Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sublime music
This CD is an exquisite selection of beautifully performed and recorded compositions by John Tavener.
His music is inspiring. Choral music as well as instrumental features, with a particularly glorious use of the cello, played by Steven Isserlis for whom it was actually written.
Fantastic value for money....................just buy it!
Published 9 months ago by Mrs. R. M. Davies

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New to me!
I wanted to be introduced to Tavener's work ,and to be honest I think I would be better listening to a complete work rather than these selected pieces.However the reproduction was fine,clear and crisp.
Published 13 months ago by DH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sublime music, 15 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. R. M. Davies (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD is an exquisite selection of beautifully performed and recorded compositions by John Tavener.
His music is inspiring. Choral music as well as instrumental features, with a particularly glorious use of the cello, played by Steven Isserlis for whom it was actually written.
Fantastic value for money....................just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely., 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Underrated composer and died far too early. His song for Athena at Diana's funeral is just mind boggling and moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peace!, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Words fail me, to even utter them after hearing this! I have heard Greek Orthodox music in various Churches that are very, very emotive (given the right atmosphere). However, the ethereal atmospheres created by this music, can 'elevate' you in the depths of yourself, given a bit of time to get used to the surrealistic tonalities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb music, 18 Oct 2013
By 
A. L. Gaunt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent recording - but I prefer the version of 'Song for Athene' which uses the organ too- - that's on 'The John Taverner Collection' - it's more atmospheric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Music, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD is just beautiful. If you need time on your own to reflect on life just put your feet up and listen to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tavener Scores, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a sad loss to the world was John Tavener. There is much to love in his music, though there are some 'screeches' I'd rather edit out.

This collection is excellent and I am happy to have his music played by different people and here a range of interpretations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of John Tavener, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of John Tavener (MP3 Download)
This is a good introduction to Tavener's work. I bought it for a friend who didn't know of him at all, hoping to fire off her interest in him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New to me!, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted to be introduced to Tavener's work ,and to be honest I think I would be better listening to a complete work rather than these selected pieces.However the reproduction was fine,clear and crisp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not able to hear, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very low volume - I am sure it would sound great if only I could hear it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just love Taverner's musi8c
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of John Tavener
The Best of John Tavener by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews