Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding
This is without question the best book I've read about the vietnam war, and I have read many. It's an amazing account of a secret war fought in Charlie's back yard where detection often meant death. The descriptions of ambushes, immediate action drills, hot extractions and patrols are so fantastically detailed you can taste the tension. If you have any interest in the...
Published on 8 July 2001

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars an officers perspective
this book is written from a career soldiers perspective and as such, there is not a lot of action. the guy writes long descriptions about individuals he encounters as if to try and pad the book out. he has chapters dedicated to things which are obviously interesting and amusing to himself - such as him aquiring a jeep or a set of diving gear- but nobody else. he tries to...
Published on 25 Jun 2008 by Antony A. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 8 July 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is without question the best book I've read about the vietnam war, and I have read many. It's an amazing account of a secret war fought in Charlie's back yard where detection often meant death. The descriptions of ambushes, immediate action drills, hot extractions and patrols are so fantastically detailed you can taste the tension. If you have any interest in the men who fought in this war you must read this book. The bravery and camaraderie demonstrated by these men is breath taking and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sat down to read it and never made dinner that night!, 3 Sep 1999
By A Customer
I have read a few books on Vietnam, but most were confusing terms and not told like a story. This author makes the different places visited seem more real. He tells it like a story, not a military order. You only want to keep reading and reading, because you like him and his comrades so much. I enjoyed this book as much as some fiction novels I have read. You will close the book feeling like you know the author, and that you were with him. You will think of the chapters for days after. Everyone should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars an officers perspective, 25 Jun 2008
By 
Antony A. Jones "antonyjones6" (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this book is written from a career soldiers perspective and as such, there is not a lot of action. the guy writes long descriptions about individuals he encounters as if to try and pad the book out. he has chapters dedicated to things which are obviously interesting and amusing to himself - such as him aquiring a jeep or a set of diving gear- but nobody else. he tries to make a lot of of what little action he saw.
there are possibly 2 chapters in this book worth reading and i was bored with it. if you want a better acount of the vietnam special operations, from the actual soldiers on the ground read the book SOG you wont be able to put it down. or an alternative, is dear mom the sniper book, although it is not special forces.
overall this book is ok for passing the time if you can get it cheap or second hand but dont pay full price for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Human view of War, 29 Sep 2002
When I bought this book i thought "another book full of military slang, weapon numbers, and macho Gung-ho comaradery".
I was very wrong. This story ofthe 'NAM is portrayed in such a way that it will appeal to the Hardcore military story enthusiasts and to those who aren't.
Its told in story form and every Miltary word is explained as you go.
I would definetley recommend this book to anyone, young or old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous....a great read., 9 Feb 2000
I bought this book based on the other recommendations listed here.
I too found this a great read...gripping and intense yet very thought provoking also.
In the book we get Col. Thom Nicholson's account of life "in country" with Spec. Forces. His experiences are both joyous and sad affairs, the loss of friends and colleagues alike seem to age the writer (in the book) beyond his years...and he is left with a deep routed sense of wrong for the Vietnam war.
Excellently written, I'd recommend (and have done) this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sog Tour, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 15 Months in SOG: A Warrior's Tour (Kindle Edition)
read a lot of Vietnam stories,think everyone who has ever served there has written an account'
This is one of the best.recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book writen from a different angle, 4 Jan 2012
I found this book fantastic. I have read well over fifty Vietnam war books and I found this one of the best. It is written from the perspective off an officer, because guess what, he was one. However, this officer was obviously in combat and not in a staff officer role. His observations were excellent and this is not a gung ho and 'i'm so tuff book'. The author shows that he is a human being and is sensative as such. This book is well worth a read and I adivise anyone interested in this era to try it, you will not be disapointed. This book explains a lot about a very secret war and how it was fought. Well done Mr Nicolson, you should be very proud of yourself. Not only of the service you provided your country, but for a well written and well thought out book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good...But not the best, 20 Jun 2008
By 
The book flowed really well, and there was one or two interesting bits like when he had to (begrudgingly) try out the tree top base, and i was surprised at his honesty as he felt responsible (and kind of was) for at least two of his own peoples deaths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a gripping true account of a real American hero, 17 Aug 1999
By A Customer
Read this true story of one of Americas real heroes from the Vietnam war. The author served in the Studies & Observation Group, or SOG. It was one of the most secretive units and performed the hairiest missions all over Southeast Asia. A great read telling the tales of a few men in the enemies backyard. I collect special operations books and I highly recommend this story of courage, honor and duty to our country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, up-close first person account of Viet Nam war, 23 July 1999
By A Customer
Five Stars!!! Up close and personal. Not since reading SLA Marshall's books have I read anything so up close to the individual soldier. The big difference is Marshall just wrote about it. Nicholson did it and than had the ability to write about it. I hope the rest of his life experiences are as compelling and he chooses to write about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2f31cc0)

This product

15 Months in SOG: A Warrior's Tour
2.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews