Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb read..........
and very funny in places too.

I love the way Dr. Moody has changed peoples names......hence his Partner is known as Dr. Bodie Aiken, the Practice Manager is known as Mrs. Mona Lotte, a couple who can't wait to see him are known as Mr. and Mrs. Pryor Booking and Phyliss Glass is the local Publican. There are too many in the book to list here but there are some...
Published 21 months ago by Pyewacket

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No view at all
Not as funny as expected. Disjointed, just a series of articles published in a book. Would not list this book under humour.
Published on 19 Feb 2011 by paddie


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb read.........., 28 Mar 2013
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: View From the Surgery (Kindle Edition)
and very funny in places too.

I love the way Dr. Moody has changed peoples names......hence his Partner is known as Dr. Bodie Aiken, the Practice Manager is known as Mrs. Mona Lotte, a couple who can't wait to see him are known as Mr. and Mrs. Pryor Booking and Phyliss Glass is the local Publican. There are too many in the book to list here but there are some even more funnier ones.

This book takes me back to when I remember my G.P., wearing an old tweed coat with patches of leather on the elbows and peering at me myopically over the top of his half moon glasses. There seemed to be more time and compassion in those days when you saw your Doctor. Now you are lucky if you can even see your own Doctor unless you decide you are going to be ill two weeks in advance.

As he says in his book, his time is now taken up more and more with filling in forms, meeting targets and general paperwork.
In some ways it would be good to go back to the old ways but as medical advances see to be made daily perhaps it really isn't.
Ten minutes for a Consultation is not enough..........how can you diagnose someone in that paltry amount of time?

The book is full of anecdotes as Dr. Moody goes through his working day some will make you laugh an some will make you sad but such is the life of a G.P.

I'd recommend this highly whilst snuggled up nice and warm on the settee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harking back to a more gentle time, 19 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. Andrew Thomson (Dunblane) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: View from the Surgery (Paperback)
View from the Surgery
Dr Ken B Moody reminds us of a time in the past when life was more straightforward, more easily dealt with and more gentle. A time when the country doctor would cure all his patients' ills, sometimes with medicine but more often with a simple truth. Spoken well, always gentle and rarely moody.
This book is an excellent collection of infectious and entertaining stories of a retiring country GP. Not focusing on the fussy medical details but reflecting on the laughter in all our lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable bedside reading., 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: View From the Surgery (Kindle Edition)
This is a well-written (if you discount the occasional typo and/or formatting error), informative and honest account of selected cases from a GP's surgery.
Although anyone connected with a surgery will have experienced the full range of peoples' behaviour, this book may (hopefully) help to explain why GPs do what they do, or don't do exactly what some patients 'demand'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The doctor prescribes., 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: View From the Surgery (Kindle Edition)
A very good book with good stories and information. VERY interesting and fun. It's not to be read in one sitting.Read some and put down and come back to savour some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Mistake, 23 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: View From the Surgery (Kindle Edition)
I wrote a review for this and only gave it a three star rating. I was WRONG. I must have been having an off day!! This book is very readable it made me laugh and having worked in a GP's surgery it made me realise that the good and bad are the same in them all and as I recall it was never boring.
The writer captures the personalities of his patients brilliantly and the names he gives them had me in hysterics.
I apologise for my earlier review and hope it didn't put anyone off reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pondering, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: View From the Surgery (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly entertaining down to earth and characters well described .great easy read.as a nurse I feel I already know a few
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So true., 11 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. M. Winch-furness "Mariath" (Cambridge. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: View From the Surgery (Kindle Edition)
Having worked in a surgery for a long time, I can vouch for the authenticity of all these examples. Unless you work with people, you can not guess their approach to illness,or their reactions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable read, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: View From the Surgery (Kindle Edition)
As much as I liked this book it was easy to put down (and pick back up) I really enjoy books like this. It was lovely to read about a no nonsense, down to earth chap who has to deal with some hilarious and sometimes scary patient's.
This book makes you want to be sat across from Dr Ken in a pub having a rousing discussion about anything and everything.
Will be starting the next book tonight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Drier than most, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: View From the Surgery (Kindle Edition)
The author is considerably older than the rest of the doctors who write these sorts of things. That means you get a more reflective tone and slightly formal phrasing. Don't buy this expecting to find detailed descriptions of anonymous people's gynaecological problems. There are other books for that. Buy this one for the resonant experience which comes through as you read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars view from the surgery, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Emrys R. Sparks (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: View From the Surgery (Kindle Edition)
Having worked for the NHS for nearly 30 years, it brings back memories of the strange things people say and do, it also makes you laugh and sometimes nearly cry at the frailty of human life. A very good read from cover to cover, as Dr.Moody portrays everyday life in a surgery.....from the "dragon at the door", to the little old lady that doesn't like to bother the doctor with her acute heart condition as she knows he's a busy man !...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

View From the Surgery
View From the Surgery by Dr Ken B. Moody
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews