Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If only it had Bluetooth
I was really excited to try this monitor as I already have the Bluetooth Withings Black Wifi Body Scale and find them excellent. The product and packaging both feature design which looks like it was heavily inspired by Apple. It is pretty simple to use - connect it to your iPad or iPhone (you'll need a lightning to dock connector if you have an iPhone 5), wrap the cuff...
Published 20 months ago by Emma W

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An expensive blood pressure monitor
Blood pressure monitors come alot cheaper than this model. But as with all things linked to Apple products you are going to pay a premium.

It is an effective way to keep detailed records over a period of time.

The results as shown in the app are attractive and easy to interpret - and this is really the best selling point - you will have access to as...
Published 19 months ago by Biff


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If only it had Bluetooth, 17 Nov 2012
By 
Emma W (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Withings Smart Blood Pressure Monitor (for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch) (Personal Care)
I was really excited to try this monitor as I already have the Bluetooth Withings Black Wifi Body Scale and find them excellent. The product and packaging both feature design which looks like it was heavily inspired by Apple. It is pretty simple to use - connect it to your iPad or iPhone (you'll need a lightning to dock connector if you have an iPhone 5), wrap the cuff around your arm and press start. The cuff inflates and slowly deflates and the result is displayed on your iOS device. It tells you your result, whether it is normal, higher end of normal etc and stores the data on a chart within the Withings app (download it for free on the app store) and, if you have the scales you can view both blood pressure and weight on the same page. If you take multiple blood pressure readings on the same day, it will work out the average and display that. Your heartbeats per minute are also measured. This system means you can keep a track of your blood pressure over a period of time without having to try and remember the results or write them down. You can even set reminders so your iOS device will tell you when you are due to take a measurement. If you have any concerns about your blood pressure, you could take your iOS device with you to the doctor and show them the results, or you can email them from within the app.

It's a great product, but I wish the cuff uploaded the results to the Withings app on your iOS device *wirelessly* (like the scales do) as I have a feeling that having to have the monitor and iOS device connected with a wire may make me less likely to take regular readings. Likewise, it doesn't work as a standalone product - you cannot use the monitor without an iPad/iPhone/iPod touch. Still a marvellous product though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expensive but super convenient, 20 Aug 2011
By 
Chris Hoare "Chris" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Withings Smart Blood Pressure Monitor (for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch) (Personal Care)
The Withings blood pressure monitor is a little more expensive than other blood pressure monitors but it comes with some unusual features. When amazon ship you the Withings Blood pressure monitor in the clearly apple inspired box is the blood pressure cuff itself, including the necessary AAA batteries to power it and a small manual going through its operation. To take a blood pressure reading you need to first download the free Withings app from the iTunes App Store onto your iPhone, iPod Touch or iPad. Once installed every time you connect the cuff it launches the app automatically for you. On first use or on demand the app takes you through how to take your blood pressure reading and use the device with simple step by step instructions. The cuff is designed to work with arms 9 to 17 in which means even large arms should work with no issue. Taking readings will likely be a similar experience to doing it at your doctors; the cuff inflates and slowly deflates; leaving you with the blood pressure measurement. The cuff itself shows a great deal of thought in the design there is a magnet holding the flap in place when not in use and the materials and finish all seem excellent.

Before you can use the app you need to complete a registration which links the readings from your device and allows them to be stored on their website for future reference. The benefit of this is that its easy to see the trends of your blood pressure or share it with your doctor using microsoft and googles health services or outputting the chart data to a pdf document. If you really like sharing there is even the option to post it to twitter; though I have no idea why.

I dinged a point as its expensive compared to other blood pressure logging devices (and massively more expensive than a simple monitor.) I also think that for a device designed to work with iPhones and iPads it really should come with a case to help you move it about safely. For me the extra expense was worth it when the data logging is taken into account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Apple 'add-on' device, 4 April 2012
This review is from: Withings Smart Blood Pressure Monitor (for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch) (Personal Care)
Following my criticism of the Windows-only Omron M10-IT that I reviewed, it was perhaps inevitable that I would be searching for a Mac compatible BP monitor. This machine is different from others in that it doesn't have a screen. Your IOS 5 device (iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch) becomes the monitor which displays the results once you've downloaded the free app from Apple's app store. And the cable to attach the BP monitor to your iPhone/iPad etc. is an electrical one, and is fixed to the aluminium tube which houses the innards and the 4 "AAA" batteries. Once out of its packaging, which in itself looks expensive, the product oozes quality in looks. The instructions are clear and concise. In use, you quickly realise this hardware is like a rather expensive `Apple add-on':

Advantages

1. Easily portable- although not all that light as the cuff houses the 4 "AAA" batteries
2. Convenient- can take several readings to work out the average
3. Accurate-its won industry awards for this
4. Saves to memory- permanent record
5. You can e-mail results to health carer
6. Easy operation- from screen of your IOS 5 device
7. Allows multiple users- individual readings for each user stored
8. Regular software updates when available- from Apple app store
9. Clear, easy to read results- in graph form or as a list

Disadvantages

1. Its use is dependent on possessing an IOS 5 device, otherwise it is useless
2. Its use is dependent on keeping your IOS 5 device- if you sell your only IOS 5 device, this BP gauge becomes useless
3. Expensive
4 No indicator light to tell if it's on- I had a problem when installing the batteries as it kept on displaying low battery power on my iPhone. I soon discovered it displays this even if there are no batteries installed. It really needs an indicator light showing that it is on
5. Device useful ONLY if you need to keep records for your health carer- if this doesn't matter, there are many cheaper alternatives.
6. Not compatible with Windows hardware
7. Cuff size fixed- the arm cuff on mine is a little on the large side so not really practical for thin or short arms.
8. Danger of becoming obsolete ? - if Apple continue developing their hardware along with frequent software updates, there's a possibility this device will no longer work with the then current version of its operating system.

Are you willing to accept that this device is limited to working only with an IOS 5 device and nothing else? If so, a 4 star rating for this product is about right taking everything into account. But unless you need to keep a record of your BP readings and don't own Apple IOS 5 devices, there are much cheaper and accurate alternatives supplied by the Omron range, for example. For those of us happy with Apple products and intend keeping our iPhones, iPads or iPod Touch for the foreseeable future, this gadget is the bees knees for measuring your blood pressure. But come on manufacturers, make a BP monitor which is compatible to both of the big fish operating systems !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple to use and a great motivation tool., 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Withings Smart Blood Pressure Monitor (for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch) (Personal Care)
I use this in conjunction with the Withings (iphone) app. It's pretty simple to use, is comfortable and (with the companion smartphone) app is good at giving you gentle reminders to check your BP regularly - say twice a week. Also makes a great complement to the Withings wireless weighing scales for a better all-round view of health including BMI, activity levels etc. Only subtracting a star because it has to be plugged into the 'lighting' connection on the iphone 5 - it really ought to use bluetooth. Otherwise well worth the price for a quality piece of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An expensive blood pressure monitor, 3 Dec 2012
By 
Biff - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Withings Smart Blood Pressure Monitor (for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch) (Personal Care)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Blood pressure monitors come alot cheaper than this model. But as with all things linked to Apple products you are going to pay a premium.

It is an effective way to keep detailed records over a period of time.

The results as shown in the app are attractive and easy to interpret - and this is really the best selling point - you will have access to as much data as you want.

It can also be set up for multiple users which may be handy if several people in the house need or want to keep an eye on their blood pressure.

Apart from the price the only real downside is that this product is limited to apple products running IOS 5 - you will forever be tied to apple if you want to keep using this device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Expensive for what it is., 1 Jan 2012
By 
J. Ryde "J" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Withings Smart Blood Pressure Monitor (for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch) (Personal Care)
I've started to take my BP on a regular basis. My parents had bought a much cheaper BP model some years ago. Occasionally when I would borrow theirs. However it only took one reading (no averaging) but was very easy and quick to put on. The withings BP links to my iPhone and its automation is convenient. However, it does take a little longer to set up and plae around your arm than the cheaper models, so you should bear this in mind as you will lkely be taking your BP on a regular basis. Ive also noticed the Withings product doesnt squeeze my arm as tight (when inflating the armband) as the cheaper model do, but Im not sure if this is a good thing or not?! If automation is not your priority, Save your money and go for the cheaper models. I'm quite sure they will do just as good a job. Make sure you get one that averages your readings i.e takes 3 readings then calculates an average. This will give you a more accurate picture of what's going on. I maybe doing a video review on this if I get time soon. Search Jay1967 (J's Video Reviews) on YouTube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heartfelt recommendation, 1 Aug 2011
By 
N. Sargent "mr nik" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Withings Smart Blood Pressure Monitor (for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch) (Personal Care)
Quite simply this is a brilliant, beautiful and genius product. I already owned the Withings scales when I bought this - which were wonderful at helping me lose weight (do check them out). With a history of heart issues in the family, this was a natural next step to help take care of my health.

So I had high expectations with this and I was not disappointed! The quality is superb, even down to the packaging and has the feel of a really hi-tech, substantial product. Which it is. It's also reasonable to take travelling as it doesn't have the "base unit" that most standalone systems would have, so is more compact.

It's very simple to use, with substantial length on the cuff to cater for the widest of arms. It's fully automatic, all controlled from the iPhone app (which integrates with the scales too if you have them). Readings are quick and simple to take and it's easy enough to put the cuff on by yourself - it curls naturally round your arm.

Unfortunately I can't comment on battery life yet as I've not used it enough (about 10 readings so far).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars item worked Perfectly with no problems with simple easy to use software interface, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Withings Smart Blood Pressure Monitor (for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch) (Personal Care)
Arrived on time, item worked Perfectly with no problems with simple easy to use software interface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am able to see clearly and easily what my BP and heart rate are doing, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Withings Smart Blood Pressure Monitor (for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch) (Personal Care)
This monitor works seemlessly with the rest of my applications and iphone. I am able to see clearly and easily what my BP and heart rate are doing. I recommend this device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, easy to use but I hope as my BP goes down that it doesn't squeeze that hard!, 21 Jun 2014
By 
A. J. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Withings Smart Blood Pressure Monitor (for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch) (Personal Care)
So, I'm up for a 24 hour test next week and discussed with the GP if home monitoring could help me trend the right way.

She said yes but when we have the BP under control they want to still check it regularly to ensure my unit is calibrated correctly and I'm not getting false readings.

The unit is easy to set up and it appears that the iPhone software is capable of configuring the unit and performing firmware upgrades over Bluetooth, as it did for me on first use, so that's all nice and easy.

I have a high diastolic and pretty high systolic at the moment and the one thing I have to mention is that it's hard to relax when taking a measurement, I guess I'll get used to it.. I try to close my eyes and not look at the reading but the arm band is pretty crushing at the levels I have at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews