Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 June 2011
This book is an inspiration. A must read for educationalists, economists, politicians and probably everyone else who wakes up each day thinking they are at the beginning of a better world. Nic wants people to look for alternatives to measuring well-being or happiness other than by using GDP. As GDP has risen, happiness hasn't so why is GDP so important? This is a serious book written in a very accessible and entertaining way. I got it after watching Nic on TED talks. I wish more people with power would listen to this guy.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
The thinking behind this short book represents a way to quantify nonfinancial objectives, so that quality of life can be better assessed.
It contains several useful links and references for anyone wishing to explore the subject further.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
Very interesting and thought-provoking. We live on a finite planet, so infinite growth, as measured by GDP, is not possible - why do governments act as though it is? We need a new approach to our interactions with the planet, and this book suggests the way forward. Should be required reading for every politician.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
A short book or extended essay on why well-being matters, what we can do as individuals and what the government should be doing to promote it. It should be compulsory reading for MPs, head teachers, civil servants, health managers, town planners, and pretty much everyone else!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
An interesting and thought provoking book. Worth reading just to see Robert Kennedy's speech from thre 1960's. The majority really does seem to be on the wrong track.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
Some common sense ideas on achievable ways to adjust our outlook to focus on actual happiness as the driver for growth rather economic growth for the sake of growth
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
Very well written and really goes into detail about factors influencing happiness as well as how well-being is affected depending on where we are in our lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
This simple message is passionately delivered and easily understood. Best of all, implementing it won't cost you anything more than a little of your time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
An interesting quick read.

The ideas are inspiring in their simplicity and backed up with background on well being research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)