Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Introduction to the Sikh Religion
This book is titled "A Very Short Introduction to Sikhism" yet manages to cover all of the main points about Sikhism in an interesting and readable manner. A great strength is its contemporary feel, and its up-to-date references ensure that it becomes more than just another book about religion. Dr Nesbitt demonstrates her detailed knowledge about Sikhism describing the...
Published on 9 Aug 2006 by Mr. Jasjit Singh

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Accurate but insipid
Nesbitt's book has all the positive qualities one associates with the VSI series: it is clear, well-presented, readable and accurate. Just the sort of book Sikhs might think about giving to their non-Sikh friends and colleagues. There's a bit of theology, a touch of culture; politics makes an appearance, as does sociology. All the boxes seem to have been ticked...
Published on 26 Oct 2006 by Sham Singh Atari


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Accurate but insipid, 26 Oct 2006
Nesbitt's book has all the positive qualities one associates with the VSI series: it is clear, well-presented, readable and accurate. Just the sort of book Sikhs might think about giving to their non-Sikh friends and colleagues. There's a bit of theology, a touch of culture; politics makes an appearance, as does sociology. All the boxes seem to have been ticked.

But there's the rub: reading it feels like a box-ticking exercise. Nowhere does the author try to capture the allure of Sikhism. Why would anyone want to be a Sikh? What is it about the faith that its believers find so attractive? What does Sikhi feel like from the inside?

Of course the author can't answer those questions - she is not a Sikh. But she can ask them, both in her capacity as an ethnographer and, as she puts it, an intellectual questioner. One for the second edition perhaps?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Introduction to the Sikh Religion, 9 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. Jasjit Singh "Jasjit" (leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is titled "A Very Short Introduction to Sikhism" yet manages to cover all of the main points about Sikhism in an interesting and readable manner. A great strength is its contemporary feel, and its up-to-date references ensure that it becomes more than just another book about religion. Dr Nesbitt demonstrates her detailed knowledge about Sikhism describing the evolution of Sikhism from Guru Nanak Dev Ji to the modern day, making this book extremely readable by describing the `story' of Sikhism, with each chapter building on information presented in the previous one. I can recommend this book to anyone who requires a concise yet lively and well informed text on the Sikh Religion & Sikh History. A very welcome addition to the bookshelf of anyone who is interested in Religion in general, and Sikhism in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat uninspiring, 4 Feb 2010
By 
I couldn't agree more with the review entitled "accurate but insipid"- the book reminded me a little of the drab and uninspiring textbooks handed out in RE lessons, though thankfully questions and written exercises didn't punctuate the text! While there is nothing wrong with the information given, you wonder whether the author set about writing and researching the book as a factual rather than spiritual exercise- and religion is not required in the case of the latter, just a genuine curiosity and interest. I also don't remember reading about the Gora Sikh movement in America in the 60s under the guidance of Yogi Bhajan either, which is a shame because he made a great contribution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I had expected, 7 April 2011
By 
Dr. Bojan Tunguz (Indiana, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
My interest in Religion stems primarily from the desire to learn about faith and beliefs, and their metaphysical underpinnings. So when I pick up a book in order to learn about a religion that is different from my own, I have an expectation that the major part of that book will deal with the subject matter of those beliefs. Regrettably, that is not the case with this very short introduction. The Sikh beliefs are dealt with briefly and in a very superficial way. Most of the book deals with Sikhism as a social and ethnic category. Of course, those considerations should not be neglected either, but this was not why I decided to pick up and read this book. If, on the other hand, you are interested in those "demographic" aspects of Sikhism, this very short introduction will provide you with plenty of information. This, however, makes for a very boring read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Short Introdcution, 11 April 2014
As the author of "How the Sikh Gurus Can Change Your Life" I know what it's like to aim to provide a short introduction to the absolutely massive wealth of insight that Sikhism can provide!

I agree with reviewers who thought this introduction feels very much like a survey, looking at Sikhism from the outside and touching on everything a little bit. But if you just want quick short information on history, religious context and main tenets of Sikhs this is a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really easy to read and the author made the topic very accessible. Currently doing a religion OU course and this has helped so much. Clear and understandable and included so much I never knew. Goes right from the beginning of Sikhism to contemporary issues and diaspora. Really would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A sound introduction, 18 Nov 2012
Like the many others in this wide-ranging series, it is a good introduction to the topic. It answered almost all of my questions. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Informative, 24 Oct 2007
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This book was a great relief to find. Tackling an essay on world religions I needed books that were intelligently written but concise, and believe me, they're not that easy to find. This fills the bill exactly. It gives what I imagine is a brief overview of a complex religion without being patronising to that religion or dumbing down too much for the reader. It's a good mix of history, spread of the faith and the nuts and bolts of that faith in practice and mind set. It's by no means definitive, and freely acknowledges it, but as a place to start study it's perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sikhism: A Very Short Introduction, 17 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fast professional P&P. Great book for Open University Course on Religion. Slim, compact and easy to read book on the basics of Sikhism, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews