Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


335 of 340 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sadness Descending
When Henning Mankel first started writing the Wallander series of novels there was no indication of the eventual success that would be seen in the UK for the differing TV versions being shown.
Of course the BBC's own version starring Kenneth Brannagh is best known and it does indeed have a lot to recommend it. It has the sense to keep things in Sweden and Brannagh...
Published on 22 Feb. 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
We didn't enjoy this as much as the Bridge or Borgen - more gore and violence
Published 6 days ago by HJ


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

335 of 340 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sadness Descending, 22 Feb. 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
When Henning Mankel first started writing the Wallander series of novels there was no indication of the eventual success that would be seen in the UK for the differing TV versions being shown.
Of course the BBC's own version starring Kenneth Brannagh is best known and it does indeed have a lot to recommend it. It has the sense to keep things in Sweden and Brannagh himself lends a suitably melancholic air to the hapless Kurt.
The original Kurt was played in great fashion by Rolf Lassgard as a lovable, hopeless oaf who shambled about with little regard for those about him, a quick temper and a sharp eye for detail.
The version of Wallander in this box set is, for me anyway, far and away the best. Krister Henriksson plays Kurt, not as a man completely lost, but rather as a man whose life has ground him down gradually over the years until the accumulation of his daughters teenage suicide attempt, his wifes desertion, his difficult father and guilt over a killing early into his career have finally left him exhausted and bewildered.
Alongside him is his daughter Linda, her boyfriend and the various characters who appear every series.
This is not a series for those looking for an easy and light hearted police procedural. Whereas the BBC's effort see's washed out primary blue's and yellow's splashed about the screen this see's a palette of brown & grey that rises from the flat, endless farmland towards glowering skies, clouded and heavy with rain.
Ystad is a grim town almost always buried by winter and fighting a losing battle with a darkness that prevails both physically and mentally.
The crimes are horrid, grisly and are always the result of tawdry and sad events that could have been avoided.
While Henriksson's Kurt is rightly lauded by those who love this version it is surely Johanna Sallstrom's work as Kurt's daughter Linda that is the pivot upon which this version moves so well.
Sallstrom is almost effortless in her depiction of a woman fighting to be accepted in her own right as a detective but always desperately hoping for the warmth and affection from a father who simply cannot deliver. Her past hangs over her and as she fumbles a relationship with a difficult colleague/ boyfriend you always feel she is close to breaking.
That Sallstrom took her own life in 2007 following a losing battle with depression just deepens the feeling of sadness. Certainly this is a worthy tribute to an actress whose work in these 7 episodes is a testimony to talent & depth of feeling.
The box set contains the first 7 episodes of the first series: `Before the frost', `The village idiot','The brothers','The overdose','The African','Mastermind' &'The tricksters'.
It's presented in anamorphic widescreen with removable English subtitles. I don't know if there will be any extra's.
There isn't a poor episode here,(I haven't seen a bad one in any of them frankly), and the length of time for each one allows for excellent development and characterisation.
The pace is perfect and as you begin to see more & more episodes the moments of introspection build up an understanding of each person's life and draws the watcher in deeper.
The acting is excellent throughout from the main characters clear through to the actors appearing for the briefest moments.
There are many excellent police drama's out there and even the other versions of Wallander are well worthy of your time but this is, for me, the best there is.
Bleak, thoughtful and beset by sadness throughout.
Outstanding, moving and recommended with no hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wallander is up there with the best!, 30 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Wallander is consummately Swedish, which is why the attempt to give the role to a non-swedish actor in some recent editions failed so completely. He is morose, hopeless with relationships, but honest to a 'T', and with a huge heart and soul more or less in the right place. The plots are also usually excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great series, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
I found this and all the later box sets of Krister H Wallander watchable and enjoyable. I have read the books and I have found this series to be more consistently enjoyable than some of the books. Others have said Krister is not the Wallander of the books, but then the Wallander of the books would probably be hard to endure for all these episodes. Although I am aware of them I have not seen either of the other versions of Wallander and I am not particularly tempted to.

Having watched all the 26 episodes available (all boxsets) I can recall one episode that I thought was noticeably below par, an outlier, and that is where they tried to write something around Michael Nyqvist, who is great in the Millenium Trilogy but sucks in that episode (it wont surprise me if that is the favourite episode of many people), also another where Wallander suddenly goes Navy Seal. Those episodes were still better than a lot of other tv.

The supporting characters are also very strong. There are a couple of characters who are pretty consistent with the book and they are well cast. Some of the trainee, passing through, characters are also great with good character development (obviously some of the things people get away with and still stay as police stretch credibility, but with this number of episodes that was inevitable).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top watch, 7 Sept. 2011
By 
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Well what can I say. Wallender is the most gripping thing on tv next to The Killing. I love the cosy character of Wallender, played with a lot of depth. His character is "normal" and like us, flawed. He is the sort of person you look up to, honest, determined, clever and a decent bloke. The writing is excellent, pacing just right as is the film direction. I was surprised as I am a latecomer to Wallender and wanted to catch up with all the early stuff. I was amazed he had a daughter in the first one and I never did work out what happened to his wife or maybe I wasn't listening well enough. I think I prefer the later stuff as the actor had clearly developed the character and worked out Wallender as a complete person. I also love the later frisson between him and his prosecutor boss in the later series which is cleverly ongoing but never quite getting there. Long may it continue that way. I found his sexual connection to the woman in the first 1 - 7 series a bit offputting. I suppose because in the episodes I have watched nothing has ever happened. He is the sort of character you fantasise about inviting back for a drink and a chat. You know there is a lot there. I am devastated to hear the actor wont do another series but all good things come to an end. Dont miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO, SO "NATURAL", 8 Oct. 2011
By 
K. Munns "wednesday16" (ISLE of WIGHT UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
I just am so impressed with ALL the wonderful Scandanavian thrillers that are recently being shown on our UK television.

They are so intelligent in content, letting us,the viewers really "think" about all aspects of the stories,not merely the "whodunnit" but as to the personal lives and emotions of all involved.

Even more impressive is the fact that all lead roles are not typical "hunks" in the male actors or absolute "beauties" in the female ones.

All are utterly believable and are "real" inasmuch as they are just as you might find in any community......natural and undoctored.

The Swedes,Danes etc are renowned for their blonde,fair beauty,especially in youth but these great performances show that age can still hold it all in an entirely different,mature way with something rather deeper simply borne of age......just as in any country in fact.

Perceived beauty in ANY country eventually fades but great drama never will...and in any case,true beauty is subjective and how many now recognise the "older woman" as being someone rather special?....(Helen Mirren; Judi Dench et al?)

Well----Wallander certainly isn't seeking some naive young thing,lol!

This very fact,the believability in the hope of a lonely man seeking mature love,striving for deeper understanding with his heart's desire, a thinking woman with a wistfulness about her, whilst at the same time solving the most awful of crimes means that the entire series of Wallander is something very special.

No great wonder that the Danish thrillers are taking the UK by storm......Wallander is merely one such grest and I'm collecting all that I can of them just now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Krister is the best version of Wallander, 12 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Krister Henriksson is the best version of Wallander on TV, these are gritty and realistic without reviling in it. The pain and the suffering resulting from the crimes are not overly sanitised, and the police are just human beings trying to make the world a safer place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty Scandinavian crime at its best, 25 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
The true Scandinavian crime classic for me. Am very much enjoying The Killing at the moment which is quite similar. This should not be amiss in any serious crime thriller collection...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wallander Collected Films 1-7 Box Set (DVD), 11 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
I can reveal to you that inside my Wallander box set i found a leaflet advertising 3 more box sets to come. From the leaflet it is safe to assume that box set 2 will contain the rest of series 1 while series 2 will be split over box sets 3 & 4. The packaging for the DVD's is excellent and will fit nicely upon any would be shelf. Future box sets carry similar cover themes with different colour combinations. Anyone who purchase's this box set can expect the rest to be released to complete the set. Date of relese is unknown at time of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All good!, 9 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
all good. delivery on time. product fine and as expected. no hassle. recommended supplier and product. no problems at all. And Krister is making another 6 episodes in 2013!!! What could be better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Wallander (volume 1, films 1-7), 20 Jan. 2015
By 
CrocodileStu (Oxfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For my money Krister Henriksson is the definitive 'Kurt Wallander'. Sure, there's that other guy Lars and even the english guy Kenneth Brannagh, but neither beats Krister who makes this role exclusively his own from the first to the very last (32nd) story.
Dealing with this volume, the first 7 films, we become gradually acquainted with Wallander as he tries very hard to do his best Columbo tribute impression amid the conflicts he engenders with his work colleagues and daughter. Throw in a few clumsy seduction attempts, the odd bottle of booze (one too many on occasions) and the viewer might well think he is never going to solve the crime.
This is Nordic Noir at its very best and I recommend it to everyone who wants a flawed but brilliant detective to follow. Even better the sub-titles add to the quality of the scenes we get to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD]
Wallander - Collected Films 1-7 [DVD] by Peter Flinth (DVD - 2011)
£33.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews