Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars21
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2012
This novel is truly wonderful, if rather doomladen. It had been a few years since I last read it and so I began again with the real joy of anticipated pleasure and I was not disappointed.

The product however contains a number of typographical errors which I find particularly annoying. Others might not.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
For someone reading Dickens for the first time one of the other books would be better eg Bleak House. The main story line is a bit limited , and Mr Dombey's character so flawed as to be hardly credible likewise the character of his second wife Edith.
But some of the secondary characters such as Captain Cottle, and some of the scenes depicted are brilliantly done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
Dickens at his best. Dickens is an all round story teller. Well drawn characters. Good description of scenes and situations so that the readers imagination is stimulated and places the reader in the centre of things..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
Having read this book at school and seen the BBC production I have now re-read the book. I enjoyed it much more than the TV production. I think it was one his earlier works and it seems evident in the style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
My favourite Dickens; it is a little poignant for some and, as so often in Dickens, a wasted or used life. But the characters, particularly Captain Cuttle, and the hubris of Dombey, make for a great tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2012
I am very much enjoying this book even though the English is of its Time.It can still teach us a lot about love and being wrapped up in one`s self.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
This is one of the great classic books of the english language presented in a way that pays tribte to the great author and this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Another first-rate novel from the legendary Charles Dickens. This one really captures the essence of story-telling!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
A little too sentimental but a lovely tale with memorable characters like all Dicken's novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
Bought the kindle version via whispernet ... Really brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse