Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it!!
this album will not change the world but it will definitely make your life a better place to be for the next few months. Beautiful harmonies, great melodies. buy it!!
Published on 3 Feb 2011 by trike

versus
2 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not teenage fanclub
This is not teenage fanclub, it is the geeza from teenage fanclub, but not the singer. The singer is teeh guy from Gorkis - be warned. Its alright, but its not teenage fanclub.
Published on 15 Jun 2011 by morse75


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it!!, 3 Feb 2011
This review is from: Jonny (Audio CD)
this album will not change the world but it will definitely make your life a better place to be for the next few months. Beautiful harmonies, great melodies. buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Jonny, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: Jonny (Audio CD)
This is simply a great little album. Some insanely catchy tunes, dreamy melodies and very funny lyrics (as you'd expect from Euros Childs), it's just a lot of fun. Standout tracks are the singles Candyfloss and You Was Me, along with Goldmine and Cavedance.

I don't understand why this album hasn't met with more acclaim - maybe Euros and Norman Blake don't take themselves as seriously as most other musicians, but for me that's a good thing. This isn't a Teenage Fanclub record and it's not a Gorky's record. It's just a lovely, unpretentious record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Familiar yet new, 20 Mar 2012
This review is from: Jonny (Audio CD)
Good old Norman Blake. This is just what you'd expect from the Fannies and Gorky's. No surprises but a warmth and cosiness none the less. Like sitting down by an open fire with a pint of real ale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Feel Good Album, 13 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Jonny (Audio CD)
We saw an embryonic Jonny set at Green Man in 2009 and very good it was too. The album has the same quality of gently hooking you in plus slightly tarted up sound. The real clincher though is the fact that you just have to smile listening to it - how many albums do that? So great harmonies, winning lyrics and the feeling that they must have had a blast making it. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jonny, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jonny (Audio CD)
Featuring the vocal and writing talents of Norman Blake, lead singer of Scotlands finest, Teenage Fanclub, this is a lively cd with a set of strong melodies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jonny, 26 Mar 2011
This review is from: Jonny (Audio CD)
Jonny is timeless, it could have been written in 1968 or 1993; in that respect it is the 'Village Green' or the 'Modern Life is Rubbish' of 2011; whilst it's quality never ever touches those albums it is comparable in several ways, it is upbeat, it is sweet and there are songs that speak up for the mundane, but always in a charming, affable manner.

At it's best the album almost equals the efforts of many of its ever more lauded peers, from 'You Was Me' through to 'The Goodnight' Jonny set the bar surprisingly high; 'Cave Dance' on the other hand sets a new bar in terms of filler, a cheery all too sugary 'We Will Fall' for the "teenies" or whatever is we are expected to refer to this decade as. At its worst Jonny have erred one step too far on the side of twee, the opener would be befitting to a children's TV show about a schizophrenic witch whilst 'Bread' tastes more like chocolate cake.

But I don't mean to speak ill of the music here as a whole, with songs as brilliant simple as 'English Lady' and 'I Want To Be Around You' you would be mad not to be content with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Beautiful Thing, 5 April 2011
This review is from: Jonny (Audio CD)
Jonny by Jonny has gotta be an early contender for album of the year, with sublime songwriting and subtle playing throughout, evoking memories of Fanclub at their best, the Kinks in part and, even, dare I say it, the Quo ? A summery feelgood album, written with warmth and humour, I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!! GorkyAge ZygotoClub, 5 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Jonny (Audio CD)
This is a great, great album! Some people won't like the comparisons i'm gonna make between Gorky's(Euros) and Teenage Fanclub, but its important to know the history. But keep in mind that JONNY has a unique style all its own which makes this really superb.

There are 5 Euros Childs tracks here and 8 tracks co-written by Norman Blake and Euros Childs. I will also review the four bonus tracks that appear on my import version of the disc, its not clear who wrote those 4 tracks (Euros or Norman or both) except the last track Michealangelo was written by the 60's band 23rd Turnoff.

Track 1 "Wich is Wich", is a Euros Childs track. This track reminds me of the Gorky's song "Poodle Rockin". Its a fun start to the album, a little overly repetetive, but still retaining an original quality outside of Gorky's or Euros Childs previous material.

Track 2 "Candyfloss" was co-written by both Blake and Childs. This is the stuff right here!!! Great combination of Euros-style and Blake-style arrangements!
Beautiful melody and harmonies in the chorus and a very 60's influenced verse. The organ reminds me of "Incense and Peppermints". Perfect track!

Track 3 "Waiting Around for You", again co-written. Nice rock and roll piano feel, good song, nothing incredible here, just plain good music!

Track 4 "Goldmine", written by Euros Childs. Great old Gorky's style tune! Not as psychedelic as some of the old Gorky's, but it does have that quality with slightly distorted vocals and some dissonance. Very nice track!

Track 5 "You was Me", co-written. Very nice rural California 60's sounding tune. Again, this is a great 50-50 combination of Euros and Norman. Nice tune with good harmonies.

Track 6 "Circling the Sun", co-written. This sounds like a Norman Blake tune to me, but it says co-written by Euros and Norman. Very Fanclub sounding, this is one of my favorite songs on this album. It doesn't have the uniqueness of the Euros-Blake tracks like Candyfloss and Bread, but its a great 60's sounding track with perfect harmonies.

Track 7 "English Lady", written by Euros Childs. Very excellent Euros track. It sounds like a Euros-Blake track because it has the harmonies and a pretty straightforward arrangement. This track reminds me of the "Barafundle" era Gorky's stuff.

Track 8 "The Goodnight", Co-written. Ok, I like this track but its very very Buffalo Springfield, which is fine because I like Buffalo Springfield. Not as original as some of the other co-written songs here, but very nice.

Track 9 "Bread", Co-written. Beautifully arranged composition, a standout track for sure, and a great combination of styles. Definitely a Queen influence here on the harmonies, and a Gorky's sounding Euros-piano carrying the song all the way through. Somewhat to the left for Norman Blake, great song!!!

Track 10 "Cave Dance", Co-written. Way out in left field for Norman Blake! I haven't heard anything that Norman Blake was involved with that sounded this experimental(Except "The King"). I would say Euros had a lot of influence on this overlong 10+ minute track.
But thats what music is all about, experimentation, and these guys are doing it, taking chances. Sometimes it works brilliantly, sometimes its an experiment, but I like this track and its 10 full mintues of Cave Dancing. Very repetive, but very enjoyable.

Track 11 "I want to be Around You", written by Euros Childs. Great track Euros! Sounds like Norman is rubbing off a little on Mr. Childs, as this track seems to have a lot of Norman's influence. Not just in the harmonies, but the lyrics and arrangement remind me of the Norman's writing. But it is a Euros track and could also have fit right in with some of the later Gorky's stuff or Euros solo material. Amazing how it retains its separate influences. Very melodic track with nice harmonies.

Track 12 "I'll Make Her My Best Friend", written by Euros Childs. One of my favorite tracks on this album, but way too short! This song is a minute and a half long. Its somewhat country-influenced in a Euros sort of way, with Teenage style harmonies and some really nice country-style guitar. They should have added another minute at the end with that slide-style guitar stuff. Too short. Great "JONNY" sound.

Track 13 "Never Alone" co-written. A great combination of Euros and Blake, and the perfect end to a brilliant album. This track is very slow, but very melodic and just a great song. It sums up the original combination of Norman Blake and Euros Childs and their new band JONNY. Great harmonies!

Bonus EP:

"Gloria" - A nice acoustic track with a folky sound and great harmonies between Euros and Blake.

"Beach Party" - Great sunshine pop track with acoustic guitars, handclaps and billiant harmonies!

"Continental" - Beach Boys influenced surf sound here, very repetive, but a great sound for JONNY that should be explored more in the future.

"Michael Angelo" - written by the 23rd Turnoff. I've been listening to 23rd Turnoff for a while now. I heard about them a few years back. They were a 60's band, and I'm not sure if they went into the 70's or not. The disc I have by 23rd Turnoff is really excellent with great harmonies and if you like that 60's sound you will really like 23rd Turnoff.
I really like JONNY's rendition of this song, great harmonies, almost sounds like Simon and Garfunkle doing a cover of Micheal Angelo, but of course we can hear Norman and Euros loud and clear. Great Song, great performance!

Anyway, get this album!!! Buy the import with the bonus tracks if you can find it, because Mp3's aren't the real thing! Get JONNY in full quality, its worth the price, this is a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poptastic, 23 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Jonny (MP3 Download)
Fantastic pop, country, garage rock of the highest order. Every track is a winner, nearly. The cover is very amusing too; the perfect feel-good record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jonny, 30 May 2011
This review is from: Jonny (Audio CD)
Absolutely brilliant suits every mood some wicked songs which really pick you up and you can't help not only tapping your feet but having to get up an dance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jonny
Jonny by Jonny
Buy MP3 Album£4.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews