Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic!
Not sure what game whitetornado is reviewing but it certainly cannot be Top Spin 4! I have to say, this is one of the best sports games I have ever played on the 360 and by far and away the best tennis game!

It is not only highly addictive, but incredibly challenging and rewarding. Both career mode and online are brilliant, giving you the ability to develop...
Published on 1 April 2011 by D. Francis

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but has a few BIG flaws
TS4 is a good game, as other reviews have said great graphics, it's quite realistic and good game play. However, there are, in my opinion, a few flaws which really let it down and irritate the heck out of me.

First, you can't match the playing stats of the top 4 players, even when you reach level 20 (the highest level in career mode) this is not fair and gives...
Published on 11 Feb. 2012 by Mr. D. Dickinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars getting there, 22 Mar. 2011
By 
P. Milner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Spin 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Top spin 4 is a massive improvement on Top Spin 3, but it's still got a way to go before it becomes a great tennis experience, having said that don't let it put you off because it is a great game.

The controls are much improved from the last game, volleying at the net is now a treat.

My only major gripe is the fact that they don't use the real tournaments like Wimbledon.

It's a fun tennis game that could be slightly better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Spin 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A great games for all the family, including 30 something parents & 60 something grandparents...A must have for any tennis fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present for grandson., 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Spin 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My first purchase from Amazon. Could not source product locally although my grandson requested Top Spin 4 for
His birthday in October. He has played with the game a lot already and is really enjoying it. A great product and
a very efficient service on a last minute order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All about timing!, 29 Nov. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Top Spin 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have played Top Spin 1, 3 and now 4. Top Spin 4 is such a big improvement over 3 for numerous reasons. Some of these are the changing of the career calendar which allow for much more variety to the season. The games are much harder to play and offer more of a challenge, (I can get a solid difficult game on Very Hard as now as it was too easy on 3). There are still alot of well known players but I find it annoying that Maria Sharapova isn't in the starting rosters of the game and has been replace by one of the Williams sisters.

The game has also got rid of holding down LT and RT for power and control shots and instead have to hold the button down for power an tap for control. The game more than ever focuses on the timing of your shots and returns. Trust me this can easily make a shot too easy to return or make it a game winner. Coaches are available to help improve your game and give you special abilities (like greater top spin or being a longer rally specialist) to name a few, this again is a really good innovation and put an end to the spending points in specific slots for leveling up. Now you gain XP from matches and when you have enough you put it Into Baseline Defense, Baseline Offence, or Serve and Volleying. These will give you a permanent boost to your attributes whereas coaches are not and you loose their bonuses once you change coach.

Now there is the option of doing doubles tournaments and matches which for me is a huge plus over 3, still not able to put more that 1 player created player out there but still a big improvement for me.

I myself liked the little heart rate meter at the top next to the player but that is gone and replaced by a bar to show stamina which stays on the throughout the game, very small so not to really get noticed.

As ever the graphics are stunning for a 2k game as the normally always are, the improvement from 3 is huge I'm already hugely taken with this game. Very good game !Despite RAFA NADAL being OP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Spin 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Graphice are good and it looks very realistic. Lots of different playing options, career mode , exhibition matches etc. Would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Favourite for father and son!!!!, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Spin 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this game for my 11 year old son. He absolutely loves it (as does his dad!!). No negatives to comment on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, worthwhile investment, 11 July 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Spin 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game was a good buy, it strikes a perfect balance between being easy to pick up and play but very difficult to master. While I enjoy tennis, I am not a massive fan but this game was still enjoyable, and would be to anyone of any level of interest in the sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best tennis game, 12 Feb. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Top Spin 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is the best tennis game on any platform. In my opinion it is also one of the best sports games ever. Tennis is a pretty tough sport to make a decent computer game out of, and this is the best attempt at recreating the game that I've seen.
The control system takes a little time to get used to, helped by the ability to play against a ball machine, and by the tutorial lessons, and once you start to get the hang of it it really does work very well. It gives you a good deal of freedom in terms of shot type and placement and you really do feel in control over where the ball is going. The artificial intelligence it pretty good and significantly better than I've ever seen in a tennis game. The 'real' players included do seem to play at least a little like their real counterparts and offer a good challenge, particularly when you meet them in Grand Slams. The career mode works well, starting out feeling pretty easy but becoming gradually more difficult as you gain access to tougher tournaments. By the time you reach Grand Slams, if you've kept the difficulty level at 'very hard' the whole time, it becomes fiendishly difficult! I've had the game nearly a year now and I've only won one Grand Slam! You are allowed to change the difficulty during a career, but that seems like cheating to me :-) On the whole though, the game gets difficult because the opponents become more consistent, accurate and intelligent with their shot choices and placement, such that you feel like you're being outplayed by a good player, not that it is being made deliberately impossible by a computer.
The game is frustrating at times, but I feel this is usually because the game of tennis can be pretty frustrating - not because there is something wrong with the mechanics of the game.
The rewards during the career mode are good - it takes some time before you find yourself playing against any recognisable players, so when you do suddenly come up against James Blake, Andy Roddick or Djokovik etc., it is a great moment. Winning a close, hard-fought match against a top player is very satisfying.
The graphics are pretty good, without being particularly impressive, and the atmosphere is ok, although it would have been nice if they had commentry or something to bring the game to life a little more.
Highly recommended game for tennis fans. I feel it really has been underrated as a sports game/sim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 24 Jan. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Top Spin 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is the best tennis game ever. Keeps you interested all the time, it is simple enough for a newbie to pick up but has sufficient advanced features to keep you hooked on. The only con I would say is that you cannot play a campaign mode with one of the licensed players, but it is fun neverthless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 16 Oct. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Top Spin 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
What a game. The in game graphics and playability are top notch.

As a tennis player I have been very disappointed with a lot of tennis games over the years. Non of them seem to get it right. This plays, feels and looks like a real tennis game.

Against the better plays you have get it right tactically to beat them. Just like in real life, so when playing Nadal, keep it away from his forehand, Roddicks serve is awesome... etc.., so think carefully when you are creating your own player and the style that you want to play with.

The career mode is addictive and will keep you entertained for a very long time....

Love the little touches... like when you slide to get a ball on clay, it leaves a skid mark that is there for the whole game. The court looks immaculate at the beginning and by the end of a tough match, it looks.....well, like a tough tennis match has been played on it.
My dad was watching the T.V. the other day, not realising that I was on the X Box and in the middle of an epic Nadal Vs Federer and after a few minutes said "is there anything else on?" Thats how realistic the gameplay is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Spin 4 (Xbox 360)
Top Spin 4 (Xbox 360) by Take 2 Interactive (Xbox 360)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews