011)
£35.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews