Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need to know for cultural literacy
This is a quick review of the book not a dissertation on Darwin or any other subject loosely related. At first I did not know what to expect. I already read " The Voyage of the Beagle: Charles Darwin's Journal of Researches" (see my review). I figured the book would be similar. However I found "Origin" to be more complex and detailed.

Taking in account that...
Published on 3 May 2010 by bernie

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An amazing piece of literature but a terrible company
The book is amazing...when it finally arrived the delivery was appalling and the book is by weak and flimsy better of getting a hard back, but if you are not willing to spend the price of a quality hardback then this product is ok for a bargain bin product
Published 18 months ago by lilybarringham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need to know for cultural literacy, 3 May 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a quick review of the book not a dissertation on Darwin or any other subject loosely related. At first I did not know what to expect. I already read " The Voyage of the Beagle: Charles Darwin's Journal of Researches" (see my review). I figured the book would be similar. However I found "Origin" to be more complex and detailed.

Taking in account that recent pieces of knowledge were not available to Charles Darwin this book could have been written last week. Having to look from the outside without the knowledge of DNA or Plate Tectonics, he pretty much nailed how the environment and crossbreeding would have an effect on natural selection. Speaking of natural selection, I thought his was going to be some great insight to a new concept. All it means is that species are not being mucked around by man (artificial selection).

If you picked up Time magazine today you would find all the things that Charles said would be near impossible to find or do. Yet he predicted that it is doable in theory. With an imperfect geological record many things he was not able to find at the writing of this book have been found (according to the possibilities described in the book.)

The only draw back to the book was his constant apologizing. If he had more time and space he could prove this and that. Or it looks like this but who can say at this time. Or the same evidence can be interpreted 180 degrees different.

In the end it is worth reading and you will never look at life the same way again.

The Ascent of Man by Jacob Bronowski
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece, 28 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as amazing now as it must of been when first released. read it, read it agian, then re-read before getting everyone you know to read it, hopefully you'll lead someone away from the darkside. whilst reading, really think about the massive impact this book has had and wonder at the amazing theory being proved on a daily basis. a true great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating introduction to the theory of evolution, 24 Jan 2011
Charles Darwin is undoubtedly one of the most important scientists of his time. Although some of the knowledge in this book is not current, has been built upon or is wrong, it remains an important text.

I would recommend this to any person who is remotely interested in the evolution of life on Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everyone should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After 20 years of God, I finally read the origin of species and I must say that this is an eye opener. This book is truly a reflection of Darwin and about life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book that changed the world, 30 May 2014
By 
teatime (directly above the centre of the earth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On the Origin of Species; By Means of Natural Selection (Kindle Edition)
A book that changed the world, Darwin is to biology what Newton is to physics. Although the idea has progressed considerably since this book was written (Darwin had no knowledge of DNA) it is still worth reading such a wonderfully written and important book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quick service, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everything was as expected. Was in good shape, everything as stated and a good price for value. Thanks a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Origin of Species; By Means of Natural Selection (Kindle Edition)
Darwin delayed publishing this book for years because, arguably, religious fanaticism was even more prevalent then than it is now. Eventually, with other scientists moving towards the same conclusions as his own, he released it (and predictably it met with great criticism from the establishment).
Still in this more secular age many parents would prefer that Creationism was taught in schools rather than Evolution (and presumably Alchemy instead of Chemistry and Astrology instead of Astronomy).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic book, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't expect anything more. This book came in great conditions as its content, a remarkable book to anyone who is into our evolution
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The foundation of biology and life's endless diversity, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Origin of Species; By Means of Natural Selection (Kindle Edition)
Charles Darwin has spoken with clarity....,,,his reflections, derived from painstaking observations, and the logic of his reasoning are unrivalled. Supported ever since by findings from genetics and molecular biology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews