Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still a great series but quite a change from the earlier two seasons
I love the UK version of Being Human and I must admit to being mystified as to why the Americans decided to make their own version of the show (but that's another story). Like Season 2, there are only eight episodes in Season 3 of Being Human, but as with all three seasons, the creators manage to pack a whole lot into those episodes. We watched Season 1 as a "marathon",...
Published on 18 Aug. 2011 by P. Ketels

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Being Human Series 3
Didn't realise that the DVD was going to be a different zone from here, cannot play it...... Probably would've been a good idea to highlight this to potential customers.
Published on 31 Jan. 2012 by Sam


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still a great series but quite a change from the earlier two seasons, 18 Aug. 2011
By 
P. Ketels "Trish" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the UK version of Being Human and I must admit to being mystified as to why the Americans decided to make their own version of the show (but that's another story). Like Season 2, there are only eight episodes in Season 3 of Being Human, but as with all three seasons, the creators manage to pack a whole lot into those episodes. We watched Season 1 as a "marathon", with loads of episodes back-to-back, but for Seasons 2 and 3 as things picked up in the story lines and got a whole lot more intense, we found we could only watch one or two episodes at a time because they were so intense and fraught that we needed breathers in between. By Season 3 things have taken some slightly mystifying twists. For example, they're now living in a former B&B in Wales, and not just anywhere in Wales, but at Barry Island, which I just can't think of without thinking about the BBC series Gavin and Stacey. To be honest this relocation was a little distracting and made me wonder if they'd somehow been filming Gavin and Stacey at the same time or had an old crew set up there that made it easier to be in Barry. Plus, the actor who plays Stacey's mum, Gwen, turns up as a very "special" (you'll see for yourself) vampire character, who just happens to live in Barry. I think one of the downsides of the series for me was the appearance of Robson Green as a new character. Much as I like Robson Green as an actor, part of the charm of the show is that the characters are (to me, anyway) relative unknowns, so they can really take on their characters well, but Robson Green is such a big name that I find his presence distracting. Not that he's bad in the role, but hopefully you see what I mean. If there is any real negative to this series, I'm disappointed by the final episode (again, I won't spoil it, watch for yourself) and, I guess, by the fact that the relationship between the original three characters really starts to fall apart in this season, where it was always their being a "family" of sorts that got them through things. Of course doubt, uncertainty and falling out with people you care about is all part of "being human", but given that they have each know what the other is from the start, I found the reactions of some of them a little disappointing (the theory being that Mitchell as a vampire will always be fighting violent tendencies and sometimes losing, yet the possibility that both George and Nina could themselves be violent and hurt others is not really addressed, making it, for me, an unbalanced argument). Anyway, all in all a good season that's well worth watching. I've heard they are doing a fourth season, so I'll be interested to see how that pans out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (There's something wrong with) Human Nature, 2 Mar. 2011
After really enjoying the first two series' of Being Human I was excited to hear that a third was due to be broadcast on BBC3. This then is the aforementioned series; noticeably darker then the (admittedly pretty dark) previous series and significantly more adult than the first, the third series opens where the second left off - Annie imprisoned in some kind of nether world between Heaven and Hell and awaiting her ultimate fate.
This series sees the return (albeit briefly in at least one case) of several key characters from Series One, while relations in the new house are changing rapidly.
Robson Green appears in this series in an unusual role, whilst Mitchell gains a fanboy and Nina has potentially devastating news for George.
Still billed as a 'Horror/Comedy', the show is now more like straight horror with quirky characters and the odd spot of (extremely) black comedy. The characters undergo various traumas in this third series, although the focus is very much on Mitchell as he attempts to atone for the Box Tunnel Massacre at the climax of the previous series.
The series ends on something of a cliffhanger and it will be interesting to see where a fourth series will go after the devastating events that conclude this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The British Buffy?, 17 Mar. 2011
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Being Human - Series 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A vampire, a werewolf and a ghost share a flat. Sounds like the opening line to a bad joke doesn't it? And as a result this did put me off Being Human. However after hearing nothing but good things about this series i decided to give it a try and it's safe to say i am now completely and utterly hooked. A brilliantly acted, written and made series, not a bad episode in this at all, the cast are all excellent, we have a vampire in torment over his past which to be honest is becoming a cliche now but Aidan Turner is excellent as tormented vampire Mitchell and the rest of the cast are all equally good too. Twists and turns throughout which makes Being Human one of the best British shows in years and the finale is simply superb. There is an American remake which i am curious to watch but as much of a fan of American tv as i am, it'll have to be pretty damn good to beat this. Being Human is i suppose you could say a British Buffy as it does have elements of that classic show's humour and writing. If you're already a fan you'll love it and if like me you're a newcomer i think you'll be hooked if you like quality drama which is what this show is. Roll on season 4!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wolf shaped bullet, 25 Aug. 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The supernatural gang has left Bristol behind, but leaving the past behind is a little harder.

And "Being Human Season 3" is all about the bloody, terrifying past catching up to the main characters, whether it's an amnesiac vampire or a mass murder on a subway. The writers manage to throw some interesting curveballs into the characters' lives, but Aidan Turner's tormented vampire is the best part of it all.

Nina, George and Mitchell have purchased a small Welsh B&B as their new home, and everything seems potentially perfect... except Annie is trapped in purgatory, and she's headed for hell. Desperate to save her, Mitchell follows a newly-dead spirit into purgatory, where he is faced with his bloodiest sins -- and a prophecy that a "werewolf-shaped bullet" will kill him.

So the reunited gang continues trying to have a normal life, grappling with "normal" problems and supernatural ones, including a vampiric teenager, a tragic zombie, cage-fights, evil vampire suburbanites, and a pair of werewolves living in the woods. But things take a horrifying turn when George finds that Herrick has somehow come back to life -- and though he doesn't seem to remember who he is/was, he hasn't lost his evil. And after Herrick causes another horrifying incident, Mitchell's desperation will lead to another tragedy...

"Being Human Season Three" might as well be called the "Mitchell Season," because Aidan Turner really steals the show: Mitchell is tormented by the Box Tunnel Massacre, his fear of being caught, and his ever-growing terror of his impending death. Turner is absolutely sublime, slowly ramping up Mitchell's fear, desperation and erraticism as the season goes on, until it seems like the vampire is about to crack.

Not that the other characters get shortchanged, because they get plenty of attention too. Annie really blossoms when she begins an undead romance with Mitchell. George and Nina have to grapple with a very common problem when Nina becomes pregnant, and George also has to deal with his father's recent death.

And the writers make this season a pretty solid one, twisting together multiple dark storylines about revenge, hatred, suspicion and (of course) the Box Tunnel Massacre. It grows tenser and bleaker as the season goes on, and the seemingly-solid relationships between the housemates start to fray. And even the one-off plots seem to be a bit darker, although the vampire-teen one was hilarious. It finishes up on the single darkest episode of the whole series.

But there are some funny moments (George's repeated lament that "I only wanted a pee!"), as well as some touching moments (Nina asking George if he wants to "have a little hairy baby" with her).

"Being Human Season Three" just shows that even vampires and werewolves can't run away from their problems -- and when their problems catch up, things get messy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - a worthwhile follow on from the first two series, 26 April 2011
By 
James Rands (Europe) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series starts where the last left off - obviously. Mitchell, George and Nina are looking for a house and with the full moon coming very soon they are forced to take an old B and B in Barry South Wales. (I spent a lot of time in Barry as a kid and if you are not familiar with the place - it really is a bit rough.) The wonderfully tacky decor they don't have time to change is superb.

Mitchell is on a mission to get Annie back from purgatory. This will involve trials and supernatural tribulations which will test him to his very limits. In the meantime George and Nina's relationship is developing, there's a teenage vampire who manages to combine being 43 with having the hormonal urges of a 14 year old boy, a South Walian vampiric infrastructure, a father and son werewolf team hunted by vampires determined to run "dog fights", Mitchell's brutal slaughter with Daisy from series two is the big news and the police are closing in and as we saw at the end of series two Herrick is back.

The series is dark - darker than the previous series which were pretty dark. Mitchell is a tortured soul even more than previously, having to live with what he's done, his growing relationship with Annie and protecting Nina and George. George and Nina are entering a new phase. But the story with Herrick is superb. He is back but is he really the same Herrick? Jason Watkins is brilliant and his interaction with Erin Richards as the detective Lucy is really chilling.

So it is often funny, gripping, dark, engaging and all the things that the first two series were. A fantastic follow on from series two and with a set up for series four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
personally I think they should have left us with the pilot - that was supurb.

Season 1 and 2 were Brilliant.

Season 3 is the end of the original vision and as such is perfect. And the perfect place to stop. Yes, there are two more seasons and yes, I am the proud owner of all 5 seasons and yes I watch them all but this really is the perfect end.

I have to note that there is now a complete boxed set season 1-5 and that is the best value for money,
but
stop
here.
CW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved loved loved this series, 26 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Do not be put off the sci-fi or horror tags - this is far more dramatic and funny than most other BBC programmes.

The writers set the scene at end of Series 2 for a pretty powerful storyline for Mitchell that then impacts on everyone around him, and the series brings a national spotlight onto the actions of vampires. The intensity builds up fantastically and there is a good mix of action and character, with some excellent grandstanding from Aidan Turner (Mitchell), Sinead Keenan (Nina) and Jason Watkins (Herrick). I would have liked more development for Annie and George but they gave good support and provided some lighter comedy - especially George's atrocious attempts at lying.

This series really tested my morals about what I think about punishment and forgiveness and it left me in quite a surprising place that made me want to rewatch all the previous episodes. Fantastic characters and very believable (from a psychologist's point of view) development of them - excellent dialogue too.

Plus spending 8 hours in the company of the delicious Aidan Turner is never a chore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Being Human :), 31 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is only one thing wrong with Series 3 - the ending. I am heartbroken!!

Being Human is the funniest, creepiest & most heartwarming programme ever. The writing is superb & the acting is brilliant. This could have been an absolute turkey or should it be a chicken (on a string)!! I think it's the only programme where I have actually wished that I could have been an extra.

But you have to see Series 1 & 2 first.

Oh and Aidan Turner is the best vampire EVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Being Human in Barry, 5 July 2014
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A three disc dvd set. Containing all eight hour long [approx.] episodes of the third season of Being Human. A BBC drama about the unlikely friendship between a vampire, a werewolf, and a ghost. As they try to live normal lives.

This is not a good jumping on point as It has built up a fair bit of backstory by now. New viewers to the show should start with season one.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English.

Subtitles: English.

Picking up a short while after the end of the second season, this one starts with the group re-locating to Wales. But life doesn't get any easier. Annie is still trapped in purgatory. Mitchell is determined to rescue her from there. Even though a price might have to be paid.

Meantime, George and Nina conceive a baby. Whilst they're in werewolf form. A werewolf pregnancy is new territory for all concerned. Then there's the two other werewolves they chance on. The fact that the police are still looking for the bob tunnel killer. The response of other vampires to that action.

And the last scene from the end of season two also has consequences.

Prophecy and destiny are going to catch up with Mitchell. No matter what he does to stop them...

This is a show that has by now really gotten into it's stride, so all involved know exactly what they are doing. And every episode is a quality production and time well spent watching. It does manage some good character based humour at times in earlier episodes. Some of these are monster of the week self contained storylines but the bigger plotlines are always there.

These all kick in big time from episode five onwards.

The show does manage a difficult balancing act very well, since Mitchell does remain a sympathetic character in spite of all his actions. There are excellent themes running throughout about friendship and romance and revenge and redemption. It does make you think about all of those.

The final episode does keep things going right to the end. Set up things to come. And leave the show in a state where it will never be the same again. As season finales go, it's a very memorable one indeed.

The third disc has several extras:

Eleven minutes worth of deleted scenes. Which can only be watched all in a row not individually.

Twenty one minutes worth of interviews - done individually - with the four main cast members. Which can also only be watched all in a row.

And a fun four minute long tour of the set.

Another great season of an excellent drama, and a good dvd set for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Being Human, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the series so bought it , cheap addition to my collection, good Buy. and well worth the money 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Being Human - Series 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Being Human - Series 3 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Aidan Turner (Blu-ray - 2011)
£11.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews