Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars33
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2013
This is a very nice watch, and looks a lot nicer than the image shown.
Had it for few weeks now and the time keeping is spot on.
Suits casual and smart clothes, the design won't date or go out of fashion.
review image
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
This Rotary Moonphase watch looks far, far better in real life than on the internet. This is because the stainless steel case when on your wrist has a high-end shine not seen in the online picture and the stiched brown leather strap is of high quality with a matt (rather than shiny) finish, with Rotary stainless steel clasp in the shape of the Rotary emblem.
This watch is no Argos-style, entry-level Rotary and really is an exceptionally eye-catching piece of proper jewellery because of the quality finish and the intricately designed dial. It truly looks as good as watches 3 or even 5 times the price and easily out-classes anything in its price point (even its full retail price).
I feel that real design flair and thought has been put into the dial, from the classic black roman numerals on white dial background, to the old fashioned second, minute and hour hands with their traditional see-through circle-and-pointer end sections, to the flash of colour of the Moonphase itself.
Two special design surprises await the wearer, so please skip this paragraph if you don't want to know! Surprise number 1) is that the hands directly from above look like they are black but in fact, when caught by the light from the side are actually blue! Surprise number 2) is that the day, date and month circular inlays have an imaginative, grooved stainless steel surround which catches the light and reflects it around the inlays as you tilt the watch in the light. You will never stop wanting to look at this watch - it is beautiful but yet at the same time masculine.
The watch's main strength is that it borrows from both Rolex and Omega designs but somehow still stands up as it's own tradtional yet-modern design. This particular watch isn't one of the new-breed Rotary look-alike watches; it is a Rotary design unto itself and as such is a proper piece of jewellery.
Overall, the watch fits into the fairly chunky, modern weighting, meaning that it is not slimline. It feels of good quality but not too chunky; just right. On the reverse the timepiece says "Rotary" and has an engraved decal/stamp of the world which is a nice touch. Oh, and it is waterproof too.
Battery operation shoulds mean around 3years of no hassle timekeeping and it is quartz-accurate to about 0.5secs per day;10 times more accurate than a mechanical watch. An explanation on the life-time warranty (sign up online for this) was included in the box as were watch instructions which were necessary to explain how to navigate the numerous settings in order to syncronise, time, day, date, month and moonphase dials: - just remember that the main setter is a screw-out not pull-out style crown.
Really highly recommended, looks and feels way more expensive than it is.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2016
This is an excellent watch, has a quality feel and looks great. I must however point out that the current picture of the watch needs updating. Rotary must have brought out an updated version as there several distinct differences some for the better and some not. Don’t let this put you off as overall I think the newer version is better. This really is a lovely watch. The only slight negative for some people would be the fact the numbers on the small dials are very small and may be hard for some to read. I personally don’t find it a problem. Also of note, the watch did come with full instructions.
1) the three hands on the small date, month and day of the week dials are in fact the same metallic blue as the second, minute and hour hand, not silver as in the picture. This in my opinion is an improvement and makes the smaller dials stand out more.
2) The tiny writing at the bottom of the dial now reads 'Established in 1895' rather than 'Est Switzerland 1895'. This in my opinion is also an improvement as being established in Switzerland is nothing to boast about as the watches are no longer made there, it seems Rotary are proud of the brand in its own right now and don’t need to claim a tenuous link to another country.
3)The date dial now lists the odd numbers with the evens missed out, this is opposite to the watch in the picture. This is not an improvement in my opinion as it somehow makes the dial more cluttered, with 31 and 1 squashed up against each other almost looking like 311.
4) Another negative in my opinion, the old version had an image of a map of the world on the reverse of the watch, the new version does not. This is not illustrated in the offical pictures above.
5) It may just be the light in the current picture, but on the moonphase dial the moon is a subtle gold, not yellow and looks much better than in the picture.
6) Unlike in the official picture the second hand is the same colour as the hour and minute hands, they look black in some lights but in direct light they are a dark metallic blue and look great.
I have attached a picture for comparison to the offical image.
review image
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Good looking watch.Easy to read and set.Complication watches are more useful tha chronometers.Ilike the moon phase.It is a great buy.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
The watch is fabulous
also comes with lifetime warranty
On offer at the moment grab yourself
A quality bargain today .I highly recommend this item
10 stars
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2012
beautiful watch of very high quality and a reasonable price. sadly I bought it for a present instead than for myself...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
Although I didn't get my watch from amazon I am going to say buy this watch it is beautiful and I am 100% happy with it and also rotary customer service is top notch as I brought a rotary automatic from eBay for £69 in the sale button unfortunately it broke and got stuffed away in a draw then recently found so I sent the broken watch to rotary and they offered to fix it for free. But i found out it would be a lengthy wait for parts so I was offered a replacement for the retail value of my broken watch which was £169 so I now have this watch and I am amazed at how nice and helpful the staff were at rotary head office and service centre.
So buy a rotary watch because the watches are beautiful and the service is amazing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Im very pleased with my purchase of this watch. It arrived very quickly and in perfect condition. The watch is finished to a very high standard with superb details on the watch face, blued hands, moon phase dial, lovely brown strap and looks much more expensive than its price suggests. Its not bulky on the wrist and its classic looks make it an ideal dress watch.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
This is my second Rotary - they keep good time which is essential but also they look good on the wrist - a good watch should also give you a good feeling when you look at it!

I would recommend Rotary watches for their design and timekeeping and this one ticks all the right boxes
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
This is one buy I would have not missed because of style and price, the quality and looks are fantastic, I would highly recommend it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)