Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 30 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Happiness Manifesto (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
This book is an inspiration. A must read for educationalists, economists, politicians and probably everyone else who wakes up each day thinking they are at the beginning of a better world. Nic wants people to look for alternatives to measuring well-being or happiness other than by using GDP. As GDP has risen, happiness hasn't so why is GDP so important? This is a serious book written in a very accessible and entertaining way. I got it after watching Nic on TED talks. I wish more people with power would listen to this guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way forward, 25 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happiness Manifesto (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
The thinking behind this short book represents a way to quantify nonfinancial objectives, so that quality of life can be better assessed.
It contains several useful links and references for anyone wishing to explore the subject further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, persuasive and well evidenced, 28 May 2014
By 
Psychologist (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happiness Manifesto (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
A short book or extended essay on why well-being matters, what we can do as individuals and what the government should be doing to promote it. It should be compulsory reading for MPs, head teachers, civil servants, health managers, town planners, and pretty much everyone else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars powerful but simple, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happiness Manifesto (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
This simple message is passionately delivered and easily understood. Best of all, implementing it won't cost you anything more than a little of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thought provoking, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happiness Manifesto (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
Some common sense ideas on achievable ways to adjust our outlook to focus on actual happiness as the driver for growth rather economic growth for the sake of growth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The only way to go, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happiness Manifesto (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting and thought-provoking. We live on a finite planet, so infinite growth, as measured by GDP, is not possible - why do governments act as though it is? We need a new approach to our interactions with the planet, and this book suggests the way forward. Should be required reading for every politician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short thought provoking read, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happiness Manifesto (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
An interesting quick read.

The ideas are inspiring in their simplicity and backed up with background on well being research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happiness Manifesto (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
An interesting and thought provoking book. Worth reading just to see Robert Kennedy's speech from thre 1960's. The majority really does seem to be on the wrong track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 13 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happiness Manifesto (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
Very well written and really goes into detail about factors influencing happiness as well as how well-being is affected depending on where we are in our lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews