Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars epic and none too shabby
not really an RPG fan...haven't played a final fantasy game since VII on the playstation all those years ago (but enjoyed that a lot at the time).
saw XIII-2 for a good price and am glad i bought it.

my pros:
graphics...both in game and the video sequences. both are top notch. probably the best i've seen on my ps3. the worlds and cities look stunning...
Published on 11 Oct. 2012 by col

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Nicely voiced
Good points are, Sarah's probably one of my favourite characters in the trilogy, and nicely voiced, the fans of the series asked for a changed from the first game because it was to linear, and they took this to heart, and misinterpreted more exploration and freedom, for totally boring non-intuitive side missions, totally confusing time travel system that uses you as a...
Published 4 days ago by wayne


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars epic and none too shabby, 11 Oct. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIII-2 - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
not really an RPG fan...haven't played a final fantasy game since VII on the playstation all those years ago (but enjoyed that a lot at the time).
saw XIII-2 for a good price and am glad i bought it.

my pros:
graphics...both in game and the video sequences. both are top notch. probably the best i've seen on my ps3. the worlds and cities look stunning. draw distance is excellent. in-battle detail is overwhelming at times (in a good way) as there's so much going on at once.

controls are simple and intuitive without too many buttons to remember. characters move well and don't get stuck behind scenery etc.

dialogue isn't overly cheesy. voice acting rather nice too.

a lot of gameplay...i'm about 50% of the way through it and at 17 hours (but then, as i said, i'm no expert at these games).

my cons:
some of the quests/puzzles are incredibly non-intuitive. i've had to resort to walk-throughs online on more than a couple of occasions. there's a lot of jumping between zones...maybe more than is necessary. i've heard talk of the first one (XIII) being too linear...think that would do me just fine.

oh too frequent battles in some places. for example augusta tower 200 and academia 400. you're trying to get somewhere and are accosted by monsters every 15 metres. it makes for a rather frustrating experience at times.

so more pros than cons. felt quite comfortable despite my lack of familiarity with the genre. was levelling up my characters in no time and enjoying watching their moves get more powerful and complex. and then there's riding a chocobo...whoop!
pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not amazing but still rather addicting and fun., 28 Feb. 2015
By 
J Dorman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIII-2 - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I decided to skip FF13 all together, i played and absolutely loved 12 and could not wait for the release of 13 but i backed off as soon as the reviews came out for the linear gameplay, lack of exploration and dull confusing story. And after watching walkthroughs on youtube i still feel i made the right choice.

FF13-2 however is different, the story is related but not too much that it couldn't be a standalone game. There is a fair bit of explaining what happened in the previous game, this all happens via cutscenes however there is a nifty beginners primer option that explains the events of the previous game in chapters (not really needed but definitely appreciated).

Battle mechanics are almost the same excepting the addition of monsters (which is a really cool addition). I don't feel the game completely makes up for the shortcomings of FF13 but it certainly goes a long way. The paradigm system is the primary battle focus again, basically switching between different roles to accommodate the current situation in a fight (taking massive damage? You switch to a more protection/healing type paradigm, that sort of thing). The paradigms can be customized to make them more effective however the level of customization is fairly limited in options.

Unlike most FF games you will only ever have 2 party members the third party member being filled by a monster of your choosing that you have captured in a battle. To my knowledge you can tame almost anything you fight (excluding the obvious such a bosses and the like) after you defeat the foe there is a chance for you to turn it into a crystal and by doing so capture it so that it can fight along side you. Different monsters have different roles they can fill in your party, for example some are medics and heal you whereas some are commandos and will mainly focus on doing big damage for you. You can also infuse monsters together and by doing so give one monster the passive abilities of another, allowing the creation of a hybrid mega monster.

Leveling up is rather dull, you essentially pick whatever role you'd like to level up (Medic, Commando, Ravager etc) and spent your current points (gained all sorts of ways, mainly from battling monsters) on that role. It is rather dull. You can also level up your Pets statistics with certain items gained as loot.

The story in the game i have found to be quite engaging, whilst Noel isn't exactly the most gripping charterer i have ever played he does ok as the main protagonist. Serah is an ok character too, really i found the main characters distinctly average. The antagonist Caius however i thought was really cool, not only visually but he definitely felt like formidable bad guy. The story is about Serah finding her sister Lightining again by using gates to jump through time. Lots of time travel to the same location in different periods.

The bad thing i found about this game was that i felt like i was watching more than playing, I really felt that there was way too many cut scenes. Then one cutscene would lead into another cutscene and i would just get frustrated. I enjoy cutscenes but excepting rare occasions there should be big gaps between game play and cutscenes.

Apart from that i didn't enjoy the autobattle system (the computer selects the optimal abilities for you, you worry about the paradigms). Now i know that you don't have to use it but quite simply there isn't enough time to manually input abilities and worry about paradigms, in FF12 when selecting the abilities tab the fight would pause and you could think about what was the optimal move to use.

Quick time events were done well in this, the fact i can bash all buttons and still win actually made me happy because i cant stand press a button or die QTEs. I just put massive effort into killing a boss and now i die because i can't press X fast enough? Kills immersion, not epic in any way. In this game that doesn't happen because you can press all buttons and not fail.

All in all you should buy this game, i tried to be fair with my review but for £12 well worth the money I'm 18 hours in and am still having a blast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nicely voiced, 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIII-2 - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Good points are, Sarah's probably one of my favourite characters in the trilogy, and nicely voiced, the fans of the series asked for a changed from the first game because it was to linear, and they took this to heart, and misinterpreted more exploration and freedom, for totally boring non-intuitive side missions, totally confusing time travel system that uses you as a rubber ball as you are being bounced around different times because you cannot complete all the tasks in one area until you meet certain criteria in another. The graphics go steeply downhill in the trilogy, character models always look good, but mediocre environments start creeping in, play number 1-3 and number 1 is far around better visually. The combat system changes that much through the series, it feels like going from Tales of Graces f, to call of duty. Maybe they should revaluate what the series is now, and where its going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 21 Feb. 2012
By 
A. Griffiths "Adrian" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIII-2 - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
After all the fanfare and publicity, I am sorry to say I was very let down by this game. Rather than a whole new adventure it is more like an add-on. Or something along the lines of a clips show with guest stars. Playing it made me re-assess how good FF13 actually was - despite it having flaws, it was a good solid game with a plot and an awesome battle system. This one...well, sorry to say it, but it's a bit of a mess.

This time around you play as Serah (Lightning's sister, a character with a miniscule role in the preceding game). Serah has been saved from crystal and now wished to start her new life, but Lightning is nowhere to be found. Instead, Serah meets a feisty teenager with a big sword and spiky hair called Noel, who tells her he has come from the future, where he met Lightning in alarming circumstances. Together the pair decide to travel across time and try and find Lightning.

Now as plots go, that's hardly earth shattering. Not much to do with an evil menace trying to wipe out the planet, just a girl looking for her sister. It already screams "expansion pack" instead of a whole new game. And as the duo start to travel through time they come across (yes you've guessed it), stars of FF13 such as Hope and Snow, who pop up in their own little chapters. I found this very lacklustre. Especially when Serah meets Snow - their chapter sees them run around a forest fighting, and when the chapter boss is dead Serah says something like "Thanks for the help, I am off through a portal to the next time rift now" and yet Snow is supposed to be her fiance who had beaten insurmountable odds to rescue her!! The appearance of Vanille and Fang is even worse, they are like celebrity guest stars appearing via satellite to offer encouragement and wave for the camera. A lot of the cut scenes are like this... nothing but schmaltz.

Anyway down to the battle system. Happily, it uses the same Paradigm system as the last game which is great. But here's a shocker - you only have a team of two (Noel and Serah) for the entire game! What happened to the team of 6 to choose from? In this game you never change members, so all your levelling up is exclusively for this pair. As a result I found their rise through levels and experience very speedy as obviously there was no worries about how to distribute Chrystarium points, so both of them rapidly maxed out all their man role abilities. And maybe it was just me, but this game is darned EASY. After I had reached the middle portion of the game I found that I could auto-battle my way through every random encounter by just repeatedly hitting the X button without even looking at the screen. Something's wrong if you can play like that. Even boss battles lasted about 30 seconds, which was quite different from those found in FF13 - remember the battles against Barthandelus? There's nothing like that here.

However despite the problems, i did like one new feature - Noel and Serah have a "monster team"! After random battles there is a random chance that you may "win" a defeated monster as a battle drop, and they can be used as a third team member. The monsters all have set roles Medic, Commando, Ravager, etc, and a set of skills that grow as they level up, including a unique "limit break" skill for each one, too. Monsters are levelled up by using ingredients that can be bought or dropped after battles - and this was actually where the lifespan of the game is extended greatly, as some of the high level ingredients cannot be bought - you just have to fight continually in the hope of earning a few after each fight. The range of monsters you can keep is very large - and it's quite a tough choice deciding which ones to feed up with the rare materials. Of course all gamers will have favourites, and you can have Chocobos, Big Flans, Mini Flans, Cactaurs or Goblins, or whatever takes your fancy, and its fun to see them in action. My personal favourite for a large portion of the game was the Feral Behemoth - gotta love the power!

Still even that became boring after a while - all that grinding just to earn rare drops to build the monsters abilities really outstayed it's welcome, however there are some rare monsters that players might enjoy trying to find.

Finally then, it's back to the plot - For me, this was the weakest part of the game. Anything that involves time travel and it's anomalies is dicing with disaster, and this is no exception. A very ambitious set up makes the plot extremely hard to understand. Changing the future changes the past and vice-versa...characters appear and disappear due to anomalies...I got lost all the time. Later on in the game, you are able to revisit areas and replay them to make different decisions. The game makes out that this is a big deal but it actually isn't, all that happens is you can view a special cut-scene that shows a short clip of an "alternative ending", but the real flow of the game only ever goes in the same direction.

To summarise then, this is a short, easy and un-involving game. Easy yet confusing. Easy because of the battles, confusing because you don't know what you are doing or why. Some side quests ca only be unlocked by meeting a set of incredibly obscure conditions that you would never work out unaided - such as finding hidden artefacts that open time gates, or knowing which weather settings reveal hidden Cactuar statues and where ...you'll know which bit I mean if you tried to do that quest! With two characters who you don't develop any real feelings for. The game is marketing around Lightning, but she's not a playable character apart from in the prologue, yet she's far more interesting that Serah or Noel.

As far as I am concerned, selling this at the same premium price as FF13 is a bit cheeky. It looks fantastic of course - I'd expect nothing less than this superior level of realism, so that goes without saying - but I finished it (reached last boss I mean, not 100% completion) in a couple of weeks and that's short for me playing a FF title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Fantasy XIII-2, 6 Feb. 2012
By 
S. Griffiths (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIII-2 - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
So brings us to another release in the main series of Final Fantasy, something that has been a big deal for quite a number of people ever since it's first and astonishingly successful entry into the EU with FFVII.

FFXIII (as with XII) was a long time in the making, XII had it's fair share of devlopment problems midway, but with XIII shown early at the start of this generation, a lot of people were left wondering just what was taking so long. Eventually in 2010 the game released, and coupled with the drama caused by a rather late and shocking annoucement of the game going multi-platform, there was a huge backlash from long term fans of the series.

Now I could spend all day dabbling in the "issues" of FFXIII, but lets face it, if you are one of those people who are going to complain about the direction of the series in terms of it's setting, characters and dialogue/dramatics, claiming there is no longer "fantasy" in your Final Fantasy (dispite the series never actually having a staple) and that it's apparently turned into one big "soap opera", then you will want to steer clear of this sequel, those of you who took issue with the linearity and lack of variety delivered by XIII however may want to take a gander.

I want to start off my comments on XIII-2 by saying that it is strikingly similar to the one other sequel in the main series, that being X-2. This could end up worrying a number of people as, dispite my love for it, I know there was a lot of people who out right hated it. XIII-2 is lighter in tone, is full of mini-games and has a non linear structure in which you will be back and forthing between "levels" or areas in an attempt to reach that critical "100%", again as in X-2, the story can be completed reletively quickly, but with a story so reliant on the player piecing it together, doing so will likely leave you dissatisfied, this is a game where you will want to try and get everything, unlike X-2 however, this is a lot more lenient as you can't really miss things and gives the player much more freedom to go back and collect things or try scenarios again.

Battle system from XIII is back, it's probabally the thing that has changed the least, only this time you will be fighting with the same two characters the whole game. The third member of the party will be taken up by a monster, of which there are MANY to "collect" in the game (think pokemon ;)). These can be trained/leveled and cover different roles dependant on thier type and then swapped in and out dependant on the paradigms you wish to create.

Now I have put in many hours since it's Friday release, and to be honest I still have quite a bit to go in order to feel completed, as a big fan of the series, let down quite a bit by XIII, I really do think this game has made up for what it didn't manage to give us, it helps that it came out so quickly too and as a full "XIII" package with both games together, I am actually thankful of this thirteenth entry.

Expect Melodrama, anime tendancies, eccentric characters (Chocolina is awesome! down with the haters :3), mini-games, a plot to really wrap your head around, tons of hours of things to do and collect, and a smidge of cute fan service too (Mog's adorable). FFXIII-2 is actually .... good, you heard it here folks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than FFXIII, 24 July 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIII-2 - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Square Enix definitely listened to fans comments of FFXIII. FFXIII-2 is much more open, bigger and you get to choose the answers when talking to certain NPCs, although from what I've noticed whatever you choose doesn't make mych difference because the story is still pretty linear.

The battle system hasn't changed that much but your group is limited to two human characters and an extra 'monster' character. Basically like in Pokemon games, every time you defeat a monster you have a chance of catching it to use later in a fight. Each monster has their own profession (similarly to human character they can be Ravagers, Commanders, etc) and can be levelled up. It's nice addition for everyone who likes collecting but the game is easy enough so you can get away with using only the monsters you got in the first hours of the game.

The story revolves around travelling through time and you are free to choose where to go next, which is a nice change from the long tunnel you were forced to use in the first part of FFXIII. However, this also means that you will revisit the same locations over and over again.

FFXIII-2 is a good game and a great improvement over the first installment but it is definitely not a 'day 1 purchase' and doesn't even feel like another part in the series, just something to do while waiting for the next 'real' Final Fantasy game to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back on Track!, 1 Mar. 2012
By 
Mr. Martyn Poole "Rubix78" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIII-2 - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
So 72 Hrs later I manage to completely finish the direct sequel to Final Fantasy XIII-2 and I have to say it is a huge improvement over XIII.

Graphically you should expect pretty much the same as the previous game however I did feel that the first one looked more polished.
You play as Sarah who is joined by Noel and you can swap between the two at any time. Your 3rd party member is a monster which is different to what we are used to. Monsters are collected during battles like Pokemon and can also be levelled up and even fed to other monsters to pass on abilities, this I found was a nice touch however I still miss having 3 character party members. You can add up to three monsters in your paradigms, each one will have their own role. The battle system used remains relatively the same as 13's

Before the Game was released I heard all sorts of rumours which all turned out to be true, the first being random enemy encounters. When you hear this you automatically think that Square-Enix have turned back the hands of time and released a classic game where you get stopped every few seconds by invisible enemies. While it's basically that you do have the ability to see your foe for a few seconds, some will come at you while others will linger around waiting for you to either attack or run away. Something called mog clock is introduced and basically it's a timer you have until the fight becomes inevitable, once the timer starts you can get the drop on an enemy and attack them before the clock turns amber, this allows you to get a pre-emptive strike and the ability to retry the battle if you wish.
The other rumour I heard was that there would be quick time events! I really did hate this idea but luckily it's a very small part of the game and only used against certain boss battles! Phew!

The story is much better than 13's adding the laws of time travel and the ability to create and solve paradoxes really does add something new to RPG gaming and allows the game to step away from being too linear like the previous game. Because of the time paradox you can revisit time lines and even restart each story and change the way it's resolved.

The story in FFXIII-2 can be finished in a relatively short time and I found myself flying through the chapters until I stopped and got distracted by side stories and mini games. There is a time-line that opens up a place called Serendipity which is like The Golden Saucer from FFVII, you can bet and race Chocobos which can get relatively easy as you progress through the game and also play on slot machines. The Slot Machines are my biggest issue with the game

**SMALL SPOILER** To get 100% in the game you have to earn a total of 7,777 Casino Coins from the slot machine to earn a fragment but this is done completely by luck! I know some people who have gotten this after 2 hrs, it took me 8hrs of just playing a slot machine to get the required amount. In the end I had to use a book to put pressure on the L1 button so it would do it itself until I gained enough. This should have been handled better and not left to chance **SPOILER END**

Even though my game time seems like a lot the game feels quite short for a JRPG and there are not any major boss battles (maybe 1-2 you will have some issues with) you can level up to maximum quicker than any previous FF game I have played which stops you becoming over powerful for any of the big boss fights.

While I still miss town's with shops you can purchase items and weapons from a travelling vendor but I found myself using her less and less as I went through the game. FF13-2 see's the end of save points allowing you to save wherever you wish, which is probably the best as the areas are quite short.

All in all the game is a huge improvement with enough to keep you entertained for hours. Finding things you need to 100% the game can sometimes be a chore along with answering random questions to gain needed items and the slot machine being two of the games low points. I would recommend it to JRPG lovers, and haters of XIII should pick this up and give it a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIII-2 - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Happy with this, no problems at all :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite PS3 game of all time., 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIII-2 - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
The story is absolutely amazing. The battle system is in the middle of real-time and the usual FF strategic turn based style. It's visually stunning. Everything about this game is 5 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XIII-2 - Standard Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Despite all the things are being said about the game, the storyline is a nice change to what has been done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Fantasy XIII-2 - Standard Edition (PS3)
Final Fantasy XIII-2 - Standard Edition (PS3) by Square Enix (PlayStation 3)
£8.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews