Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 23 October 2011
I have had the card for a week now and it has enabled me to play every game on my PC at 1920x1200 at maximum settings with framerates over 30 fps (STALKER: Call of Pripyat, Dead Island, Modern Warfare 2) Although none of those games really stress this card as they are older DirectX 9 titles. According to Nvidia's beta performance guide, the GTX 560 Ti is capable of running Battlefield 3 at high settings in 1920x1080 resolution which should be a good indicator of the card's performance.

The Asus 1GB GTX 560 Ti DirectCUII is currently the best value card around, like the best selling 8800GT before it. If you have read the reviews of this card from hardware sites, most of them will tell you that the ATI Radeon HD 6950 is slightly faster and in most cases it is, however at the time of the reviews the prices of the 560 Ti and the HD 6950 were the same, or the 560 Ti was more expensive.

This is not the case in the UK and you'll be lucky to find a HD 6950 with 1GB for under £200. I got my Asus GTX 560 Ti DirectCUII for £160.48 (circa early October 2011). Currently on Amazon (23/10/11), you can get a:

Asus GTX 560 Direct CU (non Ti) with the older DirectCU cooler for £148 which is almost £20 cheaper which is great if you are on a budget.
Asus GTX 560 Direct CU II (non Ti) which comes factory overclocked at 850MHz for £167.28 which is a few pence cheaper than the 560 Ti.
Asus GTX 560 Ti DirectCuII TOP is factory overclocked at 900MHz for £188.19, which is £20 more expensive than my regular ASUS GTX 560 Ti DirectCUII (clocked at 830MHz)

If you can afford to spend another £20 over the non Ti version and you know to to overclock, the 560 Ti represents the best value/performance ratio. The main reason is the 560 Ti has an additional 48 stream processors, 384 vs 336 for the 560. So while you can overclock the non Ti at 1GHz to match the speed of the 560 Ti, the 560 Ti at that speed would be close to a GTX 570 which costs around £270! So if you know how to overclock, then is no point paying an extra £20 for a factory overclocked card, as the hardware is identical between the 560 Ti and the TOP version, the only difference being a few bytes in the card's firmware! Of course the TOP would be guaranteed and tested to run at 900MHz, but you would have to be VERY unlucky to get a card that wouldn't run at 900MHz as that is a fairly conservative overclock. Using the MSI Afterburner utility to overclock is a doddle and there are plenty of tutorials online for you novices out there.

My card is currently clocked at 950MHz (might overclock to 1GHz after I get a new case with better airflow) with memory at 4.7GHz (1,175MHz x4) and the card is very quiet while gaming with average temps of 65 to 70c. Although the DirectCUII cooler is more efficient (it keeps the GPU at least 15c cooler than the standard single fan Nvidia cooler), it does not exhaust the hot air outside the case. If your case does not have intake and exhaust fans then this would be the only real issue with this card. The card also features it's own heatsink over the MOSFETs and high quality Japanese capacitors and voltage components which all helps to maximise the card's overclocking potential.

The word quality sums up this card, it feels solid as it has a metal spine to keep the card from sagging and the shroud around the heatsink is metallic if you were wondering. I am surprised that Asus can produce a card with is own custom designed PCB plus heatsink and dual fans in such quality, while other card manufacturers pump out the bog standard nvidia reference design (like the PNY card I was looking at before discovering the Asus) at the same prices!

Overall I am thrilled with this card and I am looking forward to giving it a workout once Battlefield 3 and Skyrim is released.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 21 February 2012
For the price you really can't fault this at all. The DirectCUII cooler which is featured on this card is pretty much the 2nd best cooler for the 560ti, the Twin frozr 2 is the best. But there really is not that much of a difference between them, only 3 degrees Celsius. The hottest I have got this card was while running 3DMark11 and it only got up to 63 degrees which is just outstanding, while running regular games on average you're looking at about 54 degrees but in more extreme games like BF3 or Crysis 2 it will peek at 59 - 60 degrees. And yes of course just in case you're wondering this card just rolls over any game out right now. I get minimum FPS' of about 45 in BF3 and an average of around 55 at 1080p of course with an i5 2500k cpu. And pretty much constant 60 fps in Crysis 2 at max with the odd drop to about 50 for a second or two. In most games I play like World Of Warcraft, League Of Legends, Counter Strike: Source etc... I mostly hit the frame caps which is just outstanding, I upgraded from a Gtx 460 to this card as the 460 was strugeling to cope with BF3, hitting temps of 75 degrees and an average FPS of about 40 it was just not good enough. This card however just does the job perfectly and will last you a very long time. It's very quiet so long as you have good airflow, the fans stick at around 30% - 40% of their top speed under full load which is about 1600RPM, at 100% they go all the way up to 4200RPM, I have never had them go over 45% while gaming. 99% of the time they are under 40% of their total speed and you can't even hear them. However if you decide to see what 100% sounds like I can confirm it is just insane. And back to the topic of the Twin Frozr 2, it really is not worth getting that cooler for the 3 degrees less really in my opinion because it will cost you around an extra £25 which in my opinion just is not worth it because anything under 70 degrees is more than in the safe zone, and this card runs most games at around 54 degrees so what more could you ask for, any more cooling would be pointless.

As for over clocking it OCs like a beast. I have heard of people getting them over 1000Mhz (1Ghz) on the core clock which is just mad. I currently run it on 920Mhz on the core clock (The stock is 830Mhz) and really only notice 1 Degrees difference in temperature and a nice performance boost, and it is more than stable at that speed without playing with the voltages, I heard you can get it to 950Mhz with no problems without tweaking the voltages.

Hope this review helps, certain things will be different for you depending on what other hardware you have. For example a hotter room or a case with less airflow will result in the card being hotter for you, or vice versa. My case is not good at all and my room is a somewhat average temperature. I am aiming to get a new case soon and will update my review to tell you the new temperatures on a case with great air flow.

But anyway for the price you really would be mad not to buy this card, it's the cheapest of the 560TI's with the second best cooler.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 8 November 2011
Asus 1GB GeForce GTX 560TI DirectCUII PCI-E Graphics Card.

Installed card working on the following setup:
Asus M4A89GTD Pro (Socket AM3-940 pin) Motherboard.
AMD Athlon Pheonom II x6 core 3.3Hz 1100T (Black Edition) 9MB Cache.
4 x Kingston 4G DDR3-10600 1333 (240 pin) Memory, total 16G.
Western Digital Hard Drives x 2, Caviar Blue 1TB SATA III 6Gb/s, 32MB, 7,200 RPM.
Windowns 7 Pro 64 bit version.

Updated card and startup, no drivers installed but W7 stated it was looking to download them, it did and downloaded the correct drivers as 15/10/2011 v8.17.12.8562. Strangely these drivers seem more upto date than both the disk that came with the graphics card and those on the Asus website. I will investigate more here over the next few days.

Once W7 had downloaded the correct drivers, in just a few minutes, a reboot was needed to boot into the correct display. Everything worked perfectly upon reboot - now using a great card with plenty of power for whatever I through at it.

I am not a gamer but do edit a lot of HD Video etc and need a really fast graphics card. I will try and post an update after I have played with the card more.

Fist impressions are excellent.
I have posted a few more pictures of the packaging as the card is already shown on the site, it is very high quality and a shame to put the box in the roof after just 10 minutes of use. Still it will set off my resale of the item in 2 years time!!

Thanks Colin.

Footnote: Using the drivers provided in the disk pack you will get versions 23.03.2011 v8.17.12.6785.
Then updating via the driver update section you will get 20.05.2011 v8.17.12.7533
As previously mentioned using W7 update from the start you get 15.10.2011 v8/.17.12.862
My conclusion is just update from the original install situation, you will save loads of time and worry.
Hope this update helps. Thanks Colin.
review image review image review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
on 8 June 2011
First and foremost I would like to say this card surpassed my expectations in all areas.

Asus have done a very good job designing the packaging, which has different compartments for the various items within. The entire package is held inside a larger box which I have used to keep spare computer parts in. The card itself is placed inside an anti-static foam mould which is in its own compartment. Accessories include: a DVI to VGA adapter, mini HDMI to HDMI adapter, Molex to 6Pin PCIe Power adapters, driver CD (with tweaking software) and a manual.

The card itself fairly long, about 10inches from the backplate to the front end of the heatsink shroud. It takes up two expansion slots. The backplate features two DVI-D connectors, an HDMI connector and an airflow outlet. Due to the design of the heatsink, only a small portion of air flows out of the back, most is exhausted within the case. The PCB is of a matte black finish, with two green power LEDs situated about one inch in from the 6Pin connectors. There is one SLI finger at the back end of the card which allows for a two-way SLI configuration. There is no SLI bridge bundled with the card. The heatsink itself is mainly aluminium, with three copper heat-pipes dissipating heat from the core to the front end of the card. Situated directly above the GPU die is a solid aluminium heatsink. This is cooled by an 8mm PWM fan. The three copper heatpipes make direct contact with the GPU die and spread out to a second tight finned aluminium heatsink situated at the front of the card. This is also cooled by an 8mm PWM fan. In total there are two 8mm PWM fans. The entire heatsink is shrouded with a matte black metal plate which has red accent lines. In my opinion this styling is tasteful and not over-the-top. The PCB is reinforced by a metal bar that runs most of the way down the card. This prevent the card sagging inside the case. Both the metal reinforcement and the heatsink shroud have an embossed silver ASUS logo on them.

As far as performance goes, this card is in a league of its own. This is the 'pound/performance sweetspot' where you get the most performance per £ you spend. Although the card comes pre-overclocked to 830mhz on the core (only a 10mhz overclock above the standard clock), this card is easily able to reach clocks just shy of 1GHz on the core and over 2GHz on the shader. A moderate increase in voltage is needed, but this is handled well by the direct air cooled power MOSFETS. Even at these high clock speeds, in a well ventilated case, the heatsink comes into its own. When I tested, temperatures never exceeded 85 degrees centigrade in an ambient temperature of 25 degrees.

I currently run this card overclocked stably at 900Mhz core and 1800Mhz shader. You need not increase the voltage to achieve this overclock, and temperatures never exceed 72 degrees centigrade. The rest of noteworthy PC specs are as follows: Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI motherboard, AMD Phenom II X4 955 CPU, 4GB OCZ Obsidian 1600MHz DDR3 RAM, Thermaltake Toughpower XT 775W PSU, 1TB Samsung F3 HDD. All of these parts are relatively inexpensive and make for a great gaming setup. The possibility of adding another GTX 560 Ti in SLI mode means you can keep on gaming for longer into the future.

With this setup all new games are playable at 1080p with maximum settings and usually anti aliasing set to 4x. Framerates in games like Crysis 2, Mafia 2 and Metro 2033 are all above 30fps on maximum settings.

So all in all, if you are looking for a great value card, with overclocking performance that is rivalled only by the very expensive cards, THIS IS THE ONE FOR YOU!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
on 1 May 2011
This is an amazing card for the price. I have two of them running in SLI in my upgraded rig.

I'll just focus on installation and performance and also packaging and presentation. If you want all the detailed specs etc. just scroll down and read the product description.

First things first, contents. In the box you get the card (thankfully), power-splitter cable, mini HDMI to standard HDMI adapter, VGA adapter, a few screws and a driver disc (already outdated, go to nVidia's website for the latest drivers). The box and packaging is all premium quality and presented beautifully. Exactly what you expect from Asus.

Installation was a breeze. Just find your PCIe slot on your motherboard. Slide it in. Secure it to your case with a couple of screws. Attach the power cables from your power supply and your good to go. If you have two of these and want to run SLI just pop the second one into the PCIe slot next door, secure to case, attach power supply cables and SLI bridge, go to your nVidia Control Panel and activate the SLI option. Done.

Performance is excellent. Running the Crysis GPU benchmark (found in the games `Bin64' file) a single card was getting an average of 35-45fps (DX10, 4AA, 1080p). For a card in the sub £200 pricing, this is amazing.

Running the same benchmark with two of these cards with the same settings was 70-80fps. At certain points it went over 100fps!

So to summarise, the performance of a single card is excellent and well worth the upgrade if that's what you are looking at doing. Also at less than £200 you would be a fool not to seriously consider the Asus GTX560 as a viable upgrade.

Two of these cards will eat through every current game with everything set to 'high detail'. Better performance than a GTX580 and about £20-£50 cheaper for the two GTX560's.

Highly recommended.

2 x Asus GTX560Ti in SLI
Intel i5 Sandybridge 3.3Ghz @ 4.7Ghz
Asus P8P67 Pro Motherboard
8GB Corsair Vengence RAM
2 x Corsair F60 SSD
Corsair TX950 PSU
Win7 64Bit
review image review image review image
1111 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
on 4 September 2011
So, after several weeks of scouring the internet, reading thousands of reviews over the past 2 years worth of cards, I thought why not try my hand at this card.
it arrived the next day under express delivery (I was pretty eager) and took it out of the Amazon packaging (which was very secure). On to the the points

FOR THE PEOPLE WHO FIND THIS STUFF DIFFICULT TO GET AROUND!

1) This product is beautifully packaged. As a computer scientist, I've never seen anything like it and ive been through my fair share of cards. its elegantly wrapped in black "Asus" board with cd, documents and cables needed to plug into the PSU (power supply).

2) So after staring at it for a good 30 mins (it really is that gorgeous, like something out of Mercedes formula 1 garage), I opened my case,
slipped the old GTX gpu (graphics card) out of its slot and simply pushed it in, fastened it with 1 screw into the case and wired it into the power with supplied cables.. put the case back together.... Done.

3) I pressed the power button and nothing happened... only because I forgot the mains cable :P

and presto, on came the screen. For me, the resolution was wrong for my screen, (it was way too large) but after inserting the dvd,
it installed the correct drivers and restarted the pc to the ideal resolution, and it looks superb :)

FOR THE PEOPLE WHO DO LIKE COMPUTER JARGON!!

1) the card is SLI supported but doesn't contain an SLI bridge unit which is required.
I had one from a previous model so took the old GPU out and in with the new, bridged,

2) the unit is actually clocked at 830 which is only just above the the standard GPU from Nvdia,
ive managed a 940 with pure stability under a 700w PSU unit, runs like a dream.

3) under 64bit windows with 16GB, works fine, 3d vision requires correct monitor however.

FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO LOVE THE GAMES!!!

1) this unit will average around 44-52 FPS in a fully decked out
session of Bad Company 2 with all settings including AA x16..32.. etc
extremely powerful if I do say so myself.

2) it will run anything you throw at it right now.. .simples

3) Battlefield 3 cautious? this will play it just fine

SUMMARY

Q1 (January) card from Nvidia is brilliant across the board,
well worthy upgrade
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 6 June 2012
Well looking at this card, it's basically a custom GTX560Ti. What ASUS have done to it is redesign the cooler and implement their own overclocking BIOS, as well as an improved power distribution system. It comes with a black PCB, which fits most case themes.

This allows the card to run nearly silent at any clock and any load. That's not to say the reference coolers are loud when running normally, but they do tend to become audible/loud during overclocking.

The card takes 2 6-pin PCI Express power connectors, suggesting a maximum power consumption of 225W, though that is normally not the case, since the card is designed to run at 150W/160W at factory settings. My take on it would be that nVidia decided it would be best to draw the majority of the power through the external connectors, rather than put load on the PCI Express motherboard slot itself (capable of delivering 75W).

Officially, ASUS promises up to 50% overclock with their BIOS, as it allows for better power delivery and control. In my experience, that's a highly optimistic prediction, though possible. I have seen cases of GPU clocks at or beyond 1GHz, though that does tend to be unstable for 24/7 use.

I got one of these for my friend's budget rig. Before I let him near it, I ran my own tests of this. I managed to get 1150MHz on the core with quite a bit of extra juice going through that chip. I found a reasonable clock at stock voltage would be about 955-960MHz. Past that, the fan must stay at 100% to ensure the temperature doesn't exceed safe limits, or degeneration will occur at the GPU core. Same applies to voltage. Too much will cause degeneration.

Being a bit of a silence freak, I did notice a bit of noise coming from the DCII cooling fans, but that's really nothing compared to a basic bog standard 120mm fan that moves a decent amount of air. The inherent whine however is quite annoying at top speeds if there's nothing louder to cover it up (such as an HDD or high performance fan). Fortunately however, there's no need to run the fan that high, unless an overvolt is present. Under most conditions, the stock settings run just fine. The card remains quiet, though on the warm side.

Now, there's a big discussion on the size of GPU frame buffers, with the marketing departments insisting that more is better, and actual enthusiasts (i.e. those who know what they're talking about) realizing that buffer size really makes no difference past a certain point.

In this case, I was selecting the card to run a 17" monitor. At the time of testing, this card ran every game maxed out at fully playable settings. My tests of Metro 2033 conclude that the came is perfectly playable at maximum settings for resolutions up to 1280x1024. It ran it no problem on my 23" monitor at 1920x1080 with reduced Anti Aliasing. Same applies for Crysis 2 _AFTER_ DX11 and High Resolution Textures pack. The way the frame rates change as AA is increased at 1080p suggests filling of the frame buffer, which is to be expected from the two most demanding games at such resolutions.

The latest Batman game however is so poorly coded that it hardly runs properly. This is not due to the card, it's a game coding problem. I've tested and measured the usage of the card, and my findings suggest that only about half of its potential is being utilized, even at maximum settings.

Needless to say, this will be adequate for most single screen setups, and as 2 of these (if your board supports SLI) would outperform a GTX580, and be pretty much on par with a GTX680 (for 50 - 100 pounds less as well that is!).

If any larger screens (or multiple screens) are used, I'd recommend running 2 cards, or better yet - something like a 670.

In any case, the card is fully adequate and capable of handling a full HD monitor.

Pros:
-Excellent budget choice
-Decent power consumption
-Custom PCB as well as the cooler, removing any limitations nVidia might have imposed (such as their famed power restrictions for programs such as FurMark)
-Quiet for the most part, and cooler than reference cards
-ASUS BIOS allows for power delivery tweaking and ASUS specific power saving features, such as the "Power Saving" mode of the ASUS EPU, standard with modern ASUS boards
-Excellent overclocking capacity

Cons:
-No backplate

Should you wish to read a professional review, here's a link to the Geeks3D review of a slightly further overclocked version of this card:

[...]
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 15 December 2011
Rig:
AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
8GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz
Asus M5A97 PRO Motherboard
Corsair TX750W PSU
And of course the Asus NVidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti.
Coolermaster CM 690
Running Windows Ultimate 64bit SP1.

This card bulldozes any game out there. Been playing Skyrim on Ultra High settings (maximum everything) and it didn't once stutter, flowing at an average of 50fps (sometimes more). All other games such as Crysis Warhead and Portal 2 also perform just as well at the highest settings. Temperatures are great, barely ever getting above 50C. Idles at about 30, dependant on ambient temperature (but never idles above 35). Easy to fit, worked right out of the box. Just slotted it into the PCI-E slot and turned it on and installed the drivers. Well built, well packaged, well priced. It barely even gets noisy at full load. Can't ask for more than that. Asus wins again.

A few things worth mentioning:
- If your case uses PCI-E slot clips, you might not be able to use the clips due to the cooler being so big. This can easily be remedied by using a screw instead.
- The drivers on the disc work but occasionally mess up a little on 64bit systems (such as the theme changing when it goes to screensaver and the resolution changing). Download the latest drivers online to fix these for good (you should do this with any new component anyway...).
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 15 September 2012
The graphics card itself is amazing! It copes with every game I throw at it exceptionally well.

One thing you must consider is that the card is very big. It takes up 2 slots on my motherboard and only just fits in my case!

What I really wanted to tell you about was the excellent customer services I encountered with Amazon.

I had the card installed and running perfectly in my machine for 9 months when something happened (idk what) to my card and it stopped working. I contacted Amazon customer support via live chat and explained the situation. Within minutes I had a new card on order. I contacted them at about 9pm. Around 10.30am the NEXT day a brand new card was delivered to my door! I couldn't believe how fast this situation had been fixed.

I will certainly be using Amazon for all my future PC component purchases!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 5 January 2012
I'll keep this short and not brag about a load of computer crap that no one cares about. Also, I'd like to comment on the fact this was ordered on a Monday night and recieved on Wednesday - with a second item that was purchased at the same time. Excellent customer service. Now, back to the card;

This card is an AMAZING bang for the buck. It's nVidia's 4th newest card with possible overclocking potential. It's fast, efficient and QUIET. It's not silent, but it's running 2 fans. I can run Battlefield 3 at Ultra with no issues at all; and I have a mediocre computer (it's not a gaming rig is all I'm saying).

You MUST have a 500W power supply. People make a huge deal about cheap ones being useless and say "this sucks; i got the blah blah blah instead" with a price gap of over £90 in most cases. Get real, people. You clearly didn't buy a £30 PSU just to spent £90 on a new one. I bought a 750W CiT PSU for this which is SILENT and provides enough power to power this, regardless of what trolling computer "genius'" think. You can get these for around £30 if you don't have a current 500W or higher PSU. WARNING: a 500W PSU will allow the card to run well, but not at it's best.

The change this card will give you're computer is worth the money. Just please be aware of the few cons.

Pros:
Looks amazing (not really a factor)
Very fast and efficient
DX11 compatible
Easily installed
Boasts Asus cooling technology and further overlocking potential
Supports DVI, VGA and mini-HDMI; adapters provided to use them too.
Provides 2 4-pin molex connectors incase your power supply is lacking 2 PCI-E 6 pin adapters.

Cons:
Size. It's a heavy beast, but it doesn't do any damage to your PCI slot.
Takes up TWO expansion slots due to a vent.
Requires a PSU wattage that isn't commonly supported by stock computers. Many people will need to upgrade.

The card has been rated 5 stars for it's performance and price; as you can still install and power it for ~£200 - which is cheaper than most other cards that exclude the required PSU.

Hope this review isn't too long and is very helpful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.