Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars send a message out across the sky
A message saying that childhood memories sometimes can be as good as you recall. Star fleet is a science fiction serial made in japan using puppets. It achieved huge popularity in britain when it was broadcast on ITV on saturday mornings early in the 1980's, where it captured the imagination of a generation. some of whom waited a great many years to see it again...
Published on 17 Mar. 2009 by Paul Tapner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
not as good as the thunderbirds but still acceptable
Published 26 days ago by Amazon Kunde


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars send a message out across the sky, 17 Mar. 2009
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A message saying that childhood memories sometimes can be as good as you recall. Star fleet is a science fiction serial made in japan using puppets. It achieved huge popularity in britain when it was broadcast on ITV on saturday mornings early in the 1980's, where it captured the imagination of a generation. some of whom waited a great many years to see it again.

actually although the show was originally produced in japan the english version had pretty much a whole new script and was redubbed into english and given an all new score. the story of x bomber, a spaceship crewed by three brave pilots and led by wise scientist dr benn robinson. when the earth is attacked by the evil imperial alliance who are on the trail of orphan girl lamia because she has a hidden destiny, x bomber leads the fight back and then heads off into space to unravel the mystery of why lamia is so important. lots of action ensues.

the series succeeds because it has a sense of wonder, a decent storyline, and it really captures the imagination. and there are also some pretty exciting battle sequences. all of this should be enough to reawaken the inner teenager in you who first saw the show in the 1980's. and even if you've never seen it before anyone who likes an entertaining bit of good science fiction should be swiftly captivated by this.

There are twenty four episodes which run for twenty three minutes each. episodes nine and thirteen are clip shows, that just fill up the time by using clips from earlier parts. you could probably skip over thirteen without missing anything but nine does contain one important plot development near the end. but these two are the only episodes that aren't excellent.

The show is spread over four discs, six epiaodes to each. they don't have direct scene access, but allow you to start the episode at either the beginning, right after the opening credits, or right at the start of the closing credits. and each episode has a synposis also available on the episode selection menu.

There's an awful lot of extras, spread over the four discs. a lot of them are text features.

some that aren't:

a 34 minute long documentary about the making of the show, featuring both it's original japanese creator, and the dubbing director and one of the british voice actors. don't watch this till you've seen the show, because you'll see a few spoilers. it's a very good documentary and it does contain interesting mentions of the proposed second season that alas never came to pass.

there's also brian may's music video. when the theme tune was released as a single he sung the words, and this is the video that goes with it.

there's a gallery of stills from the series.

and from the making of it.

and one of all the merchandise that was produced.

the ones that are text features:

a long essay about the creation of the show.

character biographies.

series synposis.

text features about the machinery and spaceships in the show.

and even the box comes with extra features:

a collectors booklet [containing text that duplicates the character and episode synopsis on the discs]

a flyer advertising the impending release of the superb score from the show

six postcards each with a different still from the show

a small double sided poster, one side showing the main characters and the other one of the machines they use

and a fifty two page booklet reprinting two all new comic stories based on the show that were originally published in the 1980's.

the only language these discs are in is english.

and I'm afraid there are no subtitles.

that's an unfortunate admission from an otherwise fantastic package that really does justice to a great show. and will make you think it's saturday morning in the 1980's all over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - but note, 8 Feb. 2012
By 
The Splodge. (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Fleet X Bomber The Complete Series (slim-line version) [DVD] (DVD)
Great box set just buy it.

As always there are a few quirks, but trivial:

a) Two episodes are clip shows (repeats). Watch them whilst sticking fingers into your eye sockets.
b) They originally combined two episodes into one for the UK version.
c) Brian May's video size has been drastically reduced for some reason (even after maintaining the aspect ratio). This is the only real issue with the DVD distribution (Fabulous why didn't you do a better job of this?).
d) The "Making Of" documentary contains a BIG spoiler. Would have been better on disc 4. Regardless DO NOT WATCH until you've seen all the episodes.

In regards to (b) I think it would have been great if they had included the two original FULL Japanese episodes that were edited together later for UK release, and even better if they had subtitles.

You can't have it all.... but you can almost have it all....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restoration as it should!, 14 Feb. 2009
By 
Takahashii (Wageningen, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Today I finally received my copy of the DVD box and I can say that it has been worth both the money and the wait big time. Star Fleet is a sci-fi puppet series which plays in the year 2999. During the dawn of a new millennium something big unknown to mankind is about to happen. A group of alien invaders, known as the Imperial Alliance however know all too well that the events to take place could very well mean the end of their dominance in the universe. And so they set out for earth to seek out the F01 which is where the story begins.

What makes this DVD collection excel when compared to other releases of older series is that the editors haven't tried to "enhance" or "improve" the experience in any way. Instead they totally focussed on restoring all the material they had so that its quality would be good enough for a DVD release. A quick example; during the first series the Imperial Alliance drone crafts attack x-bomber directly, crippling it on moonbase. During these scenes you will notice that some laser blasts have suddenly turned white, only to become yellow again at a later time. Such "glitches" have all been left in, as they should in my opinion!

So judging from what I've seen so far they truly succeeded with the goal. The DVD set contains all full 24 episodes, so also including the opening, ending and preview of the next episode. And because it hasn't been remastered in any way its in its original 4:3 aspect ratio format, without subtitles and 1 language track. As said before: this is the original material, nothing more and nothing less. So don't expect too much fancy stuff, just an enormous blast from the past.

The menu system on the DVDs is very smooth and navigates easily while featuring music and sound samples from the series. The box also comes with a few extras but in my opinion the "making of" is probably the most interesting here.

And finally the box is packed with goodies! More than I expected, thats for sure. Besides a small booklet with information on the DVDs and a quick description of the several episodes you also get a 36 page comic book, a 2 sided A4 sized poster and finally 2 packs of picture cards containing 6 cards each. The packs are doubles so you could use the first while storing the second.

And there you have it. I got lucky enough to have recorded many of the episodes on VHS during the time when Super Channel was airing Star Fleet and I can say that the DVD is truly a work of art. I've said it before; restoration as it should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The stuff of memories, 27 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Fleet X Bomber The Complete Series (slim-line version) [DVD] (DVD)
For some bizarre reason whilst on holiday this August I woke up with the theme tune for Star Fleet in my head. I'd forgotten the programme ever existed but was so impressed by the recollection the first thing I did on arriving home was order it.
Watched the whole lot in the first day off I had and from the first bars of the opening episode to the closing titles of the finale I was captivated. Memories of Saturday lunch times and British wrestling came flooding back though I was staggered to see the production is as old as it actually is. Even so given the type of production it is the quality of the animation and puppetry is first class and although by modern standards it looks dated, it is appreciated by someone who remembers Thunderbirds and Terrorhawks being part of childhood television.
The DVD collection is neatly packaged in its box and the flexible format allows for skipping over theme tunes and getting straight into the action. The layout of the menus are also neat and tidy and easy to follow.
My children laughed at it but I don't care, i'm sure i'm not the only member of my generation who'll be delighted with owning this series. If you're approaching 40 and remember what it was like to be a child in the early 80s buy without reservation. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Ask Just Buy It!, 2 Mar. 2011
By 
J. M. Greer (Hexham, Northumberland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this when I watched it on TV in the early 80s and like all good cult tv it is even better than I remember it. An epic storyline that is engrossing told over 24 episodes with real heroism, pathos and drama plus lots of fantastic space battles set to Paul Bliss's funky electronic score (when are they bringing out the soundtrack album?).
The 16mm film is just as grainy as I remember it and the colours are vibrant on this dvd release. The series benefits from great mecha and some fantastic designs by manga maestro Go Nagai. This series has everything- great designs, a truly engaging storyline and fab music.
Book some annual leave, position the sofa, crank up your sound system and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Fleet X Bomber The Complete Series (slim-line version) [DVD] (DVD)
A very nice sf puppet series, with a atmospere somewhere between Thunderbirds, Star Wars en Star Trek, and that in a japanese way. In parts this is repetative, but for the most part this is done with a lot of fantasy. There are surprising alien worlds, a lot of detail, and however it is executed with puppets, the action is dynamic and emotional. In this it is a far way from the wooden characters we meet in Thunderbirds.
It is very low budget, but you hardly can tell. In the final parts it gets mythecal grandeur. I like this series a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gerry Who?, 13 Feb. 2009
By 
Neil Goodacre - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unlike most of the other reviews for this item on here at the moment, this one is written by someone who a) has never seen the show before and b) actually has the box set in hand!

Put quite frankly; WOW! Open up the outer case and all sorts of paper delights come tumbling out. There are some souvenir postcards, a "collectors booklet" which is a collected plot synopsis and list of dramatis personae and a comic book (which I haven't yet read but looks great). For future DVD releases of classic kids' TV, distributors please take note - this is how you release a series on DVD!

On the discs are all the original episodes plus a whole shed load of extras. Again - this is how you release a series on DVD! I'm only about a quarter of the way in to the series but it's already grabbed me good and proper. As a fan of Gerry Anderson's work - I'm more a Captain Scarlet kind of guy than a Thunderbirds fan - I have to say in all honesty that this series stomps all over his work. In a good way, that is. Obviously, this followed on some years after Anderson finished with puppetry and builds on his work - the end result being something special.

The action is just right. Character development is well done. The puppets and special effects look great, even now, and the sets are astounding. For any fan of Supermarionation, this set is an absolute must have. The only down side? That there aren't more episodes!

Very highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Overdue for DVD Release, 23 May 2009
By 
S. Porter (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I can't express how excited I was to know this was finally going to get a DVD release... and how frustrated I was when it was delayed.

At last, after all these years, X-Bomber flies again to do battle with Makara and the forces of the Imperial Master. Despite it's age, Star Fleet has lost none of it's charm and still stands up rather well.

It's such as shame to learn that the studio burned down and all the puppets and props were destroyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best series ever given a lavish DVD treatment, 11 Feb. 2009
By 
E. Barker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've had this on order last month, and last night it finally arrived. Starfleet was my favourite show as a little kid. With a great storyline, superb special effects and THE coolest thing ever to appear on the screen in the form of DAI-X, it was and is simply peerless.

The DVD package is superb, a real labour of love. It includes a collectors booklet, a graphic novel, postcards and a poster. The footage itself has been restored, and looks great.

And the best thing? Well, this show has always had such a dear place in my heart that I was a little worried that seeing it as a 31 year old rather than as a six year old would be a bit of an anticlimax. How wrong can you be. This is without a doubt the best thing I've ever bought from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Fleet is AMAZING!, 3 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr. A. Pon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was a fan of this show when I was four. Back in those days, we used to record it off ITV onto our V2000 video.

And that was the last time I saw it...

When watching Thunderbirds on BBC Two in 1992, I wondered if I would ever see Star Fleet again.

Until now: I can't believe it has been nearly thirty years!

* A deep, meaningful story (critical to its success)
* Diverse characters and excellent voice acting
* Rich dialog that would challenge a child's understanding
* Science fiction terminology that parallels that in Star Trek TNG
* Amazing special effects with attention to detail
* No strings - or as few as possible!

Don't get me wrong: Gerry Anderson's work is great, but Star Fleet is better!
Anderson even appears in the documentary!

A few areas of improvement:
* The audio could be revamped into full stereo.
* Subtitles could be implemented.
* Jupiter doesn't have a solid surface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews