Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!
First of all I am going to put my "partisan" hat on here, nail my colours to the mast if you like. I am a huge Spooks fan, and even though I am forever scarred from the first series and can't look at deep fat fryers the same way I purchased this DVD without a second thought.
Well as anyone who has watched the 2nd series will know we saw the "demise" of Tom Quinn, a...
Published on 16 Sept. 2005 by Chris Chalk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cast adrift.
Ruined the complex structure of working partners which has destroyed the series completely so stopped watching after lesson three. Superb series cut to ruin by cast changes which should not have happened.
Published on 10 Feb. 2013 by jonespm


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 16 Sept. 2005
By 
Chris Chalk "Chris" (Croydon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First of all I am going to put my "partisan" hat on here, nail my colours to the mast if you like. I am a huge Spooks fan, and even though I am forever scarred from the first series and can't look at deep fat fryers the same way I purchased this DVD without a second thought.
Well as anyone who has watched the 2nd series will know we saw the "demise" of Tom Quinn, a moment that was brilliantly well handled ensuring that the moment was both emotionally charged and action filled. Well the 3rd series picks right off at this point and answers the questions all watchers have been dying to know. Of course I am not going to tell you what happens at this point, that would be a tad unfair, but what really happens is...
Almost got you.
With Tom Quinn's demise a post is opened, more an opportunity you could say. Oliver Mace, chairman of the Joint Intelligence Committee sees an opportunity to bring together 5 & 6 and gain even more control whilst Adam Carter eyes a promotion. Oliver Mace is truly brilliantly played by Tim Mcinnerny and adds a real edge of cynicism and political intrigue to the show. You can really imagine him grappling with the world's elite and intelligence community at large. This addition is crucial to the show as it shows that office of 5 doesn't exist in a vacuum.
Adam Carter is an excellent choice as a replacement for Tom. A man who grows as the series progresses and shows he clearly has had some troubled moments in his past. A man who doesn't have any problems charming his colleagues to do things they wouldn't automatically do, but underneath it all beats the heart of a man who doesn't appear to have identified his limits yet. He also brings along with him access to 6 through his wife Fiona - another field agent who also is willing to do almost anything to get a job done. Their relationship is something new to Spooks as it isn't covert in nature; it is out there, they are married. This adds another dimension and in my opinion is another excellent addition to the series.
With the influx of new characters, others have to leave and vice versa. Tom leaves, Adam comes in. Who will leave to make way for Fiona? I won't say but suffice to say the major characters that are left have huge story lines this series, and really make them worth watching.
There are some excellent introductions of new characters, and unfortunate exits for some. This may disappoint some watchers of the series, but this isn't Coronation Street. We aren't looking for the next Vera and Jack Duckworth to last for 40 years, this injection of new blood is necessary and really works. If you want to watch the old characters watch the old series, if you want continued enjoyment then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The subsequent series rate six stars!, 19 July 2009
By 
John Boy (Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spooks is compulsive viewing that puts big screen movies to shame. It has excellent acting and story lines that are relevant to current political issues. Small details such as files being kept in the registry, and tube stiles, hint at writers or advisers who are familiar with defence related agencies.

Series 3 sees the introduction of Adam Carter from MI6 and his wife Fiona. Initially Adam is a bit jack-the-lad; however, his character moves to a darker place by episodes 9 and 10 that sets the scene for the later series. The only character out of place is Zoe who seems a bit lightweight.

As a late convert to Spooks, I worked sequentially back to series 3, and the later series are even better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Series 3 is the best yet!, 9 Jan. 2007
By 
Azur (Nice, France) - See all my reviews
I loved this series, with the exception of the rock star episode. I watched the final two last night and was stunned by the quality and ingenuity. Not giving anything away, the exits of several main characters are brilliantly handled throughout. The final episode had me on the edge of my seat one minute, then nearly in tears the next. Fantastic - the BBC are to be congratulated.

1* for the packaging though - there should be a episode overview too so you don't put the wrong DVD in adadvertantly and have to go through the rather tedious opening sequence only to find it wasn't the one you wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spooks Season 3- Excellent., 28 July 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After watching season 3, I knew that this was definitely the best British drama ever shown. However, I would not be surprised at people saying that season 3 was really bad, depressing and pathetic. I've heard it before, but to be honest, it does take time to appreciate the fact why the BBC has made season 3 like this. Many would describe this particular season as having a dark theme. I do agree with this. However, this does not exactly mean that it was depressing or bad. Think about it, the reason why some people may have found this season not exciting is because, rather than the quick and slick episodes we have seen in the past in seasons 1 and 2, the episodes in season 3 revolve more around the emotions of the main characters (Tom, Zoe, Danny, Adam and Harry.) The relationships in this season, have been taken more seriously by the writers, such as Danny's and Zoe's relationship, and Harry's relationship with her daughter. The emotions and the feelings of the characters definitely develop throughout the series, and goes to show that the stories and the characters have definitely matured.
Another reason why many people may have not liked this season that much is because of the fact that the three main characters have left. I personally thought that this was a good way to keep season 3 strong, just like seasons 1 and 2. It goes to show that nothing is ever boring in Spooks because the writers know how to write well in order to keep the interests of the audience.
As for the plots, I thought that all of them were excellent, and even powerful. For example, episode 5 was quite strong because it shows what lengths the secret service would go to protect our country, and how it can actually affect the emotions of the people, having to carry out assassination tasks. All right, so some people may not like this episode, but there are the usual exciting ones-for example, where MI-5 have to find a computer hacker in episode 7. But nevertheless, all of the episodes are actually fantastic.
Overall, season 3 is excellent and is good like the other two previous seasons. So this DVD will definitely be worth buying when it comes out and will hopefully contain quite a lot of features like the DVDs for the previous seasons...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly addictive, 11 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The plots are repetitive and predictable but there is something about this series that keeps me watching. I think the acting is impeccable and the characters sympathetic - on both sides - spooks and all those threats to the country's security. There was too much soul searching in some episodes but i love the way the team can whizz up all sorts of info on their computers in moments, and Ruth is great at untangling some of the puzzling evidence in the inevitable race against time. Very light relief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spooks 3, 18 Mar. 2009
By 
Mrs. L. Grimshaw (manchester england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic to see Harry and his team working to combat terrorists on the streets of London,had doubts it would work without Tom Quinn but really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A season of shakeups, 19 Mar. 2007
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Season 3 starts off with the reemergence of Tom who we last saw wading into the sea at the end of season 2. Tom is adamant he's been set up and is on a quest to prove his innocence but his betrayal has shaken MI5 and the Chairman of the Joint Intelligence Committee sees his chance to seize control of MI5.

There's the usual round of problems for the Spooks in season 3 - terrorists, assassination attempts, hostage taking etc. But the biggest change we see in season 3 is the introduction of new faces and the exit of old faces. I was sorry to see so many changes but loved the episodes involved as they were typical edge-of-your-seat episodes. Yet again Spooks had me hooked but left me begging for more at the end of episode 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still good watching - higher body count than previous series, 23 April 2009
By 
T.C. "TC" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spooks Season 3 kicks off from the cliff-hanger of last season, but if you saw the transition from season 1 to season 2, the format of it shouldn't be too surprising. I missed this on tv, so I'm watching in sequence on DVD instead. Introduction of new characters in the form of Rupert Penry-Jones and Olga Sosnovska are welcome, but again act as a signal that changes are afoot... I enjoyed the cameos in this season too - Andy Serkis (Lord of the Rings) turns up, as does Ian McDiarmid (Star Wars). Good engaging drama, plenty of edge-of-your-seat tension - Spooks gives good value for very watchable tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spooks Series 3, 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I sought help from Amazon to locate for purchase, the TV Series "Spooks" Series 3. Amazon located the required program and provided me with a very competitive price to purchase the 5 disc series in an attractive case. The package duly arrived (well within the expected delivery dates), and I have since watched the entire series. Excellent quality. Well done Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spooks - BBC Series 3 (New Packaging) [DVD] (DVD)
good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spooks - BBC Series 3 (New Packaging) [DVD]
Spooks - BBC Series 3 (New Packaging) [DVD] by Keeley Hawes (DVD - 2011)
£13.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews