Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doomby and Son, 10 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dombey and Son: Premium Edition (Unabridged, Illustrated, Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
This novel is truly wonderful, if rather doomladen. It had been a few years since I last read it and so I began again with the real joy of anticipated pleasure and I was not disappointed.

The product however contains a number of typographical errors which I find particularly annoying. Others might not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It has many excellent features and some outstanding characters and episodes but is not his best, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dombey and Son: Premium Edition (Unabridged, Illustrated, Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
For someone reading Dickens for the first time one of the other books would be better eg Bleak House. The main story line is a bit limited , and Mr Dombey's character so flawed as to be hardly credible likewise the character of his second wife Edith.
But some of the secondary characters such as Captain Cottle, and some of the scenes depicted are brilliantly done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looks great., 17 Feb. 2013
By 
James H. Harris (Southport UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dombey and Son: Premium Edition (Unabridged, Illustrated, Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
Dombey and Son is for the serious reader - it is different from the other Dickens novels - have not yet had time to read it through but having read it previously I know what to expect - it being unabridged - it looks great and is everything I had hoped for - in short delighted !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If children need a reason to read books again parents should try this., 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dombey and Son: Premium Edition (Unabridged, Illustrated, Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
Dickens at his best. Dickens is an all round story teller. Well drawn characters. Good description of scenes and situations so that the readers imagination is stimulated and places the reader in the centre of things..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Re- reading Dickens, 26 Aug. 2012
By 
D. R. Godwin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dombey and Son: Premium Edition (Unabridged, Illustrated, Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
Having read this book at school and seen the BBC production I have now re-read the book. I enjoyed it much more than the TV production. I think it was one his earlier works and it seems evident in the style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More wonderful characters, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dombey and Son: Premium Edition (Unabridged, Illustrated, Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
My favourite Dickens; it is a little poignant for some and, as so often in Dickens, a wasted or used life. But the characters, particularly Captain Cuttle, and the hubris of Dombey, make for a great tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dombey and Son, 20 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. C. T. Evans (Swansea Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dombey and Son: Premium Edition (Unabridged, Illustrated, Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
I am very much enjoying this book even though the English is of its Time.It can still teach us a lot about love and being wrapped up in one`s self.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great classic presented well, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dombey and Son: Premium Edition (Unabridged, Illustrated, Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the great classic books of the english language presented in a way that pays tribte to the great author and this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Charles Dickens, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dombey and Son: Premium Edition (Unabridged, Illustrated, Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
Another first-rate novel from the legendary Charles Dickens. This one really captures the essence of story-telling!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... too sentimental but a lovely tale with memorable characters like all Dicken's novels, 9 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dombey and Son: Premium Edition (Unabridged, Illustrated, Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
A little too sentimental but a lovely tale with memorable characters like all Dicken's novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews