Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect confidence-boosting book!
I absolutely loved this book - another in the excellent 'for dummies' series.
I read 'Cognitive Behavourial Therapy for Dummies' last year (by the same authors), and this is every bit as good.

Lots of useful tips and exercises to improve that all-important self-esteem, and maintaining it at a healthy level. If your self-esteem is flagging a bit (as it can...
Published on 22 April 2011 by Steve Cann

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but a lot of negative instructions
Although the book is well-structured and quite well-written, the authors assume, at points, an almost patronising tone of voice in addressing readers; à la: 'You, those people with intolerably low self-esteem, should stop having negative thoughts and not see yourself as defined by those negative thoughts'. Firstly, there's something unbearable about self-help book...
Published 19 months ago by MK


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect confidence-boosting book!, 22 April 2011
By 
I absolutely loved this book - another in the excellent 'for dummies' series.
I read 'Cognitive Behavourial Therapy for Dummies' last year (by the same authors), and this is every bit as good.

Lots of useful tips and exercises to improve that all-important self-esteem, and maintaining it at a healthy level. If your self-esteem is flagging a bit (as it can for all of us sometimes), this book can really plug you back in and steer you onto a more positive, helpful and happier path. I experienced positive benefits almost immediately after I'd picked this book up, which says a great deal!

I've learnt now not to be so tough on myself, give myself some recognition for my achievements and uniqueness, and how good it feels if I can benefit others too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true gem for anyone that needs to work on their self-esteem and not only!, 1 April 2010
Everyone will benefit from reading this book. It is absolutely packed with techniques and great ideas around how can someone boost their self-esteem and feel great about themselves! It is also witty and funny - definitely not a boring read! Buy this book and never look back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and easy to follow, 20 Dec 2013
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A well written book with useful tips to help you boost your self esteem with many salient and relevant points to ponder over and hopefully put into practice to enable you to feel better about yourself. One of the better books on the subject that's important to all of us. It stops you from being a doormat and makes you much happier when you realise that speaking your mind doesn't hurt and can make you a lot more popular into the bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but a lot of negative instructions, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although the book is well-structured and quite well-written, the authors assume, at points, an almost patronising tone of voice in addressing readers; à la: 'You, those people with intolerably low self-esteem, should stop having negative thoughts and not see yourself as defined by those negative thoughts'. Firstly, there's something unbearable about self-help book authors who are above it all. Secondly, there are a lot of descriptions of negativity and negative instructions ('don't do...') for a book that seeks to promote calm objectivity/positivity. (Susan Jeffers' books, on the other hand, are brilliant for their positive instructions and positive thinking guides that shape her language and texts.) Paradoxically, the reader can often feel boxed as 'low self-esteem person' per se, not as a multi-faceted person with one difficult area they want to work on - which is, after all, a way of looking at oneself that the authors are trying to promote! In my eyes, they don't achieve this because of their belittling doctor-patient approach and negative tone. I wouldn't necessarily recommend this book to readers who still have a hint of self-confidence/esteem left or want to feel uplifted - not down - after reading a chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading!, 19 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone who believes that the most crippling emotion that we all suffer from is lack of self esteem, I was delighted to discover this book on Amazon having by chance bought first a copy of a Dummy's Guide to NLP. I then bought the Dummy's Guide to Positive Psychology, but cut that short to read the D G to Boosting Self Esteem. I know it sounds OTT, but I really feel that if you only read one book in your life it should be this book! From cover to cover! It is a fantastic self help manual to living and thinking, and I cannot recommend it highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to "for Dummies", 13 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't know how good an expert would rate this book but as a layman it seems ideal. I got it for my niece who had been given some pamphlets on improving her self-esteem by an NHS specialist. She finds the pamphlets unreadable but this book should be ideal. It says what to read if you just want to read little bits; it even tells you what the index is for. On the other hand I started reading it from cover to cover and found it very well laid out - so well that I will finish reading it when my niece finds her inner strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book & would definitely recommend it. I know it's not a very encouraging title what with saying it's for dummies but it really is a very helpful book & has great exercises too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived next day, in perfect condition. I'm a big fan of the 'for Dummies' range, always clear and concise and very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite a detailed book, 27 Jan 2013
By 
J. Ashdown "Jezz" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a good read full of exercises, but sometimes boosting self-esteem is a personal thing so they dont work for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boosting Self-Esteem For Dummies
9.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews