Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a superb mix of Snake old and new
It's three years now, since the return of Whitesnake with their Top 5 UK album, "Good To Be Bad". It wasn't the best Whitesnake album ever, but it was by no means the worst. Yes, there were a few too many nods to the glossy American rock of the late eighties, but there were more than enough throwbacks to the early eighties to keep me happy.

This latest album...
Published on 20 April 2011 by Mr. H

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good but ....
I judge everything that Whitesnake do against Live ..In The Heart Of The City .... which is easily their best recording by a country mile. This album isn't too bad - powerful, well crafted and nicely packaged too. As a modern era recording its their best effort since the '1987' album. However, having recently seen Micky Moody and his Monsters of British Rock play a...
Published on 25 April 2011 by Lucioperca


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a superb mix of Snake old and new, 20 April 2011
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whitesnake - Forevermore (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
It's three years now, since the return of Whitesnake with their Top 5 UK album, "Good To Be Bad". It wasn't the best Whitesnake album ever, but it was by no means the worst. Yes, there were a few too many nods to the glossy American rock of the late eighties, but there were more than enough throwbacks to the early eighties to keep me happy.

This latest album sees them slipping further down the pecking order of record labels, as their association with SPV is no more, with this one appearing on Italian indie, Frontiers. They've obviously decided to give up on chart action, as it's one of those infuriating multi-format / release date thingys, which sees it coming out in the UK as a "Fan-Pack", which seems to involve a magazine, with the CD, and a badge, with the CD getting two bonus live tracks from 1990. The album will then come out properly three weeks later.. I say bonus tracks, but they're actually from the forthcoming "Live @ Donington 1990" DVD and double CD to be released in summer 2011. So I'll be giving that a miss, and just stick to this vanilla edition.

We're now up to version sixteen of Whitesnake, as the time since "Good To Be Bad" has seen bassist Uriah Duffy, drummer Chris Frazier and, most recently, keyboards man Timothy Drury all heading off to pastures new. So this heralds the recording debut of a new rhythm section in the shape of former Lynch Mob bassist Michael Devin alongside Whitesnake's new drummer Brian Tichy, ex Foreigner, Pride & Glory, Billy Idol and more. And despite (or perhaps because) of yet more lineup changes, this is actually a better album than its predecessor.

As with the last album, this sees Sir David Coverdale attempting to fuse the various eras of Whitesnake into a new whole, but with less emphasis on the glitter years, and more on what came before and after, it's a better all round offering. It's not as heavy as the last album, with more room for some mellow moments, alongside the rabble rousing crowd pleasers. But it's one of those crowd pleasers that kicks things off, with `Steal Your Heart Away' swaggering into action with an actual, genuine harmonica riff! Something that will please all the old school fans out there.

All Out Of Luck', `Tell Me How' and the first single `Love Will Set You Free' are all straight out of the top drawer, before the first wild card arrives in the guise of `I Need You (Shine A Light)', a tune that would have sat happily on Sir Davids solo album 'Into The Light'. `Love And Treat Me Right' would have fitted nicely on 'Slide It In', whilst the acoustic number `One Of These Days' is a ringer for "Restless Heart" era Whitesnake. There's only one out and out dud, and that's 'Dogs In The Street', which sounds like a reject from "Slip Of The Tongue".. Yes, you read me right, it's that grim.

However, 'Fare Thee Well' is an utter delight, another acoustic based number, before `Whipping Boy Blues' takes us back to the days of his Jimmy Page collaboration. 'My Evil Ways' is another rabble rousing crowd pleaser, before the title track turns into an instant Whitesnake classic. Seven minutes long, it builds slowly as a gentle acoustic ballad, before exploding into a quite marvellous power ballad epic.

Lyrically, Sir David hasn't advanced one inch over the years, as he still slips in enough double (and single) entendres to keep the nineteen seventies in business for a wee while yet. But on the mellower tracks he reminds us what a good lyricist he can be, when he gets his head out of his crotch. The guitar of Reb Beach and Doug Aldrich seem to have finally found a happy medium, and are reined in much more than on "Good To Be Bad". The production is also warmer, and the whole record hangs together really well.

Whitesnake completists, however, are in for a bit of a nightmare. As well as the aforementioned "Fan Pack", the Japanese version has a different mix of 'Whipping Boy Blues' as a bonus track. There's a deluxe edition which is coming with alternate mixes of 'Love Will Set You Free' and 'My Evil Ways', as well as an acoustic version of 'Forevermore' and a DVD with the video of 'Love Will Set You Free', a making of the 'Love Will Set You Free' video and a short making of "Forevermore" documentary. If you're an iTunes person you get the 'Love Will Set You Free' alternative mix and the acoustic version of 'Forevermore'. Finally, deep breath, Amazon.com digital buyers get the alternate version of 'My Evil Ways'.

That's a lot of versions, but whichever one you plump for, you can be assured that Sir David Coverdale and his latest version of Whitesnake have come up with a superb mix of Snake old and new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good but ...., 25 April 2011
By 
Lucioperca (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whitesnake - Forevermore (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
I judge everything that Whitesnake do against Live ..In The Heart Of The City .... which is easily their best recording by a country mile. This album isn't too bad - powerful, well crafted and nicely packaged too. As a modern era recording its their best effort since the '1987' album. However, having recently seen Micky Moody and his Monsters of British Rock play a full retro Whitesnake set at a Butlins Rock and Blues Weekender .... this band will never reach the same heights as they did with Moody, Murray and Marsden in the line-up. Some will say "for christ sake move on man" but for me Moody has a signature sound and style in his guitar play that were as much the archetypal sound of 'Snake as those superb Coverdale vocals. Before DC eventually decides to call it a day ... wouldn't we all love to see the old line up re-united for one farewell album and tour?

Getting back to this album .... lots of tight music, great production work and strong vocals .... but it could be just about any slick, well mixed metal band. Whitesnake have developed into a disparate group of musicians that DC has long admired and finally pulled together. Musically this is an accomplished piece of work but it lacks the early Whitesnake spirit and I have not been playing it regularly like I normally would with a new album. Will it usurp usurp Heart Of The City from the top of my Whitesnake playlist .... not on your nelly. In summary ... a good album but it still just falls slightly short of their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So So Snake..., 24 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whitesnake - Forevermore (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
Looked forward to this and the Tour.
The album has four excellent songs,four pretty good ones and the rest I am afraid are pure filler.
David has stuck to the 1987 vibe with flash guitar and massive production...good or bad depending on which version of Whitesnake you favour.
Having seen the tour and watching my hero struggle to scream his way through the songs, I really think it's time to go back to the lower register, but still excellent early bluesy style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star White Snake, 27 May 2011
By 
Nigel Birchmore (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whitesnake - Forevermore (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
Just a superb album. The title track "Forevermore" just awsome. Some of the lead breaks (evil ways) will blow you away. This is typical, professional, talented, skifull, inspiring White Snake at their best. David Coverdale, what a fantastic voice you still have. There are hints in the video and a song to him hanging up his gloves. David, none of us are getting younger, but God has blessed you with one of the best rock singing voices ever. Try to keep using it as long as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars classic Whitesnake!, 30 May 2013
This review is from: Whitesnake - Forevermore (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
Forevermore is an instant classic Whitesnake album. It's a good thing there's still a band like Whitesnake around, making that old school hard heavy rock with the occasional power ballad (only Whitesnake get's away with power ballads). The production is flawless, Coverdale sounds great and the guitars really rock. I'll be blasting this one for a long time. The album ends with the song 'Forevermore', which is simply epic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best, 12 Oct 2011
This review is from: Whitesnake - Forevermore (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
if you thought whitesnake could not get any better then this is an album for you a great mixs of rock and balleds all great tracks a must for any whitesnake fan the band just go marching on and on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SMOOTH DAVID, 10 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whitesnake - Forevermore (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
WHITESNAKE still has it & you have to see them if you can as like they are even better but you have to have the cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST ROCK ALBUM OF THE YEAR !!, 24 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whitesnake - Forevermore (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album !
one if not the best album of the year!!

.it is great to hear that rock band still making a rock album like this
I read that some people said some stuff about the lyrics but hey this is David Coverdale you don't like it don't buy it.
and some people still stuck in this is not the old Whitesnake come on it's more that 28 years move on!
this is a complete Whitesnake witt all the elements from he past till to day!!
and when I will reach 60 years old I would love to sound and sing like Mr DC.
Don't think twice this is a truly a great album !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 23 May 2011
By 
Sam "Sam" (S.Wales U.K..) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whitesnake - Forevermore (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
I am an avid Whitesnake fan ! I have every album they have ever made including D.C's solo works and normally won't have anything bad said against his material. I have seen them live on numerous occasions with various line-ups. This time I have to say this album is going nowhere for me. I am not impressed by one song. I have listened to it over and over and just can not get to like it. Good to be bad was an excellent album... not so Forevermore. This album drones on and on, it just has nothing to offer. In fact D.C's vocals were starting to grind on me ! I can not beleive i am writing this and feel so sad doing so, so disappointed. If they release another album it has to be better than this please. Two stars because it's Whitesnake !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Echoes of former greatness, 18 May 2011
This review is from: Whitesnake - Forevermore (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
I bought tickets for the Whitesnake UK tour this year and decided that I should probably familiarlise myself with their latest material. The last Whitesnake offering I purchased was the rightly much derided "Slip of the Tongue" featuring Steve Vai weaving his "sonic tapestries from hell" (which essentially meant systematically trashing every melody on the album). Although many years have passed, it was with some trepidation that I bought the new "Forevermore" release.

Fortunately, my concerns were largely unfounded. Forevermore would have been a ideal follow-up to Slide It In and in my view, it bridges the gap between that album and 1987. "Steal Your Heart Away" kicks the album off with a great guitar/harmonica riff and even some slide guitar. "All Out of Luck" and could easily sit on any of the early '80s records, as could "Love Will Set You Free" although I prefer the alternate mix later in the album. We then get a couple of decent but disposable tracks before "I Need You Shine A Light" which is another stand-out song.

Two decent filler tracks follow and then we get to "Dogs In The Street." This is a real turkey of a song which is kind of a mash-up between the worst excesses of "Slip Of The Tongue" with a bit of Hysteria-era Def Leppard thrown in for good measure. The song is all over the place and unfortunately, Doug Aldrich chooses this moment to give his tribute to Steve Vai and weave his own hellish sonic tapestries. The song is so bad, I was almost going to deduct a star.

Following this annoying aberration, we then get four great tracks to finish off the album. "Fare Thee Well" is a nice ballad and "Whipping Boy Blues" is great fun. "My Evil Ways" is a decent rocker, but a clear highlight is saved for last with the title track. It's an epic 7 minute effort which put me in mind of "Till The Day I Die" off "Come And Get It" (which in my view is the 'Snake's greatest album).

So overall, "Forevermore" sees Coverdale returning to the rhythm and blues sound of the early '80's but bringing it bang up-to-date for the 21st century. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whitesnake - Forevermore (CD/DVD)
Whitesnake - Forevermore (CD/DVD) by Whitesnake (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews