Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "We are coppers, not spies...Look at us Tinker , Tailor, Soldier T**t"
Where Life On Mars garnered an across the board positive critical reception Ashes To Ashes has had a more mixed reception. Obviously the concept is not as fresh this time around and the whole series has a slightly contrived ambience to it. For instance even taking into account it's a series with a fantastical element what are the chances of Gene Hunt (Philip Glennister)...
Published on 6 May 2008 by russell clarke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars average
was okay but I didn't get what everyone raved about. I've seen much better television series than this. I suppose if you have nothing better to do.........
Published 21 months ago by Ms. Helen Jennings


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A2A just doesn't stand up to Life on Mars, 23 Sep 2011
By 
Kimber Smith-Fidler (Reno/Tahoe NV or Mid North Coast NSW) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I so wanted to like this, because I loved Life on Mars and I wanted to revisit the characters left behind from Sam's return. What a disappointment. It was pretty underwhelming at best -- even the Gene Genie became a stereotype of himself. Others have loved it...I just felt it didn't hold a candle to the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review Ashes to Ashes, 17 Feb 2011
A DVD that is well worth a buy! Cleverly written and well made, keeps you on the edge of your seat thoughout. We watched the whole of season one in just over a week.

The reason I have given it 4/5 stars simply because I would prefer to watch Life On Mars : Complete BBC Series 1 [2006] [DVD] as opposed to this sequel. Ashes to ashes does not have quite the same "rough" attitude towards policing that makes life on mars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orgazmic, 12 Nov 2010
This series of Ashes to Ashes is absolutly amazing. I didn't watch it when it was on tv the first time, so I decided to take a chance and watch it. It was brill. Also, the delivery was very quick. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ashes to Ashes series 1, 19 Sep 2010
By 
S. DICKINSON (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite simply one of the best drama's ever made in my opinion. Great cast brilliant acting and storylines. Just wish the series never ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars unoriginal is the first of many criticisms, 27 July 2009
By 
70s "arrow" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Life on Mars was an innovative series. OK it borrowed heavily from Quantum Jump, but having John Simm as the lead and Gene as his foil the series grabbed you by the throat and never let go.
Ashes to Ashes. John Simm didnt want to do another series and so the writers had to recreate the whole concept again. They borrowed heavily from the LOM series but made a HUGE mistake in casting Keeley Hawes. She is so boring and unlikeable. Having stated that Ashes was not Life on Mars, they use the exact same set pieces and characters, substituting Keeley for John Simm and removing Annie ( the love interest ) completely. The characters then become stereotypes and the scripts derivative and poor. This is what the writers originally wanted to do, create a Hussle type show that would run and run. Unfortunately, that means loads of padding and filler. This isnt a patch on Life on Mars although it piggy backs on that shows success, but becoming bland and crass, due to the hurried writing and loss of the central characters.
OK flame me but I have a lot of discerning pals who agree with me that this is just cheap thrills for the masses and like the Beatles without John, just doesnt have the magic of LOM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A dissapointment., 22 Jun 2008
A disappointment on nearly every level.
It is such a shame that the legacy of Life On Mars has been reduced to the caricature that is Ashes to Ashes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Series, 15 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This follow on from Life on Mars is a brilliant series and Gene Hunt is a classic. We have now watched all three of the Ashes to Ashes series and it's strange twist at the end. I'll say no more except watch it for yourself.

Just now wondering where Gene Hunt will appear next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars more of the same, 11 April 2009
By 
Michael Kirwan (france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lots of fun but more tame than 'men from mars'
Lacks freshness-- too much psyche feedback images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Feminist-inspired codswallop, 13 April 2009
This series is the product of nothing more than an example of the BBC's continuing attempt to demonise men - particularly white, heterosexual men.

The idea here is to give the impression that such men were violent sexist pigs in days not long gone.

Notice also that the adverts for this series in the UK focus on a white man being kicked where it hurts - something which the staff at the BBC find amusing, and something which you will see them doing in many of their programmes.

Utter garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where was this going?, 9 Dec 2009
By 
I was straight into this series having never seen anything before.
My expectations were high from a BBC series.
My first impressions:
- Confusion at where the story is going in the initial episodes
- Agreement with previous reviewers that it can be 'obvious and crass'
- One minute the series takes a very serious turn and the rest it's 'slapstick violence'

There are nice touches, such as the clothing, music and settings

But in summary really quite disappointing, I've watched a great deal of TV series where the violence and sex and bad language is an important part of the plot. This just seemed badly written with deliberate bad behavior passed off with a sense of "it's ok they did that in the 80s" There is a particular scene involving Gene and a pool cue that was particularly distasteful which put me off a series which could have been pretty good. That kind of material is better served in a film such as 'lock stock'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ashes to Ashes - BBC Series 1 (New Packaging) [DVD]
£10.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews