Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, otherworldly stuff - synthy beats, ethereal vocals
Excellent LP from Grimes, in many ways her best. It's more experimental, more expansive and melodic than Visions and Geidi Primes. Lots of synths, and some of the standout tracks spotlight unusual instruments, surreal Enya-like vocals, and not quite recognisable lyrics. Some pop ditties here, but not as dominates Visions. Reminds one of Area, The Knife, Broadcast,...
Published on 24 May 2012 by Avg Joe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Woop
Grimes is amazing! I bought this album having not heard any of it before, only hearing her more recent stuff. This album is a bit harder to get in to as it's not as 'pop' as visions. It is worth getting if you like Grimes though, with some interesting bits. Plus she did all the cover artwork and it's incredible!
Published 19 months ago by Camilla


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, otherworldly stuff - synthy beats, ethereal vocals, 24 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Halfaxa (Audio CD)
Excellent LP from Grimes, in many ways her best. It's more experimental, more expansive and melodic than Visions and Geidi Primes. Lots of synths, and some of the standout tracks spotlight unusual instruments, surreal Enya-like vocals, and not quite recognisable lyrics. Some pop ditties here, but not as dominates Visions. Reminds one of Area, The Knife, Broadcast, Hex, Lykke Li, Cocteau Twins, Kate Bush.

Great for chillout, low key nights with others, and as artmuseum spaceout.
Best tracks: dream fortress, sagrad, world princess, my sister. Definitely recommended, and repays repeated listens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Witchy Goings On, 26 Jun 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Halfaxa (Audio CD)
One more electro-princess in the tower? Yeah why not! This time a Canadian.
Grimes (aka Claire Boucher) turns in a pretty decent set with 'Halfaxa'.
Even though it's largely impossible to understand what she's singing about
she creates a mood (mostly one cast in shades of grey) and isn't afraid to
run with it. Her half-heard shadowy vocals weave in and out of, or hover
over, fairly simple rhythmic arrangements draped with layers of spooky synth
and spectral harmonies. The voice is continuously swathed in a shroud of reverb
so it's actually quite difficult to ascertain her true technical capabilities.
Sometimes high, sometimes low but always with her indistinct diction stroking
rather than striking the words, she must at least be admired for her determination
to keep meaning and lucidity at arms' length. Despite her wilful obscurantism
I seem to be growing quite fond of it in a give-the-girl-a-chance kind of way!

It is impossible to listen to these sixteen tracks without being aware of
the mark that Kate Bush has made on Ms Boucher's muse. It's the high floaty
notes which do it I guess and there are an awful lot of them to contend with.
Sometimes they float ethereally in the air like wind-sprites (the woods around
these parts are full of the pesky things!) as they do in the rather lovely 'rask'
and at others getting quite frisky in an almost dance-friendly kind of way on a
track like 'sagrad *pekpaCH***' (approx - sorry I don't have the relevant font
to ellucidate further!) which, following a pedestrian introduction, settles
down into a nicely spirited groove. Elsewhere, as with the splendidly mordant
'world princess', she dumps the rule book completely and dives off into hippie
hinterland with brave abandon. It truly is a strangely discombobulating sonic
experience with its mad-as-a-march-hare vocal harmonies and occasional but
equally disconcerting whistles (think Clangers!) and scratches. Totally loopy
but curiously engaging nonetheless! Kind-of queasy in a good way.
'My Sister Says The Saddest Things' might have made more sense if we could
comprehend what exactly her sister had said but the dark mood of the piece
may well be an indication that relationships were sometimes fraught in the
Boucher household! 'Devon' on the other hand is almost frisky in comparison;
a sort-of cha-cha-heels-Enya-meets-spaghetti-western confection (sorry it's
about as close as I can get by way of explanation!) which turns out to be one
of the album's most accessible compositions. 'Hallways' is chock-full of pixies
up to no good as pixies are wont to and final track 'Favriel' creates
an entirely new genre out of thin air. Let's just call it 'Witch Skiffle'!

Full marks for uncompromising weirdness. Ms Boucher may well be one to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Woop, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halfaxa (Audio CD)
Grimes is amazing! I bought this album having not heard any of it before, only hearing her more recent stuff. This album is a bit harder to get in to as it's not as 'pop' as visions. It is worth getting if you like Grimes though, with some interesting bits. Plus she did all the cover artwork and it's incredible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great balance of credible innovation and pop, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halfaxa (Audio CD)
Her strongest album, a great balance of credible innovation and pop nous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halfaxa (Audio CD)
Fabulous album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars grimes albums, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halfaxa (Audio CD)
I wanted to listen Grimes and get an album, i got 3 albums together in an Amazon deal, and now i have loads of music to listen to. I am an artist and i love to paint to this music, love it. The seller was fine too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halfaxa
Halfaxa by Grimes
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews