Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice!
4 Stars, because "The Universe - 7 Wonders of the Solar System in 3D" is the bonus disc from

-> "The Universe Season 5 (with Bonus 3D Disc)" <-

So it is better to buy only "The Universe Season 5 (with Bonus 3D Disc)".

I bought both because I thought they are different, but they are the same and no information about that from Amazon! :(
Published on 7 Aug 2011 by duno

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother
Like many people, my family and I are interested in astronomy, and having recently bought a 3D television The Universe seemed like a good movie to buy.

The movie features what the creators call the "7 wonders of the solar system". Each wonder is given a brief description that comes across like an education tool. It's not entertaining at all and not very...
Published on 6 July 2012 by Artist Ash


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice!, 7 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Universe - 7 Wonders of the Solar System in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
4 Stars, because "The Universe - 7 Wonders of the Solar System in 3D" is the bonus disc from

-> "The Universe Season 5 (with Bonus 3D Disc)" <-

So it is better to buy only "The Universe Season 5 (with Bonus 3D Disc)".

I bought both because I thought they are different, but they are the same and no information about that from Amazon! :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good computer generated effects, 8 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Universe - 7 Wonders of the Solar System in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I have seen this on Sky's 3D channel, and the 3D effects were amazing. The parts showing the CGI 'space ship's' computer panel were shown in several layers, and were astounding. I think the thing to remember with 3D T.V is that the effects are shown as depth (as if looking through a window) rather than things coming out of the screen (although you do get a few things showing this). Of all the 3D films I have seen at home (about a dozen on a Sony Bravia 3D T.V) it's the depth, and the illusion of 3D as distance and perspective that make's 3D great viewing, rather than objects flying out of the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 6 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Universe - 7 Wonders of the Solar System in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Like many people, my family and I are interested in astronomy, and having recently bought a 3D television The Universe seemed like a good movie to buy.

The movie features what the creators call the "7 wonders of the solar system". Each wonder is given a brief description that comes across like an education tool. It's not entertaining at all and not very interesting either.

The film is quite short and the visuals are a real let down. The thought of the milky way in 3D was one of the main attractions to this bluray but it is possibly the worst 3D movie I've seen and I have watched more than twenty.

Save your money for one of the many other 3D movies that are both captivating and visually stunning. The Universe is neither.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good effort but could be better., 1 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Universe - 7 Wonders of the Solar System in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
7 Wonders of the Solar System is an attempt to use 3D to show some features of our solar system. Frankly I would have preferred a simple guide to the first 7 planets but instead items such as Enceladus, the asteroid belt and the giant Volcanoe on Mars are explored.

The 3D is a hit and miss affair. Sometimes image depth is astounding and we are treated to deep shots of space that go way back behind the screen. At other times the 3D is so forced you struggle to focus, particularly on background objects that look clear and should be easy to see.

James Cameron would no doubt say that this is due to using side by side Cameras with limited control over the stereo space. In layman's terms it results in images that are VERY difficult to focus on resulting in eye fatigue which is precisely what I experienced with this Bluray disk. For an example try focussing on the man and woman outside the observatory near the telescope and the problem is clear to see. The 3D is so forced that its hard work and it just should not be like this.

Ghosting crops up around asteroids and Saturn too as well as the rather gimmicky space ship although again, the sense of depth on the external shot of the ship is very good indeed.

Its not all bad by any means. There are some computer graphics that represent an digital instrument display that really pop out of the screen by several feet and some shots are very beautiful.

The Sun at times looked good and at others was very hard work to focus on and looked like the pointed end of an egg poking out of the screen. At other times I simply could not focus on it at all.

When all is said and done making 3D movies and programs is an art that at the present time very few people have the necessary skills to pull off. Any studio or broadcasting company wanting to do 3D could do a lot worse that to talk to Cameron-Pace and learn the do's and don'ts when shooting in 3D. They did after all spend years learning how to make a three plus hour movie that doesn't "rip your eyes out of your head".

This 3D Bluray is 40 minutes long and by far THE most tiring 3D experience I have had to date. The production crew have a LOT to learn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is what 3D was designed for, 31 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. Mark Ford (Lutterworth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Universe - 7 Wonders of the Solar System in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is what 3D was designed for! Planets and asteroids whizzing out of the screen at you.

On the minus side the commentary is given by a fellow with a VERY american accent and he treats you as if you are a ten-year-old i.e. he simplifies everything and repeats it about five times.

A couple of the people that he interviews are quite sensible but again they 'talk down' to you.

If you remove all the times that the presenter repeats himself then this title is only about 45 minutes long so it is not good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars solar system!!!, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Universe - 7 Wonders of the Solar System in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Expected more about Solar system rather than odd bits. Not worth buying if if details of all the Solar system wanted.
However the 3D effects quite good .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Get Season 5 instead!, 26 April 2012
By 
This review is from: The Universe - 7 Wonders of the Solar System in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Thanks to another review (from "Duno"), I bought "The Universe Season 5 (with Bonus 3D Disc)" instead and for about the same price! The full product only is worth buying and watching in 2D -the documentary itself is well made and accessible to all ages- but don't waste money for this 3D disc alone!

This 3D realisation should be kept as a reference on how to fail the 3D effect consistently ! If you look for good 3D documentaries, try any of the IMAX 3D titles instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 13 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Universe - 7 Wonders of the Solar System in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Although this was quite interesting in content the filming and particularly the 3D effect was very disappointing. I had been expecting something dynamic and found this to be very flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good I think, 23 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Universe - 7 Wonders of the Solar System in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Having just bought a Sony 3D Tv and a Sony Blu-Ray 3D player I wanted to try out the 3D so bought this, delivered fast which is great.

I don't understand some of the negative reviews here - I wonder whether:
a: those people used a 3D blu-ray player?(I didn't at first)
b: if they selected the 3D option on the disc?

Although its short, I thought the 3D effects very good, I saw both depth in the TV and pop out effects into the room. However, when I first used it, it was in a normal standard blu-ray player and I watched it in 2D, it perplexed me because the imagery in 2D was very good, not all pink and green and blurred as 3D normally is to the naked eye and it was only when I realized I had been mis-sold a standard blu-ray player and swopped it for a 3D one that I saw how great the 3D is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Production, shame it's mainly fiction, 30 Aug 2014
By 
StephJ (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Universe - 7 Wonders of the Solar System in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Like most of the DVDs in this History Channel series, the production is excellent, rendering crisp and clear 3D. Many of the scenes are CG though, such as the plumes of Enceladus,, and the 'tiger stripes' depicted here as simple fracture zones caused by ice pressure, although a few others are genuine photographs and videos of solar system objects.

The reason this production (and the rest of the series) doesn't get 5 stars from me is the pathetic consensus "scientific" explanations given for all the phenomena shown. Other advocates of the Electric Universe will have been cringing and wincing at the amazingly naive and ridiculous explanations spouted out by so-called experts and scientists. The plumes or better still 'jets' of Enceladus are nor geysers of refrozen water ice at all but collimated ionic jets of electrical origin. The "tidal meading" is purely myth. These so-called scientists and scientific popularisers are hundreds of years behind and simply spout out consensus pseudoscience. One NASA expert spoke about "broken magnetic field lines" in the prominences of the Sun causing them to burst away from the sun. How, I ask, can you break (or for that matter reconnect) a magnetic field line? It is only a convenient concept to visualise the direction of magnetic flux, and the lines don't exist in reality any more than lines of latitude or longitude on Earth, or for that matter isobars in weather systems or contours on maps showing elevation. Perhaps the lady from NASA ought to look out lest she trip over a contour line or get blown over by an isobar. After all, are earthquakes really caused by contour lines snapping? The state of consensus science is at a crisis point, and its a shame that such beautiful DVDs are used to mislead yet more generations with the pseudoscientific clap-trap that is all too prelevant. Entertaining but not education!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews