Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The good the bad and the ugly
The bad: -

This camera works o.k. at its native (VGA) resolution; all other resolutions are upscaled and not native giving poor results. The cigarette lighter connector did not work reliably in my 2007 Zafira... changing the language from Chinese (default) to English was not intuitive, the camera snap mode is not worth a light.

Camera does not switch...
Published on 10 Jun. 2011 by Mr. David T. Holbon

versus
34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The good, the bad, and the fuzzy
I was initially very happy with this recorder. Wow! an in-car camcorder that will record for days at a time without any attention at all.

Problem 1. The internal rechargeable battery packed in after a week. I was initially happy with the battery failing because it meant that I didnt have to switch the camera off manually when I shut the engine off. But the...
Published on 19 Sept. 2011 by Ka'Ching


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broken, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: massG® In-Car Mini HD DVR VCR Camera Recorder (Electronics)
The unit was small and light but did not work. I could not get the memory card to lock in place and I could not charge the camera from the car as the lead did not work. Cheap, yes but it has to work whatever the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars vehicle camera, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: massG® In-Car Mini HD DVR VCR Camera Recorder (Electronics)
I like these gadgets very much unfortunately they don't last very long before the screens go I've had 4 of these now and they all loose there screen when the sun shines on them it does not come back this is perminant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Value Item, 6 Jun. 2011
By 
This review is from: massG® In-Car Mini HD DVR VCR Camera Recorder (Electronics)
This DVR is very easy to set up and use, but I find that it benefits from secondary lighting to capture images of the vehicle interior in low light situations, although it does produce decent quality of exterior shots in low level light conditions. It also allows you to review the recorded images on the screen and allows you to delete etc.which helps to maximise the sd card storage. The supplied mount is good quality and has never come unstuck,.Also, the cable should be long enough for most situations.Quite a few folk have been impressed in this DVR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars i read the instructions that came with it fairly easy to read and understand hooked up in the car ..., 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: massG® In-Car Mini HD DVR VCR Camera Recorder (Electronics)
this gadget arrived well in its time a very fast service, i read the instructions that came with it fairly easy to read and understand
hooked up in the car it worked straight away only trouble all the writing on screen was in Chinese,
so i tried to alter this by doing what it said in the instruction pamphlet, but it would not work any more when i plugged it back in
as it was cheap i did not use it again so the moral of this not to buy cheaply and buy from a reputable dealer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's pretty good for the price, 12 Aug. 2014
This review is from: massG® In-Car Mini HD DVR VCR Camera Recorder (Electronics)
It's pretty good for the price. Not HD quality and can't make out reg plates in case you wan't to report drivers.
The set up is pretty simple when you get used to the buttons. LCD viewer is decent enough. The holder is good, but not great.
Not tried it in the dark on the road, but I did test it in the house in the dark and wasn't very good. Very grainy.
It is a good value for using during the day.
I will continue to use it for now but might upgrade to a better one soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In car camera., 10 Dec. 2011
This review is from: massG® In-Car Mini HD DVR VCR Camera Recorder (Electronics)
The camera gives good reproduction on my computer when I view the files on the memory card, but I still cannot get it off the 'two minute' recording mode. The instructions suggest a course of action to set the different timed recording modes and the Date and Time - none of which I have been able to change. So, whilst the camera is useful the instructions aren't. If you don't mind the two minute recorded files and the fact that the date and time can't be set then it's a satisfactory tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not to bad for the money, 9 July 2012
By 
Jimbo (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: massG® In-Car Mini HD DVR VCR Camera Recorder (Electronics)
Most thing said about this little cam are true but as I only paid less than £20 for mine I am very pleased with it. Only worth useing in VGA mode as other modes caused frame dropouts on the class 2 card I am useing but video is accepable in VGA so not a problem. Menu navigation takes a while to get used to but OK when you are familiar with it. Windscreen mount is one of the best I have used, very small and works very well. All i all well worth £20.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it should be, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: massG® In-Car Mini HD DVR VCR Camera Recorder (Electronics)
I thought this was the same unit that I have bought before, but it's not. When the memory card is full, it just stops instead of rolling over the old footage. I am still trying to work out how it likes to be reset, as it is not just one action that seems to set it going again, other than taking out the card an manually erasing it on a PC. It is of course very cheap, but that does not mean it should be so troublesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Manual not clear, 16 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. G. Martin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: massG® In-Car Mini HD DVR VCR Camera Recorder (Electronics)
Manufacturers support very good, faulty unit replaced very quickly. have not used it as yet, waiting for better weather.
picture quality good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neat gadget with a few drawbacks, 7 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: massG® In-Car Mini HD DVR VCR Camera Recorder (Electronics)
I very much like the idea of this gadget and it has some good points. Once you get over the puzzle as to how to change the menus from Chinese to English it's quite neat and compact. Unlike any other low-cost spy cameras it has a good small screen which can be flipped out of the way so as not to get distracted while driving (yes, it still records quite happily with screen folded away). Mounting in a car is not as good as it could be due to lack of quick release clip to remove it easily when not in use. The fag of taking of the suction cap and replacing it each time is too much hassle.

The quality of the sound recording is pretty poor as it attracts electrical noise in the car so for all practical purposes sound is unusable and I have turned it off when recording. As someone else has said the resolution isn't what you expect when recording higher than vga. On the highest resolution it is all but impossible to discern details like car number plates. Unbelievably I found that at the highest resolution it eats up SD card capacity at an alarming rate - I've found it swallows around 4 GB per hour.

Unlike others have reported I haven't found the changeover from one file to the next takes very long at all - I lose around 2 seconds each time. The 15 minute (maximum) recording shot works fine for me. Admittedly I always clear the card before each journey and it may be this helps rather than the device having to overwrite a file itself. Due to the way it guzzles storage I'll probably reset it to vga as I'm not convinced that at the higher resolutions it gains anything in definition.

Potentially it doubles up as a handheld spy camera although I have no idea how long it will last on a full battery charge when used this way. It does feature an optional "motion detect" mode which may help to prolong battery life when used for surveillance. I tried "motion detect" when mounted in the car but didn't like the results in-car.

I'm looking for a small battery-operated spy camera for surveillance of an area subject to vandalism and am wondering if this will fit the bill. It seems to be the only one of its kind on Amazon that features "motion detect" but I am apprehensive about battery life. I would be interested if anyone has used this device on internal battery only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews